or Connect
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106) - Page 299

post #4471 of 16803

void


Edited by bmeat - 8/12/14 at 9:46am
post #4472 of 16803

Ok thank you Joker, I've just ordered Silver Bullet V2 with improved cable

I'm not an expert but would it mean better score in your review??

 

post #4473 of 16803

Do the Hisound Crystals benefit from amping? I just ordered a pair for commuting, since they isolate very well and should sound good.

post #4474 of 16803
Thread Starter 

 
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by imackler View Post

ljokerl...any advice for me?

 

I'm looking for a jack of all trades, focusing on classical (lots of strings, lots of choral pieces and some symphonies), then 1950-60s jazz and ending with alternative/folk. Do I go with the RE272 ($250), GR07 ($170ish) or the W2 ($200 now from EarphoneSolutions w/ coupon code).  In general, I like balanced armatures, but one of my favorite iems was the IE7, so I'm leaning toward dynamic for something new. The IE7 wasn't perfect; I think it could have tighter bass and more treble extension, but the mids were amazing. I hate shelling out $250+ for the IE7 (especially after so many purchased it for $100 or so this spring when it was discontinued) and am hoping one of these is better. I've owned the W2 in the past. Again I find the bass a little bloaty, but the W2 is impressive besides that and probably my top pick for a mid-budget all-genre phone of those I've owned. So they present a good alternative. The dark horses for me are the RE272 and the GR07. I'd appreciate any advice. (Maybe, a single phone isn't best... I could do something like a GR07 and a HF5 maybe, etc.. I'd prefer one though.)

 

I really like the W4. I'm trying to get something a little cheaper though, but still trying to find a quality, long lasting phone. I find its weaknesses to me are probably a little warm and lacking energy, but it really is an amazing phone. I guess I'm looking for something a little bit more dynamic/less reserved, though in general I tend to neutral phones...


I find the IE7 to sound extremely bloated next to the GR07. If you can live with less warmth and less forward mids than the IE7, I think the GR07 is a good choice. It's much quicker and the treble is cleaner and more prominent. If you want dynamic and energetic I would pick it over the W2 and IE7 both nine times out of ten. The RE272 has more liquid mids and better treble extension than the GR07 but it's a little on the relaxed side in comparison and doesn't have nearly the bass quantity of the IE7 (GR07 is closer, though still a lot less boomy). You may also like the Fischer DBA-02, though it's very much on the lean side compared to the IE7. Much more neutral, clean, and energetic, though.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by cocolinho View Post

Ok thank you Joker, I've just ordered Silver Bullet V2 with improved cable

I'm not an expert but would it mean better score in your review??

 


The cable was somewhat of a disappointment on the V1 so if they did improve it, I don't see why it wouldn't score higher.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0lar View Post

Do the Hisound Crystals benefit from amping? I just ordered a pair for commuting, since they isolate very well and should sound good.

 

No, not significantly. As with most mid-level dynamics the cost/bother of an amp just wouldn't be worth it vs. going up to a higher-end IEM.

post #4475 of 16803

Joker, I know this is nit-picking, but the second revision of the RE262 are balanced, and that means that HiFiMan now have 3 balanced IEMs on offer - RE-ZERO, RE262 and RE272.

 

Technically, I believe this to be incorrect:

 

Details: HiFiMan’s latest flagship and the company’s second balanced earphone

 

I didnt realise it when I bought my 262s, but the earlier version was single-ended.

 

http://www.inearmatters.net/2011/03/finally-re262.html

 

I know - a massive review, thousands of hours, and some clown (!) has to zero in on one technicality - thanks again for the massive garagantuan effort you have put into this review.

post #4476 of 16803

void


Edited by bmeat - 8/12/14 at 9:46am
post #4477 of 16803
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by estreeter View Post

Joker, I know this is nit-picking, but the second revision of the RE262 are balanced, and that means that HiFiMan now have 3 balanced IEMs on offer - RE-ZERO, RE262 and RE272.

 

Technically, I believe this to be incorrect:

 

Details: HiFiMan’s latest flagship and the company’s second balanced earphone

 

I didnt realise it when I bought my 262s, but the earlier version was single-ended.

 

http://www.inearmatters.net/2011/03/finally-re262.html

 

I know - a massive review, thousands of hours, and some clown (!) has to zero in on one technicality - thanks again for the massive garagantuan effort you have put into this review.


Unfortunately you are not even the first such clown - Inks mentioned the RE262 update a few pages back rolleyes.gif. I have to raise RE262 scores to account for the modular system and (presumably) new cable it's now using. There's a few other adjustments that need to be made, which I've put off until the next revision. I appreciate the correction, though. 

 

And yes, my RE262 was single-ended.

 



Quote:
Originally Posted by bmeat View Post

ok so i finally know what im looking for. i want a balanced iem. of the klipsch s3 metrofi200 and ultimate ears 350 which would be the best? i want it to sound as close as possible to the superfi4, but just with a tad more bottem end


The S3 and UE350 are not balanced and I've not heard the MF200.

 

post #4478 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

Unfortunately you are not even the first such clown - Inks mentioned the RE262 update a few pages back rolleyes.gif. I have to raise RE262 scores to account for the modular system and (presumably) new cable it's now using. There's a few other adjustments that need to be made, which I've put off until the next revision. I appreciate the correction, though. 


