Head-Fi.org › Forums › Misc.-Category Forums › Members' Lounge (General Discussion) ›  White Van Speakers at a thrift shop
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

White Van Speakers at a thrift shop

post #1 of 15
Thread Starter 

I just bought a pair of speakers from a thrift shop for $2, and judging by the frequency graph, I wasn't expecting much. Not at all linear in the bass, but I figured that my room would probably mess with the sound more than that. However, when I got around to actually checking to see what they were, lo and behold, they're White Van speakers. I guess I got them for what they're worth, eh?

post #2 of 15

At least you didn't lose much money. :)

post #3 of 15

I've read the wikipedia entry on "White van speaker scam", wow, i didn't think those kind of scams existed, at least they're not popular in my country.

 

What brand are yours "Kirsch" , or "DiVinci" ? :D 

post #4 of 15

How about Bjorn and Wielder?  Maybe Volk or Audio Resource? Paradyme?

 

These guys are pretty creative in their naming.


Edited by revolink24 - 8/30/10 at 9:20am
post #5 of 15

few years ago I was in a car accident with the white van scammers, actually i was coming back from picking up a headphone amp and the white trailblazer hit me in the back. the two kids were pretty cool and we talked while we were in the police station, all in all it was a fun experience picking up the money (for the damage to my vehicle) at their headquarters. out of everyone on the road the two people who crash into each other are an Audiophile and those guys..jeezz

post #6 of 15

Just look at this website, even from the online photos it's evident it's utter crap, i wonder how can people agree to spend hundreds of dollars for these...it's funny that the real DaVinci Audio is one of the most exclusive and luxurious brands in the industry.

 

http://www.divincisound.com/tower2.htm

 

Their top tower speakers adopt "Dippemid-Range Cones" , really impressive stuff :D

post #7 of 15

I especially love that they proclaim that they have innovative sound AND bass.

post #8 of 15
Thread Starter 


HAHAHA

Quote:
Originally Posted by revolink24 View Post

I especially love that they proclaim that they have innovative sound AND bass.


But, yeah, they're "Acoustic Monitor Db IV"'s. They weren't listed on the Wiki page, but some quick googling told me what they were. There's also a "pair" of Technics 3-ways there, a 2565 and a 2665, but those were $20 as opposed to $2, and Google has also informed me that those aren't anything either.

post #9 of 15

Sell them for $10 on Craigslist.

post #10 of 15
Don't sell them. Take them to Goodwill or the Salvation Army and donate them. Find out the MSRP the scammers say they're worth and claim that number on your donation form. Attach to your 1040 and enjoy a tax reduction.
post #11 of 15

As much as I usually agree with your posts Erik, I think that's a bit unethical. Claiming the MSRP from a scam organization is not something I usually like doing.

post #12 of 15

Wow just also had to look that up on wiki. Yesterday i found a pair of B&W DM610 of craigslist for $50 easily sell for $400. MRSP of $1300

post #13 of 15

My brother was scammed by the white van 20+ years ago so it's been going on for a long time. I haven't been approached for several years but last time was fun...a few words to them until they get pissed and drive away.  Years later I opened those scam speakers and the magnet on the woofer was soooo small lol

post #14 of 15

I was approached a year or so back while in a bank drive through! They drove up in the lane next to me, rolled down their window and started in on the pitch.  It'd be like me soliciting baby sitters by lurking around the junior high after school.

post #15 of 15

 

 

Very active in Australia from there vans and ebay,in fact anywhere where they think they can unload it.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Misc.-Category Forums › Members' Lounge (General Discussion) ›  White Van Speakers at a thrift shop