Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 329 IEMs compared (Tekfusion Twinwoofers added 12/02/14 p. 1008)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 329 IEMs compared (Tekfusion Twinwoofers added 12/02/14 p. 1008) - Page 196

post #2926 of 15275

From all I've seen and heard, the RE262 is not in pre-order, they just didn't update their website. Head-fiers have reported ordering and having them shipped soon after.

post #2927 of 15275

Thanks Eraser - you have just put me back into 'indecisive' mode ;)

 

Seriously, both sound like very good VFM from Joker's descriptions, so it may come down to a coin toss.

post #2928 of 15275
Thread Starter 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anaxilus View Post

I dunno, how about your customs stealing eartime from the other phones?  That's been a big one for me.


My not-so-ideal solution was to put the Miracle in the back of my desk drawer for the time being. The 1964-T makes for a good benchmark and isn't leaps and bounds above top-tier universals.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lazuline View Post

ljokerl's scorecard will probably look something like this:

 

Accessories (4.5/5) - same as er4
Build Quality (4/5) -  slightly lower than er4
Isolation (5/5)  - same as er4
Microphonics (4/5)  - slightly better than er4
Comfort (4.5/5)  - slightly better than er 4 because can be worn up, cable is less bothersome
Sound (9.1/10)  - slightly less detailed then er4, bit warmer overall.
Value (9/10)  - at the amazon ~$100 price, preferable to analytical competitors in the price range for those who want maximum isolation, better build quality, headset functionality, 2 year warranty.


Close, actually. Still a damn good deal in my book.

 

Accessories (4/5)

Build Quality (4/5) 
Isolation (5/5)
Microphonics (4/5) 
Comfort (4/5) 

 

Sound (9/10) 

Value (9/10) 



Quote:

Originally Posted by vinay2070 View Post

 

a) GR07 - The Review is wonderful! Are these a little fun to listen. Is the bass strong enough?


I have no idea what the CX55 sounds like but the GR07 is not a 'fun' earphone. It's a studio monitor. Bass is plentiful for my taste  but not at all enhanced. Also, I hope you realize that Turbine Golds/Coppers come with a lifetime warranty plus a 1-time no questions asked replacement - one of their strongest selling points.

 



Quote:
Originally Posted by vinay2070 View Post

Joker, you need to review the CX55 from deal extreme - http://www.dealextreme.com/p/genuine-sennheiser-cx55-in-ear-stereo-earphone-with-carrying-bag-3-5mm-jack-120cm-cable-34760

 

I got the so called genuine version and they ROCK. Still at 30 hours of break in and the mids getting better, they sounded better than my friends old HD 201. For the 11.xx $ shipped price, they simply ROCK. They may actually land at a good "value" position on your list. My only complain is that the left ear piece is slightly(15%) louder than the right ones. I had ordered one more considering the price ;) Hope that ones fine and genuine too.

 


There are no genuine Sennheiser product on dealextreme. This has been discussed out on the forum a dozen times (which is not to say that the fake ones don't sound good). Also, fake IE8s and my reasons for not reviewing any counterfeit items were discussed a couple of pages back in this thread. 

 

A 15% channel imbalance would bother the crap out of me redface.gif.



Quote:
Originally Posted by NimbleRabit View Post

Thanks for this thread joker, I've been using my Westone 2's for something like half a year now and I'm still happy every time I put them in my ears.  This thread has helped me a ton in finding what I wanted, and I've also pointed countless friends here when they asked me for recommendations.  I might get something new at some point (the westone's are amazing but there is a little something missing in the treble), but right now I just want to reiterate how awesome this thread is and thank you for everything you do here.


Thanks, good to hear!


 
Quote:
Originally Posted by estreeter View Post

Thanks Eraser - you have just put me back into 'indecisive' mode ;)

 

Seriously, both sound like very good VFM from Joker's descriptions, so it may come down to a coin toss.


Ah, the ol' coin toss. Perfect for those difficult decisions.

 

post #2929 of 15275
Just got the MeElectronic M2s Seriously hoping it improves with burn in, absolutely correct in your review where you say that the bass is boomy however I would like to add that the sound is just unbalanced and the bass really just overpowers everything. I would like to add that this is a newer version that comes with a mic and bi flange tips the "45 degree" plug and a clip to reduce microphonics.
post #2930 of 15275

Hi ljokerl, how do you compare sound signature between DBA02 and GR07 (one being BA and another dynamic)? I assume (from your previous post in the last few pages) you consider DBA02 to be more exciting? Why is it so?

