or Connect
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106) - Page 229

post #3421 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by victorbrt View Post

Hey Joker, do you remember what tips sounded best to you with ECCI PR401? The stock single-flanges or the Sony Hybrids?

 

I already tested both but I'm can't say yet which one is better.

 

Thanks.

    

     Are you enjoying your ECCI PR401 to the fullest?
 

 

post #3422 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niyologist View Post

Still awaiting for my CC51. I'll compare my review with Joker's review next week. The pre-burn-in and 50 hour burn-in will be posted, along with the specs and analysis of build, comfort and isolation.



Your getting the CC51? Congrats, one of my favorite budget IEM's. Rumbly bass and great high end extension.

post #3423 of 16803
Originally Posted by Niyologist View Post

     Are you enjoying your ECCI PR401 to the fullest?


I'm not joker but I've had the PR401 for a while.. and like them very much.  They're akin to a smoother, more balanced version of the HJE900.  The midbass hump isn't as pronounced as it is on the HJE and the midrange sounds a bit thicker.  Treble on the PR401 has excellent sparkle and crispness with no sibilance.

post #3424 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin Morrow View Post





Your getting the CC51? Congrats, one of my favorite budget IEM's. Rumbly bass and great high end extension.

 

     Yeah, thanks for the heads up.
 

 

post #3425 of 16803
Thread Starter 

Quote:

Originally Posted by kanuka View Post

then, is there any iem that can match them with the price i mentioned 90-100 euro (i think thats about $125-145)

btw, do the ok1 sound like a full-size can as the pk1 are known as?

 

There are other good iems in the price range - DBA-02, GR07, etc - but they sound different from the OK1. Not sure what it's supposed to sound like to rival a full-size can as I've never heard the PK1. It's pretty airy and spacious but then many earbuds tend to be.



Quote:

Originally Posted by victorbrt View Post

Hey Joker, do you remember what tips sounded best to you with ECCI PR401? The stock single-flanges or the Sony Hybrids?

 

I already tested both but I'm can't say yet which one is better.

 

Thanks.


I'm sure I ended up using the Hybrids since they generally seal very effortlessly for me but for sound I really don't remember.

 


Quote:

Originally Posted by FlySweep View Post


I'm not joker but I've had the PR401 for a while.. and like them very much. 


That question wasn't directed at me anyway tongue.gif

post #3426 of 16803

"the pk1 are eforthless and have a great soundstage" thats supposed to be., not that i really know what it means.

anyway. from what you mention the B2/dba-02 should be enough. but i wanted to know as i find earbuds very comfortable for home and silent places use.

btw. in case i decide to get 'em, what amp can drive the ok1? will the ibasso t3d be enough?

 

post #3427 of 16803

Finally got my M6 today :)

 

I spent an hour trying out the stock tips and could not get any of them to seal on my left ear (average/small canal), but I was able to get a few to fit my right ear (large canal)

Luckily though, I bought Hybrids with the M6 :) Large hybrids fit perfect for my left ear and medium fit my right ear, though not perfect.

 

First impressions: (I do not know the correct terms, but will try to describe it to the best of my ability)

 

Accessories – Carrying case, shirt clip, silicone single-flange tips (3 sizes), silicone double-flange tips (1 size), silicone tri-flange tips (2 sizes)

The stock silicone tips are hard and do not form to ears making it hard to get a good seal.
Build Quality - "Solid-feeling plastic housings are coupled with Meelec's excellent new cabling terminated with a low-profile L-plug. Two inches of memory wire provide additional strain relief" - ljokerl
Isolation – Haven't had enough time to test isolation.
Microphonics - What microphonics? ;)
Comfort - I don't even notice them. The only comfort related problem is ear pressure and that's probably just me and will work itself out.

 

Sound - No burn-in (bear with me, I do not know the correct terms and will describe as best I can)

Sparkly highs, recessed mids and slightly uncontrolled lows. <- That fun V-shape.

Sound stage is awesome for the price. These things are definitely bass heavy, more so than my TiTANs. The bass is a bit uncontrolled, so it has the "boomy" feeling/sound.

 

Would I recommend these to someone else? No. Why? the sealing issue. I'm sorry, but the sealing issue is a deal breaker unless you have small canals or the right tips (not stock).

