or Connect
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106) - Page 900

post #13486 of 16803

I'm very happy with my current Westone 3's, but just found out that M***Drop just added the Ultimate Ears UE900's, which I have always been curious about.

 

I know that sound wise, UE900's are more neutral with less of a V-shaped EQ than the W3's. How are the isolation and comfort? The W3's takes me about 30 seconds to put on, and while it gives very good sound isolation (using Comply P-series tips) it starts to hurt my ears after 4-5 hours or so. I hear that the UE900's are more comfortable, as they allow for a deeper insertion (the W3's tubby shape and short tips gives me some trouble regarding this), but how is the isolation using its own equivalent Comply tips?

post #13487 of 16803

best aftermarket tips for the dunu dn-1000? lost one of my medium wide-bore grey ones :(

post #13488 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pastapipo View Post


They're good, but nothing like 200+ dollar iems.
In my opinion the vsd1s are better. Don't hype the hype. Still curious what joker thinks of it though...

There's no hype from my part, just curiosity. Someone in "the xiaomi pistons thread" compared the Dunu DN-1000 with the Pistons and claimed more or less a draw. But, It would be good to hear "Jokers" thoughts on these, someone prone to evaluating IEM's for many years, now.

 

Hey, on another note, can you let me know a little comparison between the "Pistons" vs "VSD1S"? -You might convince me to get a pair! :normal_smile :

post #13489 of 16803
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pin View Post
 

You are the man Joker! Have recommended this thread to many people over the years, keep it up!!

 

The bass on my coppers seem overwhelming these days especially in the mid-bass range, not sure if they are getting old or if I am!!

 

Have read from multiple head-fi reviewers that the woodie JVCs are bass cannons but that they are not fatiguing in the sense that the bass is there when you need it but don't take over the sound. Does your experience with the FX700 reflect this too?

 

This might be a matter of my personal taste evolving over time. Will go and try out the DN2000 tonight and probably the HA-FX750 too.

 

Thanks again Joker.

 

Cheers,

Pin

 

Hmm.. I don't know about the new FX750 but I wouldn't recommend the FX700 to you. I'd go for something with quicker, less reverberant bass. The DN-1000/DN-2000 are pretty good in this regard. So are less bassy sets like the GR07 Bass Edition.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1clearhead View Post
 

Hello Joker,

 

Will you be reviewing the Xiaomi Pistons 2.1 (or IF Edition) any time soon?

 

There are many here eager to read your results on these. I truly can say they have an astonishing sound and performs way above there price. Others in "the xiaomi pistons thread" claim to compare them to $200 dollar plus IEM's (like the Dunu DN-1000).

 

Please let us know what you think......:popcorn:

 

I'm not sure about these. No concrete plans, but I'd like to try them in the future.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by waynes world View Post
 

 

I can't wait for joker to try out the Ostry KC06. With a synergistic source, they are seriously kicking the butt of my vsd1 and vsd1le (not to mention others).

 

Will do. They come highly recommended all around.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solarium View Post
 

I'm very happy with my current Westone 3's, but just found out that M***Drop just added the Ultimate Ears UE900's, which I have always been curious about.

 

I know that sound wise, UE900's are more neutral with less of a V-shaped EQ than the W3's. How are the isolation and comfort? The W3's takes me about 30 seconds to put on, and while it gives very good sound isolation (using Comply P-series tips) it starts to hurt my ears after 4-5 hours or so. I hear that the UE900's are more comfortable, as they allow for a deeper insertion (the W3's tubby shape and short tips gives me some trouble regarding this), but how is the isolation using its own equivalent Comply tips?

 

Isolation would be about on-par with the Complys. As for comfort, I personally would never make 4-5 hours straight with either set. The W3 housings are, like you said, a little tubby whereas the UE900 has a larger footprint and presses against my outer ear a bit. I have the same problem with the Shure SE846. The new Westone housings (on the W40 and such) are shaped better for my ears.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckavelli View Post
 

best aftermarket tips for the dunu dn-1000? lost one of my medium wide-bore grey ones :(

 

I'm using medium single-flanges from a meelec M6 but I don't think they're an improvement in sound over the gray tips. Just seal better in my ears and I haven't found anything better. Maybe someone else has other suggestions.

post #13490 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pastapipo View Post


They're good, but nothing like 200+ dollar iems.
In my opinion the vsd1s are better. Don't hype the hype. Still curious what joker thinks of it though...