 

Have you reviewed TF10 in the past? I'm curious about your feedback on TF10 :)

 

Thanks for your great review as always. Cheers.


Edited by fatthumb - 5/10/11 at 8:36pm
post #2931 of 15275

Joker, can you please tell me which of these are fun sounding and less of analytical?

 

and if you can give a bass rating(loudness/quantity) for each out of 10 (considering eterna / ne700x as 10), that would end my 4 week long search. Expecting your help very much here smile.gif

 

Iam not expecting you to be very accurate here, but just what you can recall from your memory ;)

 

1)Sub 100

 

a) XCape IE -

b) Silver Bullet - 

c) Eterna

d) Ne 700X

 

2)100 to 200

a) GR07 - 

b) Future sonic atrios -

 

3) 200+

a) SM2 - 

b) Turbine copper - 

c) UM2 - 


Edited by vinay2070 - 5/10/11 at 9:25pm
post #2932 of 15275
Thread Starter 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by inarc View Post

Just got the MeElectronic M2s Seriously hoping it improves with burn in, absolutely correct in your review where you say that the bass is boomy however I would like to add that the sound is just unbalanced and the bass really just overpowers everything. I would like to add that this is a newer version that comes with a mic and bi flange tips the "45 degree" plug and a clip to reduce microphonics.


It's a $10 IEM, I really don't know what you expect. MEElec has revised the build and sound of most of their models at some point and I haven't kept up with the M2 revisions. It's not a model for head-fi anyway. The presence of a mic just means it's an M2P and not an M2.

 



Quote:
Originally Posted by fatthumb View Post

Hi ljokerl, how do you compare sound signature between DBA02 and GR07 (one being BA and another dynamic)? I assume (from your previous post in the last few pages) you consider DBA02 to be more exciting? Why is it so?

 

Have you reviewed TF10 in the past? I'm curious about your feedback on TF10 :)

 

Thanks for your great review as always. Cheers.


The signatures aren't too different - it's the presentation of BA vs dynamic where they differ most. The GR07 has slightly better bass extension but the detailing isn't as aggressive and the treble sparkle is diminished somewhat. I generally find analytical BAs to sound more energetic than dynamics and the DBA-02 is no exception. 

 

TF10 is on the to-do list (post #8 of this thread, below the table).

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinay2070 View Post

Joker, can you please tell me which of these are fun sounding and less of analytical?

 

and if you can give a bass rating(loudness/quantity) for each out of 10 (considering eterna / ne700x as 10), that would end my 4 week long search. Expecting your help very much here smile.gif

 

Iam not expecting you to be very accurate here, but just what you can recall from your memory ;)

 

1)Sub 100

 

a) XCape IE -

b) Silver Bullet - 

c) Eterna

d) Ne 700X

 

2)100 to 200

a) GR07 - 

b) Future sonic atrios -

 

3) 200+

a) SM2 - 

b) Turbine copper - 

c) UM2 - 


I don't know about a numeric rating but perhaps I can try to arrange them in order of quantity.

 

Atrio ~ Eterna > NE-700X > Turbine Copper > SM2 > Xcape IE ~ Silver Bullet ~ GR07

 

post #2933 of 15275

Now if only you could review Superlux IEM's.... btw, thanks for your great effort its really helpful. I'm still can't deciding going for Hippo Pearl or MEElectronics M9, I can get both for about $24. Which one have better mids, soundstage, separation and neutrality?

post #2934 of 15275

 

I don't know about a numeric rating but perhaps I can try to arrange them in order of quantity.

 

Atrio ~ Eterna > NE-700X > Turbine Copper > SM2 > Xcape IE ~ Silver Bullet ~ GR07

 

 

Thanks Guru, will read more and get back if I have some doubts.

 

Leaning towards MTPC or above basswise. Mind and heart says MPTC. But let me read/decide between those 4 again.

 

EDIT: After some more reading and googling, I will settle between Eterna/NE 700x/ Copper.

 

Since Eterna is almost unavailable everywhere, its going to be either copper or ne 700x. Hope both of these run well unamped on my clip+

 

Also where can I find the over the ear support for the coppers?monster over the ear wire.JPG


 

 


Edited by vinay2070 - 5/11/11 at 1:15pm
post #2935 of 15275

Hey everyone,

 

You probably have heard this, but I'm amazed by this review and by 200 pages long discussion :)

I've red a lot of it, and founded out how little i know about IEMs. 

