or Connect
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106) - Page 45

post #661 of 16802

Here they are...

 

Joker's Headphone Chart Weighted.xls

 

Joker's IEM Worksheet Weighted.xlsx

 

and the compatibility pack in case anyone needs it for their version of Office

 

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=941B3470-3AE9-4AEE-8F43-C6BB74CD1466&displaylang=en


Edited by idvsego - 8/26/10 at 11:36am
post #662 of 16802

Just copy and paste the whole line and the links will work.  The forum seems to have wanted to stop after the apostrophe.

post #663 of 16802

Links are now clickable for everyones convenience

post #664 of 16802
Thread Starter 

Quote:

Originally Posted by mvw2 View Post

I always thought the IE8 had good isolation.  It's just that it's so seldom well isolated.  You have a big weight flopping around at the end of the tip.  Unlike some of the more secure IEMs, I always found the IE8 to unseal itself pretty readily.  With the healthy amount of bass, you never really noticed it happening all that often.  Every once in a while you shove them back in and hey, more bass and look the outside world went away again.  They weren't godly in isolation but not terrible either.  I just found them to be on par with other IEMs and this is when I owned the SE530, UM3X, and Triple.Fi 10 too.  I was never disappointed by the amount of isolation...just as long as I had a solid seal.  The seal was the hard part because you had a big, floppy dumbbell at the end.

 

For some reason longer tips (e.g. standard-length dual- and triple-flanges) never really worked for me with the IE8 so I was stuck with single flanges and stubby biflanges. I think the fit I had was pretty secure. My IE7 is the same way. Seems to isolate more if I tape up the vents, too.



Quote:

Originally Posted by james444 View Post


That's because the FI-BA-SS isn't yet on the list.

 

Oh, and of course congrats to Joker on 100 IEM reviews!


Thanks, and I think rawrster is right on this one. Not seeing any new shiny Japanese earphones in my future (if only wallets were capable of letting out a sigh of relief...)



Quote:

Originally Posted by airwax View Post

Congrats to Joker for hitting the century mark! and still counting, keep the reviews coming.


Quote:

Originally Posted by panthers2012 View Post

New to HF and this thread is amazing. I am looking to replace my iBuds, and I have some good ideas now.


Thanks, glad the thread is helpful .
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by idvsego View Post

Here they are...

 

Joker's Headphone Chart Weighted.xls

 

Joker's IEM Worksheet Weighted.xlsx

 

and the compatibility pack in case anyone needs it for their version of Office

 

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=941B3470-3AE9-4AEE-8F43-C6BB74CD1466&displaylang=en


Amazing work there, this should be handy for many. I think I'll link to this post in the OP or paste the direct links (with your permission).

post #665 of 16802

I dont have a problem hosting them for now as long as mvw2 doesn't mind sharing his work

post #666 of 16802
Quote:
Originally Posted by idvsego View Post

I dont have a problem hosting them for now as long as mvw2 doesn't mind sharing his work


If it comes to a point where you can no longer host them, just let me know and I can gladly do it for you - I've got 1TB of bandwidth that I barely touch that I'm more than happy to lend out. I bought this server package for the power, it just came with more bandwidth than I could ever use.

post #667 of 16802

Do whatever with it.  My "work" was just copying data.  It's Joker's thread, Joker's data.  I just put it in different packaging.  Plus I had nothing else to do today, haha.  I'd say host a copy of it and give Joker the link so he can do whatever he wants with it.  Also he will be modifying anything on his own as he adds more.

 

 

One thing I keep saying, if someone wants to see a review done on an earphone, someone just needs to loan you a pair.  Want a review of the FI-BA-SS or SM3?  Well, people have them lying around.  Send a pair to Joker and it will go up.  Simple.

 

p.s. Joker, count your list again.  Tell me what number you get to.

post #668 of 16802

LOL :) How do you notice things like that? Looks like Joker needs to make his next review count :P

post #669 of 16802

Bought the iM-590. Hope I like them! My first true foray (do random ones from Fry's Electronics count?) into the IEM market.

post #670 of 16802

Oh man, that's just too funny - I literally LOLed at that. Got a couple funny looks, but oh well!

 

You get a second chance to make an even bigger bang!

post #671 of 16802
Thread Starter 

Quote:

Originally Posted by idvsego View Post

I dont have a problem hosting them for now as long as mvw2 doesn't mind sharing his work

 

Thanks, added a link to the file in the OP (well... in post #8). 



Quote:

Originally Posted by ethan961 View Post

If it comes to a point where you can no longer host them, just let me know and I can gladly do it for you - I've got 1TB of bandwidth that I barely touch that I'm more than happy to lend out. I bought this server package for the power, it just came with more bandwidth than I could ever use.

 

Thanks, ethan.
 

Quote:

Originally Posted by mvw2 View Post

Do whatever with it.  My "work" was just copying data.  It's Joker's thread, Joker's data.  I just put it in different packaging.  Plus I had nothing else to do today, haha.  I'd say host a copy of it and give Joker the link so he can do whatever he wants with it.  Also he will be modifying anything on his own as he adds more.

 

One thing I keep saying, if someone wants to see a review done on an earphone, someone just needs to loan you a pair.  Want a review of the FI-BA-SS or SM3?  Well, people have them lying around.  Send a pair to Joker and it will go up.  Simple.

 

p.s. Joker, count your list again.  Tell me what number you get to.


Lol. You can add up the numbers in the individual categories much quicker. It should come out to 99 but I counted the ViSang R03 and Brainwavz M2 as different earphones when I added them since they were released and added to the thread at different times.

post #672 of 16802


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by rawrster View Post

LOL :) How do you notice things like that? Looks like Joker needs to make his next review count :P


pretty easy when you do a spreadsheet and the line counts don't add up.  I thought I had just missed one. 

