or Connect
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106) - Page 364

post #5446 of 16803

void


Edited by bmeat - 8/17/14 at 9:33am
post #5447 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmeat View Post


haha you guys are crazy. for home use i gave up on iems and bought a hd598 and its outstanding, even for rock and metal, unlike what most people say. its very true to the recording.

 

i had an akg k240 before that, and had to return them due to comfort issuesfrown.gif while i actually liked the sound signature of the k240 more (balanced, mild v-shape) compared to these very flat hd598, my ear is getting used to them.

 

the addiem is still my go to iem, for the sound and price it cant be beaten

 

 

 
I use for years the AKG K240 mainly to check my records.beerchug.gif
 
I find it quite flat but equalizzabile and in any case depending from sourcewink.gif  Even more flat of K240 to me seems sterile biggrin.gif
 
Do not tell you what I think of addiem, my friend smile.gif
 

Edited by joe it - 1/6/12 at 4:28pm
post #5448 of 16803

void


Edited by bmeat - 8/17/14 at 9:33am
post #5449 of 16803

 

Great review joe it.

 

 

I will try FXT-90.

 

 

bmeat I not think headphone can compete with IEM unless SRH-940 or better. :]

post #5450 of 16803

Ok here's my dilemma atm. Im honestly a bass head but i secretely love super accurate and detailed sound but i didnt know until very recently :( i originally had Atrio V2's for almost 2 years which i liked but then upgraded to IE8 and realized what i was missing but i didnt care for the fit very much. Then i bought the TF10 during last years black friday sale and fell in love with the super detailed highs but also .. HATED the comfort of them and there ugly to boot :) SO i moved onto this last month the Miles davis Tributes and Immedietely i was saying WOW for about 2 weeks straight because i thought they were everything i wanted. but alas after the wow factor wore off i realized the lower treble/ upper mids are SO bright that certain rock albums snares are just unbearable impactful and just too loud and i don't EQ my music other than my Arrow 3d bass boost. So back they went. Now i'm looking at the gr07 and it seems it might take me to where i want to be but i'm afraid to waste money and time just to find out the bass whatever its accuracy may be i'll end up wanting to just go back to IE8 since its just less fatiguing and more poewrful in the sub 50hz range than MD's/TF10 and i'll just settle for less clarity. I listen to alot of new age electronic like dubstep/DnB etc but also alot of piano/violin, ambient, metal, hip hop....lol so for my wide selection of music interests i just feel like i'll never be happy and was hoping on some input directly regarding something like ie8/mdt vs gr07 since most reviews seem to pair gr07 opinions up more against similarly priced phones. And thanks for reading my wall of text and probably bad grammar :)

 

atm i'm actually using HiSoundAudio crystals due to pure comfort since i sold my ie8's i used to have and my tf10's hurt after a couple days and i wear headphones 10 hours a day at work and 2+ at home while reading before bed


Edited by deadguy99 - 1/6/12 at 7:03pm
post #5451 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by eke2k6 View Post



Once you get past the GR07, FXT90, and other top-tier IEMS, the law of diminishing returns starts to feel all too real. Yo'll end up spending >$300-350 to get a 5% improvement in 'technical ability.' For the most part, a lot of other top-tiers I've listened to just sound a lot like sound signature sidegrades to me. One IEM will ALWAYS do something better than another, so in the end if you find a signature you like, stick with it. A member on here, Pianist, said the RE0 is a top-tier iem. You can read the first part and conclusion of my GR07 review to get a better idea of what I'm saying here. Good luck with your search!



Thanks for this. Your thread solidified my feelings on the purchase. My GR07's should be here tomorrow! 

 

I have to say, something else that really clenched it for me... while this thread is an absolute treasure trove of information, and joker I greatly appreciate your dedication to helping us all - the more and more I continued to look at other threads... the more and more I kept seeing the GR07 pop up. I would look for FXT90 threads... and people would suggest the GR07. I would check out some basic "which IEM is for me in XYZ price point" or "with XYZ sound signature" - and again it seemed like the GR07 pop's up all over the place. Its kind of coincidental - because it was a similar situation a few years ago when I came on here looking for a budget replacement of my Shure's and everyone and their mother recommended the NE-7M. For the price point it was at - the NE-7M I have to say has served me well. 

post #5452 of 16803
Thread Starter 


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by LooptroopRocker View Post

FXT90!!!


Soon

 



Quote:
Originally Posted by LooptroopRocker View Post

Please!!! L3000.gif


Maybe...

 




Quote:
Originally Posted by joe it View Post

I use the standard tip medium. Also after a few days start to adapt to my ears.

 
I have ordered  the  monster super tip, but I think I've already found the tip that go well.
 
The basses are no longer muddy as new, beautiful, fast and go far deeper without overlap at other frequencies 
 
The midde, never dominated by other frequencies, extending seamlessly up to bind to very acute, extended, but without excessive harshness sibilant or roughness fuzzies.
 
The FTX are almost transparent, I can hear acoustic instruments and even classical music with good reproduction of harmonics that characterise them.
 