Would I recommend other MEE products?  Yes. Why? Build quaility, Price, Sound sig and friendliness.

Am I happy with them? Hellz yeah, I am. Thanks ljokerl for your great review on them :)

 

End of impressions from an average guy looking for some fun IEMs.

 

edit

Large hybrid fits my left ear (average/small canal) and small hybrid fit my right ear (large canal). I've never had fit issues with other IEMs. Stock medium size tips fit both my ears on my other IEMs.

The pressure in my ears is gone and some of it seemed to be caused by too deep an insertion. The M6 doesn't seem to like large ear canals. Insertion is too deep on large canals and requires you to readjust each time you put on the IEMs (only takes a few seconds)

 

edit #2

I tried small hybrids on my left ear and they seem to work just fine, so I'm now using the pair of small hybrids for both ears.

These things are great for hardstyle :) I also tried out LMFAO's "sorry for party rocking" (album) with these and they made me like tracks that I hated before.

Truly great little things for electronic music.


Edited by G4Oblivion - 7/1/11 at 12:04am
post #3428 of 16803
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanuka View Post

"the pk1 are eforthless and have a great soundstage" thats supposed to be., not that i really know what it means.

anyway. from what you mention the B2/dba-02 should be enough. but i wanted to know as i find earbuds very comfortable for home and silent places use.

btw. in case i decide to get 'em, what amp can drive the ok1? will the ibasso t3d be enough?

 



Not sure. The T4 can't but the T3d is supposed to be an improvement.



Quote:
Originally Posted by G4Oblivion View Post

Finally got my M6 today :)

 

I spent an hour trying out the stock tips and could not get any of them to seal on my left ear (average/small canal), but I was able to get a few to fit my right ear (large canal)

Luckily though, I bought Hybrids with the M6 :) Large hybrids fit perfect for my left ear and medium fit my right ear, though not perfect.

 

First impressions: (I do not know the correct terms, but will try to describe it to the best of my ability)

 

Accessories – Carrying case, shirt clip, silicone single-flange tips (3 sizes), silicone double-flange tips (1 size), silicone tri-flange tips (2 sizes)

The stock silicone tips are hard and do not form to ears making it hard to get a good seal.
Build Quality - "Solid-feeling plastic housings are coupled with Meelec's excellent new cabling terminated with a low-profile L-plug. Two inches of memory wire provide additional strain relief" - ljokerl
Isolation – Haven't had enough time to test isolation.
Microphonics - What microphonics? ;)
Comfort - I don't even notice them. The only comfort related problem is ear pressure and that's probably just me and will work itself out.

 

Sound - No burn-in (bear with me, I do not know the correct terms and will describe as best I can)

Sparkly highs, recessed mids and slightly uncontrolled lows. <- That fun V-shape.

Sound stage is awesome for the price. These things are definitely bass heavy, more so than my TiTANs. The bass is a bit uncontrolled, so it has the "boomy" feeling/sound.

 

Would I recommend these to someone else? No. Why? the sealing issue. I'm sorry, but the sealing issue is a deal breaker unless you have small canals or the right tips (not stock).

Would I recommend other MEE products?  Yes. Why? Build quaility, Price, Sound sig and friendliness.

Am I happy with them? Hellz yeah, I am. Thanks ljokerl for your great review on them :)

 

End of impressions from an average guy looking for some fun IEMs.

 

edit

Large hybrid fits my left ear (average/small canal) and small hybrid fit my right ear (large canal). I've never had fit issues with other IEMs. Stock medium size tips fit both my ears on my other IEMs.

The pressure in my ears is gone and some of it seemed to be caused by too deep an insertion. The M6 doesn't seem to like large ear canals. Insertion is too deep on large canals and requires you to readjust each time you put on the IEMs (only takes a few seconds)

 

edit #2

I tried small hybrids on my left ear and they seem to work just fine, so I'm now using the pair of small hybrids for both ears.

These things are great for hardstyle :) I also tried out LMFAO's "sorry for party rocking" (album) with these and they made me like tracks that I hated before.

Truly great little things for electronic music.


