Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Review: Fischer Audio's DBA-02
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Review: Fischer Audio's DBA-02 - Page 75

post #1111 of 4469

How do you get them on? You place them over the sound tubes, they fit, as the silicone stretches over the tips.

 

As for the bass, they are balanced headphones, not bass cannons. If you were expecting the latter, you are not gonna get it. On the other hand, with the Ety triples and a good seal, the bass sounds present and accounted for when I listen to them. If you have a decent EQ, you can trick a tick or two on the bottom end. Otherwise, if all that doesn't work, they are not for you. Bad in the sense there is none, because certainly the DBA bass is never bad from a quality/punch standpoint. Again, seal is critical, but you are never going to get IE8 bass with DBAs, which in my case (and others it seems) is just fine.

post #1112 of 4469

well as for the bass it sounds distorded, doesnt really hit like my old pair of shures i bought 5 yrs ago for $80 in my opinion they sound better all around thats why im asking if they need burned in at all

 

i listen to edm and i tried with my musilan monitor 02 alone and clip+ alone, then used my alo rx with custom mini and the shures still sound better

 

haha i got the tri flanges on and its even worse, im either getting a bad sea(which is probably why) or theres something wrong

 

these will probably go in the for sale forum or returned from the guy i bought em off

 

these are the shures ive been using, i dont remember the model theyre old but sound better to me

 

IMG_20100727_195434.jpg

IMG_20100727_195423.jpg


Edited by yianni - 7/27/10 at 5:29pm
post #1113 of 4469

There's no burn in for BA drivers, what you get now is what you're going to get. 

 

You're looking for iems for electronic dance music?  I don't have the DBAs yet, but from everything I've read so far I think you might want something different.   

 

What do you mean by the bass is distorted?  I haven't heard anyone say that before - Is it fuzzy like and not very clear for you...? 

 

You're talking about the DBA-02s right?  Where did you get them from? 


Edited by David58117 - 7/27/10 at 5:30pm
post #1114 of 4469
Quote:
Originally Posted by David58117 View Post

There's no burn in for BA drivers, what you get now is what you're going to get. 

 

You're looking for iems for electronic dance music?  I don't have the DBAs yet, but from everything I've read so far I think you might want something different.   

 

What do you mean by the bass is distorted?  I haven't heard anyone say that before - Is it fuzzy like and not very clear for you...? 

 

You're talking about the DBA-02s right?  Where did you get them from? 


the bass is just not clear, yes i am i got them from another head-fier who got them from treeo in philipines 

 

oh and yes i listen mostly trance music , i thought about ck10s but i read that the dbas are just as good if not better

 

IMG_20100727_203425.jpg


Edited by yianni - 7/27/10 at 5:39pm
post #1115 of 4469

They're suppose to be more balanced and natural sounding - do you have anything with organic instruments (clean, not effects driven, not distorted) you can test them on? 

 

I'm really curious what you think of a clean and clear track.  Find like a clean bass guitar track and see if it still sounds distorted =).      


Edited by David58117 - 7/27/10 at 5:44pm
post #1116 of 4469

i really dont know what a clear track is.   i only enjoy edm and really like bass , all i know about music is what i listen to, i dont know everything about it like most people here, i just try to do research to see what fits me best i guess, my  full headphones are hfi-780s which i love, im just trying to get a portable setup ready before classes start and im rolling(im in a wheelchair) around campus

 

i tried pink floy wish you were here, and zeppelin stairway to heaven. and i like the shures better im just getting such a better seal with them


Edited by yianni - 7/27/10 at 6:00pm
post #1117 of 4469

Fair enough, as I said I don't have them yet so I don't know from first hand experience.  My gut feeling though is that the DBAs might not be a good fit for you...

 

Looking on amazon for the hfi-780s a reviewer said:

 

"Low frequencies are somewhat boomy!! These are like mini-subwoofers for your ears...so bass lovers may want to try the HFI-780s cause they do deliver!!"

 

I don't think the DBAs fit that...you might wanna look into the Monster Turbines, or even the Klipsch S4 had bass but it was a little less controlled..but not bad for $80.  Since you're in the US, try to go to a Best Buy since they stock the Turbines, and have a very good return policy if you don't like them.  They also have the Klipsch.

post #1118 of 4469

The DBA-02 sounds nothing like either of my three ultrasones (450, 650, 2500). If you wanted a 'sone in a portable package then you really missed the mark. The CK10s ain't it either. Something like the Panasonic HJE900 or even Senn IE8 would be much closer IMO.

post #1119 of 4469

.


Edited by ethan961 - 8/16/10 at 8:56pm
post #1120 of 4469
Quote:
Originally Posted by ethan961 View Post

If the bass is legitimately distorted they have to be defective. Otherwise, your idea of good timbre has been tainted by coloured IEMs. I can't think of anything else that would do that.
You could try the stock tips and see if you have any luck there, you could be like me and simply not get the best sound out of triflanges. They fit well in my ear but they just don't sound that great.


i think the whole distortion thing is because of the seal.  the stock tips do give me a better seal over the tri flanges. but i really thought these would sound better and louder than my old shures which i do not remember the model #, i get a really good seal on those

 

also sometimes when i put my hand on the left iem it cuts out completely and i can only here the right im not sure if this is normal

 

as i mentioned before im no audiophile, i just enjoy loud bassy edm 


Edited by yianni - 7/27/10 at 7:11pm
post #1121 of 4469
Quote:
Originally Posted by yianni View Post




i think the whole distortion thing is because of the seal the stock tips do give me a better seal over the tri flanges. but i really thought these would sound better and louder than my old shures which i do not remember the model #, i get a really good seal on those

 

also sometimes when i put my hand on the left iem it cuts out completely and i can only here the right im not sure if this is normal

 

as i mentioned before im no audiophile, i just enjoy loud bassy edm 


That's defective then unless you are not getting a proper seal. Also these are definitely not a basshead earphone. The Shure earphone you have in that picture is the E2C

post #1122 of 4469
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawrster View Post




That's defective then unless you are not getting a proper seal. Also these are definitely not a basshead earphone. The Shure earphone you have in that picture is the E2C


the iem is in my ear then ill put my thumb over it or palm and it cuts out , i try to push the monitor in and it cuts off, the right doesnt do it

 

thank you for the clarification on the shures these are great and old im just looking for and improvement

post #1123 of 4469

.


Edited by ethan961 - 8/16/10 at 8:56pm
post #1124 of 4469

I've had the E3 and the E4 which are a higher model than the E2C. I consider the DBA02 better than both of those at cheaper prices. DBA02 compared with very good while E2C is entry level earphone.

post #1125 of 4469
Quote:
Originally Posted by ethan961 View Post

I'd ask the seller you got them from about them, because they certainly seem defective to me. I'd ask Treoo if you can get a new set, because these are certainly miles better than your E2Cs. These are up with the very top.


thats what i thought too, i do have the warranty card from the box, i did ask him about the problem couple minutes ago waiting for a response, i didnt get his invoice from treeo though not sure if he forgot or if i dont need it

 

i should of just waited to get them from ethan, i have no patience

 

at least the good thing is i can put these on pretty easy considering im a quad, i get pissed off sometimes  trying to put my e2cs on


Edited by yianni - 7/27/10 at 7:36pm
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Review: Fischer Audio's DBA-02