 

I'm looking for budget (<30euros) IEMs.

I like clear sound, well with a bit stronger well defined bass. Hate the lack of treble, and i guess mids aren't so problematic :P.

 

Owned Koss spark plug which turned out too have pumped up muddy bass that gave me headaches, at least they had no treble :D. I used them like twice, and I threw them away. After that, I used some budget sonys which were ok.

 

Wanted to buy CX300s, now that i saw this, i think there are better options.

Liked PL21s. PL30s seem a bit big, cant find M9s on ebay.uk

 

Any suggestions? Did something better show up since these reviews were done?

 

Thnx!

 

 

post #2936 of 15275

why dont you order the m9 from meelec site?

post #2937 of 15275

well maybe I will if they turn out to be the best solution. M6 looks like a good choice also. 

 

Any opinions?

 

 

I guess, there were a lot of similar questions somewhere in this 200 pages :P

 

post #2938 of 15275

check this thread

http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/523950/best-earbuds-under-20-maybe-30

post #6 is joker's listing some good options too

 

also check mp4nation.net

they have a preorder of the Brainwavz M1 for $30 instead of $40~$45

 

and maybe you should also check clieos multi-review like joker's

http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/450407/multiple-iem-shootout-v-3


Edited by kanuka - 5/11/11 at 2:55pm
post #2939 of 15275
Thread Starter 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by jipan View Post

Now if only you could review Superlux IEM's.... btw, thanks for your great effort its really helpful. I'm still can't deciding going for Hippo Pearl or MEElectronics M9, I can get both for about $24. Which one have better mids, soundstage, separation and neutrality?


M9 has better soundstaging and separation; the Pearl has better mids and better overall balance.

 



Quote:
Originally Posted by vinay2070 View Post

Also where can I find the over the ear support for the coppers?


I've never seen that before.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by chelle View Post

Hey everyone,

 

You probably have heard this, but I'm amazed by this review and by 200 pages long discussion :)

I've red a lot of it, and founded out how little i know about IEMs. 

 

I'm looking for budget (<30euros) IEMs.

I like clear sound, well with a bit stronger well defined bass. Hate the lack of treble, and i guess mids aren't so problematic :P.

 

Owned Koss spark plug which turned out too have pumped up muddy bass that gave me headaches, at least they had no treble :D. I used them like twice, and I threw them away. After that, I used some budget sonys which were ok.

 

Wanted to buy CX300s, now that i saw this, i think there are better options.

Liked PL21s. PL30s seem a bit big, cant find M9s on ebay.uk

 

Any suggestions? Did something better show up since these reviews were done?

 

Thnx!

 

 


M9 should be available on amazon.co.uk or advancedmp3players. Be warned that it has very powerful bass, though it's not nearly as muddy as a CX300. No lack of treble, ether. 30 Euros can land you a few other decent earphones these days. The MEElec M21 may actually come out around that price with shipping from the US. The Xears XR120Pro retails for 29EUR and is a very impressive performer. The Xears Bullet is a surprisingly good earphone as well despite the low price. The Brainwavz ProAlpha is also worth mentioning.

 

post #2940 of 15275

I'll go for the Coppers as you won't get as much upgraditis. But I'll also consider the Golds though which you may find at a lower price and yet have comparable sound (not one is completely better than the other). 

 

While we are on the topic of Monsters. I think the Coppers have more flex than the Golds because there is less dampering on the nozzle (foam?). I think they're both the same drivers and housing but the dampering is what causes the changes.  I assume this because the HJE900s get more flex without filters and foam. This will also explain the sound differences and performance (efficiency) between the Golds and Coppers (similar sound differences happen to the HJE900s/RE0/Zero) as these are said to use the same drivers. I personally think this is spot on...

 

Oh and for those interested in the Monster Turbine Pearls. They seem to apparently be the regular Monster Turbines in Monster Tubrine Pro-like packaging with a nice white color to boot.....lol (note: they are not in the Pro series). I wouldn't expect any sound differences. 


Edited by Inks - 5/11/11 at 9:37pm
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 329 IEMs compared (Tekfusion Twinwoofers added 12/02/14 p. 1008)