Yep, figuring out to fit them correctly can be a pain but other than that they're pretty fun little things for the price paid. I think they get a little less boomy with time, too. My M6 is a bit tighter than my M9 and it's only had eighteen months of burn-in tongue.gif

post #3429 of 16803

Okay! Review Time.

 

Meelectronics CC51

 

Price/Store Location: ($54.99 from Amazon)

 

I listened to the CC51 BK for about 2 Hours and this is the Pre Burn-in thoughts.

 

Let us start with the bottom of the frequency. Bass.

 

Bass: It's punchier and more hard hitting than my M9 by a mile and my SP51 by a tenth of a mile on both the Enhanced Bass Port and especially the Extreme Bass Port. It's clean and barely intrudes with the midrange. The quantity of bass is just like the Enhanced Bass Port of the SP51 and it mainly stays around Mid-Bass and some songs it actually goes down to lower Mid-Bass when called upon on.

 

Moving up to midrange

 

Midrange: Wow! I gotta say it's certainly much clearer than both the M9 and SP51 (Enhanced Bass and Extreme Bass Ports). Although it's slightly clearer than the SP51 (Balanced Sound Port). It's warmed up by the bass and it's very clean and smooth.

 

Last part of the frequency. Treble.

 

Treble: Very nice extension. The piano strokes are decently realistic and the treble isn't sibilant at all. It works really well on Trance music. It makes me enjoy my Trance music to the fullest. etysmile.gif

 

Soundstage: About Average. I hear some depth to it and a slight bit of height. It'll probably be more 3D after the 50 Hour Burn-In.

 

Now with the CC51 Analysis:

 

Accessories: 4/5 The standard bi-flange, small bulb, medium bulb, and large bulb

 

Build: 4.5/5 The housing feels extremely durable, the fact that it's Ceramic. I do not have any intention of removing the shirt clip after I saw how dangerously sharp it is. I see and feel that the cable is slightly thicker than the SP51, but not as much as the M Series. 

 

Isolation: 4/5 It's much better than my vented M9 and SP51.

 

Comfort: 4/5 It sits in my ears and I'm not moving it around like the M9 or SP51

 

Fit/Seal: 3.5/5 The fact that it's not so good for the narrow ear canal. Although I found a good fit with the medium bulb flange for my left ear and the and the small bulb flange for my right ear.

 

Value (Expect it to change): 9.2/10 It's clearer and cleaner than my M9 and SP51 and the fit/seal is slightly better than those two, along with the isolation and comfort and build. It may not be for a basshead (use to be one until a week ago), but it's still bass-heavy anyway. Its' accurate sound and clarity just brought out the best of the music I listen to daily. I sure hope Meelec has some more goods soon, because I'm gonna consume them (not literally).  

post #3430 of 16803

You should really consider removing the shirt clip! I'd even go so far and break it apart (for safety reasons), as 1) it doesn't stick to the cable (=> cable is too thin) and 2) it has sharp edges that can damage the cable even if you do not remove it.

 

Meelec knows of the problem and they have a benevolent CS, so I don't think you'd get warranty problems. But you should ask them first.


Edited by PinkysBrain - 7/2/11 at 2:34am
post #3431 of 16803

Please see this thread on ABI - http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=62343

 

I'm not sure if they've changed clips or the cable, but I strongly recommend against removing it.

The risks outweigh the benefits.

post #3432 of 16803

SP51 has the same dangerous Shirt Clip and it didn't damage my cable.

 

EDIT: The cable is thin? I don't see that considering that it's between the thickness of the SP51 and the M Series cable.


Edited by Niyologist - 7/2/11 at 3:54am
post #3433 of 16803
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Niyologist View Post

SP51 has the same dangerous Shirt Clip and it didn't damage my cable.


SP51 has that same clear-coat covering as the rest of MEElec's cables, which is why you can't damage it by taking off the clip. The best way to take off the CC51 clip is to widen the opening of the part that goes on the cable with a small screwdriver first.

post #3434 of 16803

Joker are you planning to release your SM e30 review before July ends? No need to rush you just asking.

post #3435 of 16803
Thread Starter 


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelopsaro View Post

Joker are you planning to release your SM e30 review before July ends? No need to rush you just asking.



It should be the next update though there's been a bit of a delay as I've been working on the portable thread

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)