I agree with that.

post #13491 of 16803
Thread Starter 

Added another budget set from T-Peos - the Popular.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post
 

(3A86) T-Peos Popular

 


Reviewed April 2014

Details: Budget IEM from Korea-based T-Peos similar to their Tank model
MSRP: est. $40 (manufacturer’s page)
Current Price: $30 from mp4nation.com; $28 from HiFiNage (India only)
Specs: Driver: Dynamic | Imp: 32Ω | Sens: 105 dB | Freq: 20-18k Hz | Cable: 4.2′ L-plug
Nozzle Size: 4.5mm | Preferred tips: Stock single-flanges, MEElec M6 single-flanges
Wear Style: Straight down or over-the-ear (preferred)

Accessories (1.5/5) – Single-flange silicone tips (3 sizes) and shirt clip
Build Quality (4/5) – The construction of the Popular is very similar to T-Peos’ similarly-priced Tank model. It uses metal housings akin to those of the higher-end D200 and H-100 models, narrow flat cables, and a well-relieved L-plug
Isolation (3/5) – Isolation is on par with other earphones of this type
Microphonics (3/5) – Average with cable-down wear; good when worn over-the-ear
Comfort (4/5) – The small dynamic driver permits a compact housing design. The earphones can be worn comfortably both cable-down and cable-up, though the flat cable with no cable cinch can be a bit resistant to over-the-ear wear

Sound (7.8/10) – The T-Peos Popular is similar to the Tank in price and construction, and also uses 8mm dynamic drivers, but delivers a more balanced and neutral sound compared to the warmer, bassier Tank. The less dominant low end actually benefits the Popular, allowing the bass quality to go from great to outstanding. The earphones are still not bass-light by any stretch – bass impact is only a hair below the VSonic VSD1S, for example, and greater than with the Astrotec AM-800 and the dual-driver MOE-SS01. Despite this, bass control is excellent, resulting one of the best bass quality/quantity ratios I’ve heard among budget earphones.

The Popular has a slightly v-shaped overall signature but its midrange doesn’t appear notably recessed – less so than with the VSD1S and especially the VSonic GR02 Bass Edition, for example. There’s no veiling of the midrange, which helps the Popular also achieve fantastic clarity, nearly on par with the MOE-SS01.

At the top, the Popular has a similar character to the Tank, with a treble peak or two resulting in a sound that is a touch harsher than I would like, especially at higher volumes. This is more noticeable with the Popular than the Tank thanks to its less bassy sound signature. It can accentuate sibilance some as well. In comparison, the MOE-SS01 has a slightly less edgy treble character whereas the VSonic GR02 Bass Edition fares similarly to the T-Peos unit.

The Popular is a little more spacious and images better than the bassier Tank, though it still offers only average soundstage depth and is less spacious than the VSonic VSD1S, for example, or the MOE-SS01.

Select Comparisons 

T-Peos Tank (~$40)

These sibling earphones from T-Peos are cut from the same cloth but have distinctive sound signatures. The Tank is warmer and bassier, while the Popular is brighter and sounds more v-shaped. The greater bass quantity of the Tank makes it a little boomy in comparison while the more neutral Popular model is clearer. The treble of the Tank is a little smoother while the Popular is more harsh and splashy, but also more crisp. The soundstage presentations of the two earphones are extremely similar, though the Popular is less congested. Lastly, the Tank also has a bit of driver flex while the Popular seems immune to the phenomenon.