 

 

Sensational - thanks for that. We are faced with the prospect of the 262 overtaking the 272 in your rankings  ;)

 

post #4479 of 16803

void


Edited by bmeat - 8/12/14 at 9:46am
post #4480 of 16803

Gonna order the Future Sonics AtrioX today or tomorrow. I'll place a 2 year protection plan on it just in-case. I'll have my initial thoughts after arrival.

post #4481 of 16803


Thanks a ton for the advice! I don't want to lose the mids of the IE7 but not at all a fan of the boomy bass. The GR07 may be a great choice!

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

  

I find the IE7 to sound extremely bloated next to the GR07. If you can live with less warmth and less forward mids than the IE7, I think the GR07 is a good choice. It's much quicker and the treble is cleaner and more prominent. If you want dynamic and energetic I would pick it over the W2 and IE7 both nine times out of ten. The RE272 has more liquid mids and better treble extension than the GR07 but it's a little on the relaxed side in comparison and doesn't have nearly the bass quantity of the IE7 (GR07 is closer, though still a lot less boomy). You may also like the Fischer DBA-02, though it's very much on the lean side compared to the IE7. Much more neutral, clean, and energetic, though. 

 

 



 

post #4482 of 16803

So, it is said that the common ebay price for the ADDIEM is ~$35 or so.  However, most of the listings I see are probably selling fakes - most of them around ~$15.

 

Anyone know of a good ebay seller that actually sells legit ones for around that price?

post #4483 of 16803

Hello...I'm a complete noob with respect to IEM's.  I picked up a cheap set of Skullcandy INK'd to replace my workout Sennheiser PMX-100's.  I just got the Skully's today and I'm wondering at this price point ($11) if there's anything with more bass and clearer mids/highs.  I was thinking about MEElectronics M9...budget is $20. 

 

After burn-in which of the 2 has the deepest bass (I like boomy I guess bc I like the Ink'd), and also give you that bass impact...I want to "feel" the bass if you catch my drift?

 

I listen to mostly drum and bass along with hip hop.  After about 30 minutes of listening I think the Skullies are really good for drum and bass, and I'd imagine dubstep, but sometimes I think the highs are a little sharp if I listen to something with vocals.  In general though the vocals aren't super clear as the bass drowns it out.  That's ok at this price...just wondering if I can get vocals clearer and boomier bass.  In any case, I'll try them tomorrow during a workout and get a better idea.


Edited by DnB Sublimity - 10/19/11 at 7:35pm
post #4484 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by DnB Sublimity View Post

Hello...I'm a complete noob with respect to IEM's.  I picked up a cheap set of Skullcandy INK'd to replace my workout Sennheiser PMX-100's.  I just got the Skully's today and I'm wondering at this price point ($11) if there's anything with more bass and clearer mids/highs.  I was thinking about MEElectronics M9...budget is $20. 

 

After burn-in which of the 2 has the deepest bass, and also give you that bass impact...I want to "feel" the bass if you catch my drift?

 

I listen to mostly drum and bass along with hip hop.  After about 30 minutes of listening I think the Skullies are really good for drum and bass, and I'd imagine dubstep, but sometimes I think the highs are a little sharp if I listen to something with vocals.  I'll try them tomorrow during a workout and get a better idea.

 

      The M9 or M6 will do. I suggest ordering it from Amazon with a Square Trade 3-Year Warranty under $50.
 

 

post #4485 of 16803
Thread Starter 


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmeat View Post

which of the ue350 or the klipsch s3 has detail reproduction and speed anywhere near that of the superfi4, becuase i know they both will have more low end? becuase the metrofi200 do come close, but i dont like the cloth cord or the straight plug. im wondering if either could do better

 

how about the klispsch s4 or ultimate ears 500? which has better clairty details speed etc?

 

any chance at all that your in the process of making either a ue350 ue500 or a superfi4 review? it would be awesome to see what you think about them



I like the UE500 better than the S4. The latter is much more v-shaped. 

 

The UE350, UE500, and SF4 reviews will not be finished until I clear up most of my sample backlog.



Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBomb77766 View Post

So, it is said that the common ebay price for the ADDIEM is ~$35 or so.  However, most of the listings I see are probably selling fakes - most of them around ~$15.

 

Anyone know of a good ebay seller that actually sells legit ones for around that price?



I got mine from a seller named 7dime. I would just rely on my ears and ebay buyer protection. Genuine earphones will have the threaded filters and a working 3-button remote. There have been reports of fakes that have had neither of those things.



Quote:
Originally Posted by DnB Sublimity View Post

Hello...I'm a complete noob with respect to IEM's.  I picked up a cheap set of Skullcandy INK'd to replace my workout Sennheiser PMX-100's.  I just got the Skully's today and I'm wondering at this price point ($11) if there's anything with more bass and clearer mids/highs.  I was thinking about MEElectronics M9...budget is $20. 

 

After burn-in which of the 2 has the deepest bass (I like boomy I guess bc I like the Ink'd), and also give you that bass impact...I want to "feel" the bass if you catch my drift?

 

I listen to mostly drum and bass along with hip hop.  After about 30 minutes of listening I think the Skullies are really good for drum and bass, and I'd imagine dubstep, but sometimes I think the highs are a little sharp if I listen to something with vocals.  In general though the vocals aren't super clear as the bass drowns it out.  That's ok at this price...just wondering if I can get vocals clearer and boomier bass.  In any case, I'll try them tomorrow during a workout and get a better idea.


The M9 has noticeably more bass than the Ink'd as well as better depth and quality but the treble isn't any smoother and the midrange, including vocals, is less prominent. I would still take an M9 over the Ink'd any day for more tolerable soundstage and better detail but signature-wise it may not be a perfect fit. The M31 is closer to what you are after but of course is more expensive. 

 


Edited by ljokerl - 10/19/11 at 7:58pm
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)