or Connect
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106) - Page 165

post #2461 of 16803

Buy online...
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by idioot View Post




well it doesn't have to be Sennheiser, I've just read good things about them online :p a lot of the players in this review I can't find in any shop near me...

 



 

post #2462 of 16803
I listen to rock & need a good noise isolating IEM. My budget is between $70-120,what do you recommend?
post #2463 of 16803

Very much looking forward to your Vsonic GR07 review, joker.. got mine yesterday and I'm in a deep state of bliss with them.

post #2464 of 16803

A question for i guess anyone who's tried the UE 700's and various others...

What would the sq and value be on ljokerl's scale? (As a very rough estimate?) They're the only "mid range" iem's i've used, so i was thinking about upgrading to something like the DBA-02, but wanted to know if it was worth it?

Thanks a lot :D

post #2465 of 16803
Thread Starter 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by ickayR View Post

I listen to rock & need a good noise isolating IEM. My budget is between $70-120,what do you recommend?


Music genre and sound signature preferences don't go hand in hand but if you don't mind analytical sound and want the maximum possible isolation, it'd have to be the Etymotic HF5. If you're looking for a more fun sound and are willing to step off the isolation requirement a bit, the Meelec CC51, ECCI PR401, and Fischer Silver Bullet are worth looking into. In any case you'd have to do some thinking regarding what type of signature you'd rather have. The PR401 would be the one most like the tradition 'rock' equalizer, though that doesn't necessarily mean it'll be the one you prefer.



Quote:
Originally Posted by FlySweep View Post

Very much looking forward to your Vsonic GR07 review, joker.. got mine yesterday and I'm in a deep state of bliss with them.

 

I've had them since last week and they are very enjoyable phones. Aside from a bit of sizzle in the treble they are clear competition for the IE7 and RE252.



Quote:
Originally Posted by nucgaek View Post

A question for i guess anyone who's tried the UE 700's and various others...

What would the sq and value be on ljokerl's scale? (As a very rough estimate?) They're the only "mid range" iem's i've used, so i was thinking about upgrading to something like the DBA-02, but wanted to know if it was worth it?

Thanks a lot :D


I happen to own the UE700 so I can answer this. The UE700 and DBA-02 actually use the same driver - a Knowles TWFK. However, the DBA-02 happens to be one of my favorite tunings of that armature while the UE700 is probably my least favorite due to its spiky treble and smoothed-over microdetail. I'd say the UE700 is roughly an 8.8/10 (in contrast to the DBA-02's 9.5). Taking into account diminishing returns, that's a sizable difference but of course you're moving from one fairly analytical earphone to another and it will take some critical listening to really appreciate the differences.  

post #2466 of 16803

If the GR07 is anything like the IE7 then it's definitely not for me although I've never heard the RE252 but reviews does seem to indicate that it is different sounding than the IE7.

post #2467 of 16803

Sizzle in the treble does remind me of my Sony CD2Ks which I was wondering about.  

post #2468 of 16803

Have the PL50s in my ears right now, they feel like the Shure SE215 in the mids quantity department, but I actually find the PL50s to be technically more capable overall.

Better overall balance, less emphasis on the bass and more airiness. The PL50 seems to be able to carry over details on each of the freq. spectrum better as well. Gonna compare them to the SE215 using the same tips the week after next.

Headed out to try out the ECCI PR401 and VSONIC GR07 later on too =)

post #2469 of 16803
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawrster View Post

If the GR07 is anything like the IE7 then it's definitely not for me although I've never heard the RE252 but reviews does seem to indicate that it is different sounding than the IE7.

Well, they are all similar in that they are fairly balanced dynamic-driver earphones in the $150-200 range. I do like the GR07 better than the IE7 personally but right now (still <50 hrs burn-in) it falls just a bit a short of being a top-tier dynamic. It matches my preferences better than the Radius TWF21 but I'm the first to admit that it's not nearly as smooth and lush.

 

 

post #2470 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by rawrster View Post

If the GR07 is anything like the IE7 then it's definitely not for me although I've never heard the RE252 but reviews does seem to indicate that it is different sounding than the IE7.


Well, Mike told me the GR07 is not boring. So, that's different from the IE7evil_smiley.gif!

 

post #2471 of 16803
Does the genre that I listen to really make a difference when I pick IEM's. Which of all these do you think is the overall best?
post #2472 of 16803

Was this last updated 03/27/10 or 03/27/11 ?

And what are some good earphones for under $250?


Edited by UserFriendly - 3/30/11 at 4:15pm
post #2473 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by jant71 View Post


Well, Mike told me the GR07 is not boring. So, that's different from the IE7evil_smiley.gif!


Well compared to the IE7 most earphones are exciting :p

 

post #2474 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by UserFriendly View Post

Was this last updated 03/27/10 or 03/27/11 ?

And what are some good earphones for under $250?



W4 and Radius TWF21. Of course it was 2010bigsmile_face.gif! Gotta do better than that. Really read the thread and you'll know the dates(plenty of update posts and dates under each photo) and answer your own question. No offense but the thread stays cleaner this way.

post #2475 of 16803

Oh, so it's 03/27/11

 

Why aren't there any Sennheiser/Bose/Shure reviews on this thread?

Also, good earphones for under $250?

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)