VSonic VSD1S ($50)

VSonic’s VSD1S holds its own against any earphone in the price range, but the T-Peos Popular is remarkably adept at highlighting the its few weaknesses. The VSD1S has a hair more mid-bass presence than the Popular, which give it a warmer tone but also makes its mids sound more recessed and even somewhat veiled. It has a more full-bodied sound while the Popular has an edge in overall clarity but also more presence in the upper midrange and lower treble, which makes it harsher compared to the VSonic unit. The VSD1S is a little more sibilant than the T-Peos and has a wider, more spaced-out presentation.

Astrotec AM-800 ($50)

The AM-800 is a bright, mildly v-shaped earphone that makes a pretty decent signature match for the Popular. It has less bass than the T-Peos unit and sounds a touch more v-shaped courtesy of its brighter treble. The Popular has both greater bass quantity and superior bass depth, with more slam and rumble. The top-end emphasis of the AM-800 seems to enhance its clarity, however, akin to a treble-boost equalizer setting. The Astrotec also has a wider soundstage, sounding more distant, while the Popular is less spacious, but more cohesive.

Fidue A63 ($60)

The A63 is a mid-forward earphone that makes for an interesting contrast to the Popular. Naturally, the mids of the somewhat v-shaped Popular are noticeably recessed in comparison, but the T-Peos also offers less mid-bass, sounding tighter and making the A63 appear somewhat bloated in comparison. The sound of the Popular is brighter, and though its treble is harsher and more splashy, it is a little clearer overall. However, the A63 is warmer more natural from a tonal standpoint, thanks in part to the smoother treble, and has a more spacious and uncongested presentation.

Value (8.5/10) – The Popular is my favorite of the three new dynamic-driver sets from T-Peos (the other two being the Tank and Spider models) thanks to its clearer, more neutral sound. The Popular is also a standout in bass quality, and though its treble can be somewhat harsh, overall performance is very impressive for the price. As with the other T-Peos earphones I’ve tried, it boasts a sturdy construction and is comfortable in the ear—there’s really not much more to ask of an IEM priced below $40.

Pros: Punchy, well-controlled bass and good clarity; compact and comfortable housings; solid construction
Cons: Treble could be smoother; cable can be noisy when worn cord-down

 

The overall ranking has been updated here.

post #13492 of 16803
Joker which earphone is next on your desk to be reviewed?

Thanks
post #13493 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by reihead View Post

Joker which earphone is next on your desk to be reviewed?

Thanks

You can check the first page to get an idea. Joker, listed the IEMS for upcoming reviews at the bottom of that page.

post #13494 of 16803

Joker... did you already review the T-Peos H-300 already? Also if the Noble4 C is a 9.9/10 according to your review, what would you give the universal version? Sorry if you feel this a stupid question.

post #13495 of 16803
I know there are lot of review requests. Is it by any chance possible to include Havi b3 pro 1 to include in your list of upcoming reviews?
post #13496 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynes world View Post

I can't wait for joker to try out the Ostry KC06. With a synergistic source, they are seriously kicking the butt of my vsd1 and vsd1le (not to mention others).

I heard a pair today and they serious are as good as people say.
Edited by svyr - 5/1/14 at 4:55am
post #13497 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by airomjosh View Post
 

You can check the first page to get an idea. Joker, listed the IEMS for upcoming reviews at the bottom of that page.

 

Yeah, but is organized alphabetically, I would like to know which one is next.

post #13498 of 16803
Are the bores the same width? What about Sony hybrids? Too narrow?
post #13499 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynes world View Post
 

 

I can't wait for joker to try out the Ostry KC06. With a synergistic source, they are seriously kicking the butt of my vsd1 and vsd1le (not to mention others).

+1.  Seems like the top <$100 are currently Ostry KC06, Zero Audio Tenore, Havi B3 Pro V1, Zero Audio Singolo.  Tenore thread has a lot of activity recently from new owners.

post #13500 of 16803
Quote:
Originally Posted by reihead View Post
 

 

Yeah, but is organized alphabetically, I would like to know which one is next.

I have a feeling they're gonna be a hybrid IEM from China...:rolleyes:

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 352 IEMs compared (Pump Audio Earphones added 04/03/16 p. 1106)