Horns, drums, strings... very good.
 
Voice, i can feel the breath and i think i feel the breath of the singer. Great dynamics. Full immersion 
 


Glad you like them! Now I can postpone my review some more wink.gif

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadguy99 View Post

Ok here's my dilemma atm. Im honestly a bass head but i secretely love super accurate and detailed sound but i didnt know until very recently :( i originally had Atrio V2's for almost 2 years which i liked but then upgraded to IE8 and realized what i was missing but i didnt care for the fit very much. Then i bought the TF10 during last years black friday sale and fell in love with the super detailed highs but also .. HATED the comfort of them and there ugly to boot :) SO i moved onto this last month the Miles davis Tributes and Immedietely i was saying WOW for about 2 weeks straight because i thought they were everything i wanted. but alas after the wow factor wore off i realized the lower treble/ upper mids are SO bright that certain rock albums snares are just unbearable impactful and just too loud and i don't EQ my music other than my Arrow 3d bass boost. So back they went. Now i'm looking at the gr07 and it seems it might take me to where i want to be but i'm afraid to waste money and time just to find out the bass whatever its accuracy may be i'll end up wanting to just go back to IE8 since its just less fatiguing and more poewrful in the sub 50hz range than MD's/TF10 and i'll just settle for less clarity. I listen to alot of new age electronic like dubstep/DnB etc but also alot of piano/violin, ambient, metal, hip hop....lol so for my wide selection of music interests i just feel like i'll never be happy and was hoping on some input directly regarding something like ie8/mdt vs gr07 since most reviews seem to pair gr07 opinions up more against similarly priced phones. And thanks for reading my wall of text and probably bad grammar :)

 

atm i'm actually using HiSoundAudio crystals due to pure comfort since i sold my ie8's i used to have and my tf10's hurt after a couple days and i wear headphones 10 hours a day at work and 2+ at home while reading before bed


I don't think the GR07 is darker than the MDs so it might be too treble-prominent for you. Plus, it's got less bass power than just about everything you've listed short of the TF10s. If you're looking for smooth, bassy IE8 alternatives to consider you can look at the two Radius dual-dynamics.

 

post #5453 of 16803

Its not that i'm looking for something dark i like the more detailed presentation of the md's and the tf10's as far as treble goes, its just that tf10 sub bass roll off is so extreme even with the 2 stage bass boost on the arrow 3g it still never felt as good as ie8/md for sub bass oriented music. i was just hoping maybe the gr07 would be able to give that same bass power but with a clear and detailed mid/treble. I found the ie8 to be almost too laid back which is why i sold them. The raddius phones all look so bulky and strange. I honestly thought that the new sony xba-4sl would be perfect but now that there finally out i see that the standard model 4sl has a J cord which i refuse to wear and the 4ip model with controls costs a bit more for something i cant use with an amplifier lol and i'm not sure if there size would make it hard to get a fit. I'd think about getting the 4sl remolded into customs but i'm not sure if my slightly small ears would fit them since ive never had any customs yet. i might try getting my tf10's remolded just to see if i like that style of fit but i always imagined a rock hard huge piece of acryllic in my ear would be akward

 

 


Edited by deadguy99 - 1/7/12 at 7:15am
post #5454 of 16803

Is it me or the Hisound Crystal have no nozzle filter?

post #5455 of 16803

I can't see one but there might be a black one deep in there

post #5456 of 16803

I am very pleased with the Crystals in everything besides one thing.. The MIDS! now i realized their importance.. Its what gives to the music the liveness and makes an iem sound fun and forward..

Things improve great when i adjust my cowon J3 3 levels up the mids but is this noble?

 

post #5457 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiteki View Post

 

Great review joe it.

 

 

I will try FXT-90.

 

 

bmeat I not think headphone can compete with IEM unless SRH-940 or better. :]



I can't regardless of musicality, I hope you like the FXT-90smile.gif



Quote:
Originally Posted by bmeat View Post

 
really now..sterile. perfect word. thats actually how ive been feeling about the hd598. if the bass is booming, like on a rap songs or with 808's and drums machines, these cans rumble, but when the bass is not recorded heavy, like on a regular rock/metal recording, the drums do not sound aggresive enough, and ive been trying to tell myself that the hd598 are better, but i think i may like the mild v shape of k240 more.

 

looks like i cant decide either. what am i saying? you guys are crazy? im the crazy one!



 

Why crazy? It is not a wife, you can take more than one.biggrin.gif
 
As regards the AKG, if you do not need much isolation, I think the AKG optimal. Besides being musical also monitor 
 
I also think that is very underrated.
 
post #5458 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe it View Post

Why crazy? It is not a wife, you can take more than one.biggrin.gif
 


In Soviet Russia...lol

 

post #5459 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post


 

Glad you like them! Now I can postpone my review some more wink.gif

 

 


 

Also Glad.wink.gif

 

But I do not think that i can take all this responsibility biggrin.gif

post #5460 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by eke2k6 View Post


In Soviet Russia...lol

 



One at a time, can be?biggrin.gif

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)