New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Trojan at Head-Fi?

post #1 of 39
Thread Starter 
Last night when I read one of the posts in a For Sale forum my Avast Anti-virus popped up with a warning about a Trojan. I notice this morning that folks at DIYAudio are talking about the same thing in the PassLabs forum there.

It was late and I neglected to get a screen print but perhaps a moderator could look into it...

I wonder if others have seen this.
post #2 of 39
This is when Macs persevere.
post #3 of 39
^^ hear, hear...!!
post #4 of 39
I reported this post so one of the sys admins can look into it.
post #5 of 39
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by n_maher View Post
I reported this post so one of the sys admins can look into it.
Thanks Nate. Last night while reading another post here I got on of those fake antivirus alerts. The one that tells you that you have a virus and then wants to sell you some protection.

I have not had any alerts on other sites and actually have not had an alert at all in years as I am a pretty careful surfer. I scanned my own machine with Avast, Adaware, and Defender and it came up clean...
post #6 of 39
Quote:
Last night while reading another post here I got on of those fake antivirus alerts. The one that tells you that you have a virus and then wants to sell you some protection.
I thought those usually only come from banner ads which are on the site.
post #7 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by mourip View Post
Thanks Nate. Last night while reading another post here I got on of those fake antivirus alerts. The one that tells you that you have a virus and then wants to sell you some protection....
Regarding the OP's Avast pop-up warning: n_maher reported a URL coming up for him in conjunction with an alert (google.analytics.com.scvepuxdfzar.info). That is not a Google domain. And I can't reproduce it on either Windows (XP and 7) or Mac.

Regarding the fake antivirus alert: Was it a pop-up, a banner, or both? If it was a banner, can you mouse over the banner to tell me what the URL/domain is that shows in the status bar? If it's a pop-up, I don't believe it's us or our ad servers. Also, if you see such an ad, can you kindly note which URL you were on when you got it?
post #8 of 39
Who gets viruses these days anyway?
post #9 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by MomijiTMO View Post
Who gets viruses these days anyway?
The non knowledgeable computer users, also a good thing to have on Mozilla Firefox is WOT (World of Trust). This tells you if the site is reputable and if not will block any content to getting to your computer.

I'm glad I have a Mac
post #10 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by MomijiTMO View Post
Who gets viruses these days anyway?
If only that were the case, but I'm amazed how people seem to go out of their way to get crap on machines at work.

Ah well, keeps me in a job and funds this expensive hobby
post #11 of 39
No script is a must of firefox too.
post #12 of 39
i just got it too!
post #13 of 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by MomijiTMO View Post
Who gets viruses these days anyway?
There are a lot of people in Hospital who thought just the same.
post #14 of 39
I got it 20 minutes ago, 2:30am 4/25.
post #15 of 39
Trojans?

Class of '93. Fight on!

We're going to the Rose Bowl this season!
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home