 

Oh, and this very useful thread has led to me buying a set of visang R02.  Very excited.  Now I am looking at new sources.  I like my Zune but dont love it.


Edited by idvsego - 8/26/10 at 9:15pm
post #673 of 16802

|joker| - great reviews as usual.  I agree with most of your impressions as well, but I've maybe heard 15-20 of the IEM you've reviewed.  I just want to interject my thoughts on a couple of things here.

 

After listening to the UM3X with removable cable for the past week non-stop, I'd have to say that I think the bass quality and transparency is a little better than what I read in your descriptions.  But I understand that you must not think those areas are actually bad when you gave them a sonic score of 9.75/10.  I also think the UM3X with removable cable is a better value than the ones you reviewed since it does come with the full tip fit-kit for only $20-25 more.  I posted a UM3X review in the product section recently this week as well.  

 

Also, with the Monster Turbine Pro Gold Vs the Copper I might actually prefer the Gold over the Copper.  While treble and detail was improved over the Gold, I didn't like the decrease in bass vs the Gold.  I didn't think the UM3X were any more forward sounding than the Copper, but to me the UM3X were more transparent and realistic sounding.  The Copper also seemed to have a very slight closed headphone sound or some other coloration that my Gold don't have, and this hurt their transparency for me.  

 

So I think the 9.75/10 you gave the UM3X is deserved, and they were better than the Copper to me.  But I might have scored the the Copper slightly lower than you did, because even though the Copper were more detailed and balanced than the Gold I just didn't enjoy them as much as the Gold.  (I own the gold and the copper were loaned to me by rawrster, same as you).  

 

In my case I'd go nuts trying to give numerical scores to the reviewed gear, because two or three IEM could have the same score but sound somewhat different and appeal to different people.  It's easier for me to rank things in order of my "personal preference", but I have gotten away from putting things on a scale of 1-10 these days.  I think that your descriptions of the IEM sound is the most helpful part, and I would hate to see someone pass up a 9.25 IEM in favor of a 9.5 without reading the actual review which is the best part.

 

Keep up the good work!

post #674 of 16802

That explains it.  Well at least the math works out now.

 

Small note, feel free to remove my edits if you feel they are off.  In the spreadsheet I did up isolation on the IE8 by 1 and lower it's price to $350.  I always felt the isolation is actually quite good on them just as long as you have a good seal.  I will agree that the stock tips aren't necessarily the best.  I ran a small bi-flange, and I didn't have much use for most of the others.  If I were to own a pair in the future for some reason I might plop on a Comply T-500 tip or a decored Olive instead.  When sealed well, they did block out sounds well.  I know I read a lot of comments about this even before I owned a pair and was aware of what people said as I tested them.  I found isolation to be on par, but I so seldom maintained a good seal.  With the heavy bass, you never really notice it loosening up.  Even a leaky fit still has good bass with them.  They were on par with others in my eyes, but feel free to rank as you see fit.  I also felt the $350 price tag was much better.  I saw the IE8 for $350 all the time and deals seem to pop up quite often for them sold sub $300, sometimes as low as $240 new.  For day to day, I think something in the $300 to $350 range is more fitting in terms of available price.

 

I also upped the build quality on the OK1.  For as cheap as it looks, the material choices and build quality is actually quite good.  It's not something I'd notice on casual use, but they are smartly built.  Mind you I've owned them for almost 2 years now and as a main product I've used on a daily basis.  They still look like new.  I know you picked on the cord some, but two years, no case, and just stuffing them in pockets, bags, or burying them under piles of crap on my deck has done nothing to them.  No nicks, no memory/kinks/twists, nothing.  For as budget level as they look, the materials were picked smartly.  I know I'm nitpicking.

 

I also noticed my remarks didn't move with the earphones, so where my comments are no longer correlates to which earphone I was commenting about.

post #675 of 16802
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadphoneAddict View Post  

 

Also, with the Monster Turbine Pro Gold Vs the Copper I might actually prefer the Gold over the Copper.  While treble and detail was improved over the Gold, I didn't like the decrease in bass vs the Gold.  I didn't think the UM3X were any more forward sounding than the Copper, but to me the UM3X were more transparent and realistic sounding.  The Copper also seemed to have a very slight closed headphone sound or some other coloration that my Gold don't have, and this hurt their transparency for me.  

 

So I think the 9.75/10 you gave the UM3X is deserved, and they were better than the Copper to me.  But I might have scored the the Copper slightly lower than you did, because even though the Copper were more detailed and balanced than the Gold I just didn't enjoy them as much as the Gold.  (I own the gold and the copper were loaned to me by rawrster, same as you).  

 


I would actually like to supports joker's scoring of the Coppers and HeadphoneAddict's impressions at the same time.  While I have a preference for the signature and engaging nature of the Golds and MDs the Coppers do some technical aspects more proficiently.  I think from joker's perspective of grading a phone he did so in a very analytical fashion which goes in favor of the Coppers as that's the focus of their design in comparison.  Perhaps you lose bass quantity and related textures a bit but you gain overall speed in the IEM which many prefer.  From my listening the Coppers when positioned just right in the ears beat the Golds in transparency and do not sound closed to me at all.  I still recall the wide soundstage of the Coppers listening to Hotel California from Hell Freezes over quite clearly to this day.  The Golds were more closed in to me.  My 2 cents.  

 

If you like the Golds more than the Coppers I'm curious what you thought of the MDs.  To me the MD's are like more proficient Golds.   


Edited by Anaxilus - 8/26/10 at 10:25pm
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)