New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Legit Sennheiser IE8s?

post #1 of 79
Thread Starter 

Hey guys,

I was surfing around and found these Sennheiser IE8s for $200 refurbished, does that seem about right?

http://www.buy.com/prod/sennheiser-ie-8-stereo-earphone-connectivity-wired-stereo-over-the-ear/q/sellerid/23907370/loc/111/210402632.html

 

I checked out Sennheiser's site and apparently they're a legit reseller.

 

Also is there any downside to buying refurbished?

Gear mentioned in this thread:

post #2 of 79

I rang up sennheiser and "renae" said that dakmart is one of their biggest resellers and that they would be legit..

post #3 of 79
Thread Starter 

Thanks! I ordered it

post #4 of 79

I just went into a local shop and their (legit, $600AUD :O) ie8's had a hologram on the back of the box, not sure if refurbs should have that but I'd be ringing sennheiser and dakmart if they didn't.. Please update when you get them.. Sennheiser said they would be legit so it's probably just my pessimism kicking in on a grumpy morning. :)

post #5 of 79

please update us on the purchase.  If everything went smoothly and the product is good, I will be picking up a pair at this price  

post #6 of 79
Thread Starter 

Alright I got them, they seem legit according to this:

http://reviews.ebay.com/How-to-spot-FAKE-Sennheiser-IE8s_W0QQugidZ10000000014516035

 

Do you want me to post pictures?

post #7 of 79

That was very decent shipping speed  What day did you order them?

 

Pics of the red wire/chip in the ear piece to cable junction would be great.  That's what I go by usually.

 

How was the condition of the refurb?  Decent?  Like-new?

post #8 of 79
Thread Starter 

Actually cancel that, these sound like crap, I'm pretty sure they're fake using the pictures in this thread:

http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/457420/warning-fake-ie8s-comparison-pictures-included

 

33lmo8j.jpg


Edited by XtT - 9/24/10 at 5:14pm
post #9 of 79

I paid $284 new for mine, so that sounds reasonable.  
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by XtT View Post

Hey guys,

I was surfing around and found these Sennheiser IE8s for $200 refurbished, does that seem about right?

http://www.buy.com/prod/sennheiser-ie-8-stereo-earphone-connectivity-wired-stereo-over-the-ear/q/sellerid/23907370/loc/111/210402632.html

 

I checked out Sennheiser's site and apparently they're a legit reseller.

 

Also is there any downside to buying refurbished?

post #10 of 79
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridleyguy View Post

I paid $284 new for mine, so that sounds reasonable.  
 


 


Fairly sure these are fake though.

post #11 of 79

Sorry to hear that =(

post #12 of 79

i find it hard to believe that buy.com would sell fakes...

contact customer service

post #13 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by cRodz View Post

i find it hard to believe that buy.com would sell fakes...

contact customer service


Yea, me too. I will suggest XtT to contact sennheiser first to see if they offer free shipping to let him ship that back to sennheiser for speculation.

 

IE8 is tad dark before burning and its sound signature is not for everyone

post #14 of 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by cRodz View Post

i find it hard to believe that buy.com would sell fakes...

contact customer service


ditto

post #15 of 79

The case definitely looks different than my IE8 case.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Gear mentioned in this thread: