Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 321 IEMs compared (NarMoo S1 added 09/04/14 p. 966)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 321 IEMs compared (NarMoo S1 added 09/04/14 p. 966) - Page 547

post #8191 of 14586
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

 

I know what some of those words mean... 

 

The 122 has good clarity and detail and can be considered bright with the gray filters. Anything beyond that will depend on who you ask. Still, it's a great entry into higher-end portable audio, if more expensive now than a few years ago. I think the MEElec A161P and Ety HF5 have taken its place as the single BAs to go for under $150. 

 

Thanks! This is really helpful stuff. I recommended this to my friends, and hope I can help you raise money for an IE800 (I'm poor already, I'll try though lol). My last question is where you can get the Ety R. HF5 with ACS Tips on Amazon, and how they compare to the PFE122. 

post #8192 of 14586

When shall we se a review of the Apple Earpods? bigsmile_face.gif

post #8193 of 14586
Initial thoughts on the Brainwavz M5: Very Punchy Bass, a bit overwhelming. Definitely energetic midrange and treble, but slightly blurred.
post #8194 of 14586
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobotsEatCookie View Post

 

Thanks! This is really helpful stuff. I recommended this to my friends, and hope I can help you raise money for an IE800 (I'm poor already, I'll try though lol). My last question is where you can get the Ety R. HF5 with ACS Tips on Amazon, and how they compare to the PFE122. 

 

The ACS tips have to be custom-ordered through one of the ACS audiologists. There should be an ACS custom tip voucher in the box when you buy an Ety earphone. 

 

There really isn't a huge performance difference between the HF5 and PFE IMO which is why I think that in many cases the HF5 (or the Fischer/MEElec SBA-03/A161P) is a better value. The Etys are maybe a little warmer while the PFEs (gray filters) are a little brighter and have more forward upper mids and slightly 'fuller' bass. 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christianh View Post

When shall we se a review of the Apple Earpods? bigsmile_face.gif

 

I don't know if those can really be considered IEMs.

post #8195 of 14586

After 2 Hours of Listening: The Midrange is starting to become more accurate and revealing, due to the bass simmering down a bit. The treble is slightly more energetic, but still tamed. The Soundstage opened slightly which is due to the changes just mentioned, along with the clarity. Still a long way to go with this. :)

 

So far: GR06>A151>M5>CC51>SP51


Edited by Niyologist - 9/19/12 at 9:32pm
post #8196 of 14586
Thread Starter 

Added the Philips O'Neill SHO2200 Tread and Klipsch Image S3

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

(3A70) Philips O'Neill Tread SHO2200

Added Sep 2012

 

Details: Sport-oriented earphones from Philips designed for maximum durability
Current Price: $40 from amazon.com (MSRP: $39.99); $50 for SHO2205 with microphone
Specs: Driver: Dynamic | Imp: 16Ω | Sens: 105 dB | Freq: 6-23.5k Hz | Cable: 3.9' L-plug
Nozzle Size: 4mm | Preferred tips: MEElec M6 bi-flanges, Sony Hybrid
Wear Style: Straight down or over-the-ear

Accessories (1/5) - Single-flange silicone tips (3 sizes)
Build Quality (5/5) – The Tread has clearly been designed with extreme durability in mind - the earpieces boast aluminum inner shells protected by a rubber sheath and are said to survive up to 300 lbs of impact. The nozzles are protected by metal filters and the cables - by long, flexible strain reliefs. The Kevlar-reinforced cord is thicker than average and surprisingly tangle-resistant. It is sheathed in cloth below the y-split and features an exceptionally beefy L-plug and rock-solid Y-split
Isolation (3.5/5) - Isolation is good for a dynamic-driver earphone – more than reasonable for the typical daily commute
Microphonics (4/5) – Low when worn cable-down; nearly nonexistent when worn cord-up
Comfort (3/5) – Though it was designed with sports in mind, the Tread is conventional straight-barrel in-ear earphone. The housings are slightly on the heavy side and the stock eartips are a little stiff. Comfort is average but at least the earphones can be worn over-the-ear quite easily due to the flexible strain reliefs and soft cable

Sound (6/10) - Philips has focused mostly on style and durability with the O’Neill line but the sound quality of the Tread is still respectable for the asking price. While the marketing materials promise good bass depth, in reality the Tread puts out mostly mid-bass and suffers from mild low-end roll-off. The low end is punchy, however - impact is about on-par with the similarly-priced Klipsch Image S3 and lags just behind Philips’ cheaper SHE3580 model. The SHE3580 also has better sub-bass presence and sounds fuller and warmer. The MEElectronics M9, on the other hand, also has greater bass quantity but lags behind the Tread in quality, sounding boomy and muddy in comparison.

The midrange of the Tread is clear and prominent. There is more emphasis on the bass but vocals don’t sound too recessed and there is no bass bleeding into the mids. The tone is on the cool side compared to most entry-level sets, which tend to be warm and bassy. Moving up into the treble, the Tread is a touch uneven but not excessively so - the Klipsch Image S3, for example, is harsher and far more sibilant. The Tread also derives some extra intelligibility with vocals from its prominent treble and has decent top-end extension compared to the MEElectronics M9 and Dunu Trident. The presentation is respectable as well – soundstage size is average but the instrument separation is good and the earphones don’t sound congested. The Tread still doest’t sound anywhere near as large and spacious as the Soundmagic E10 but keeps up with the popular mainstream sets in its price bracket.

Value (8/10) – The Philips O’Neill Tread delivers exactly what it promises – a bulletproof construction that puts most earphones – no matter the price – to shame. Passive noise isolation is also good for an in-ear of its type and cable noise is respectably low. There are more comfortable earphones out there and certainly better-sounding ones - the clean, slightly cold sound of the Tread may not appeal to mainstream listeners and won’t win over many audiophiles – but on the whole the Tread is sure to be a success with those who are simply tired of replacing broken earphones.

Pros: Extremely solid construction; low cable noise; decent clarity
Cons: Slightly cold and thin-sounding; sound does not measure up to cheaper SHE3580 model



(3A71) Klipsch Image S3


Added Sep 2012

Details: Younger, less elegant sibling of the popular Image S4
Current Price: $39 from amazon.com (MSRP: $49.99)
Specs: Driver: Dynamic | Imp: 18Ω | Sens: 106 dB | Freq: 12-18k Hz | Cable: 4.2' I-plug
Nozzle Size: 4.5mm | Preferred tips: Klipsch gels

Wear Style: Straight down or over-the-ear

Accessories (3.5/5) - Single-flange (2 sizes) and bi-flange silicone tips; compact zippered carrying case
Build Quality (3.5/5) - Housings are plastic but sturdy and well-relieved on cable entry. No nozzle filter is present and the cable is thin and lacks a cinch
Isolation (3.5/5) – Above average for a dynamic-driver earphone
Microphonics (4/5) – Very low with over-the-ear wear; tolerable otherwise
Comfort (3.5/5) – The angled-nozzle housings are lightweight and unobtrusive, though slightly larger than those of the S4. They also have sharper front edges, which can become uncomfortable for extended wear

Sound (5.9/10) – The Image S3 is reminiscent of the pricier S4 not only cosmetically, but also sonically. Like the design, which is a simplified, cheaper-looking, and less ear-friendly take on the S4, the sound borrows both the positive and not-so-positive traits of the higher-end model.

The S3 is v-shaped in signature, with strong bass and treble. As with the S4, the low end is rarely boomy considering the enhanced bass quantity but lacks some rumble in the sub-bass region. Both the Soundmagic E10 and MEElectronics M9 extend better at the bottom. The cheaper M9 sounds a bit loose next to the S3 but those looking purely for bass ‘slam’ will still be better off with an M9 or Sony XB-series earphone. For quick and punchy bass, the S3 performs rather well.

Bass bleed is minimal but as with the S4 the midrange is somewhat recessed compared to the bass and treble. Clarity is quite above average for the price but note presentation is on the thin side – the Soundmagic E10 sounds significantly fuller and more realistic with its warmer, smoother sound signature. The S3 comes across cold and harsh, in large part due to the peaky treble. As with the S4, the top end can be downright unpleasant at times, with occasional bouts of sibilance and a tendency make drums and snares sound unnecessarily sharp and edgy.

Soundstaging is also average at best – the S3 has a typical in-the-head budget in-ear presentation and lacks depth. The Soundmagic E10 sounds much more spacious and ambient, portraying both width and depth better than the Image S3. Even next to the MEElectronics M9 the S3 sounds a bit compressed and congested, though it is helped along by better resolution and clarity as well as slightly better treble extension.

Value (7/10) – The Klipsch Image S3 boasts good clarity and punchy bass but is let down by the hot treble and mediocre presentation. Like the S4, it is a decent earphone for those looking to stay with a name brand but far from the best-sounding set for the price. In the world outside of retail stores, this “S4 light” has some very stiff competition.

Pros: Good clarity and bass; very low cable noise with cable-up wear; 2-yr warranty
Cons: Treble quality lacking; can be uncomfortable due to sharp housing edges

post #8197 of 14586

image s3 seems to be a bit over paid , its some $30 here . mine is 2 years old , but still one of my fab in low end fire fighting .
 


Edited by suman134 - 9/20/12 at 5:13am
post #8198 of 14586

the oval tips of the s3 are a concern too , it hurts some times . i replaced them with the sony hybrids .


Edited by suman134 - 9/20/12 at 5:12am
post #8199 of 14586

joker, i saw the SHE3580 on your list. no rush as i already have them, but could you make a short comparison with the GR99 ? i'm considering getting a pair

thank you

post #8200 of 14586

Why not the philips SHO2200 and the SHE3580???confused_face.gif


Edited by dustdevil - 9/20/12 at 4:12am
post #8201 of 14586

To all our data-heads: I've had a change of address lately, only across town but my first permanent move since '03, - now that I'm settled in I'll probably upload the updated spreadsheet this weekend. If joker approves, I'd like to merge a new sheet into the same document that contains scores from his portable-full-size reviews...

post #8202 of 14586

Hello, I need recommendation for my first IEM!

 

Who am I?

Final year engineering student. I am aiming for a first class in my degree, and i need music to study efficiently. So, a geek like me need to consider an IEM as below:

 

What is your budget?

$50-$100

 

Are you OK with open ones?

No, I really don't want to disturb the person next to me in the library.. 

 

What equipment will be powering these IEM?

Macbook & My Samsung Omnia 7 (yes, it's a windows phone!) beyersmile.png

 

What format of your music and other sounds will you be putting into these cans?

I listen to anything BUT orchestra, jazz and classics. I enjoy most of the top ten songs in billboard hot 100.

 

Do you plan to use them outside of your home?

Yes! Everywhere i go: grocery shopping, on the way to lecture, in town

 

Describe the sound signature that you are seeking?

I have Sennheiser hd212 Pro and Beats Solo and Studio. I am quite tired of a bassy and muddy headphones. I really want a headphone which can give me good clarity, but with a recognizable bass (but not too much bass like in Beats Studio)

 

To be honest, my favorite one so far is B&W P%, but its too outrageously expensive. frown.gif

 

Other Specifications:

1. Comfortable

2. Good Isolation

 

 

Please help me for my IEM search, and need to ensure that this hard earned cash of mine is well spent. Thanks! :) 

 

Need suggestion on IEM based on my specifications. Would love to get FiiO e5 amp too. thanks :)

post #8203 of 14586
Quote:
Originally Posted by zul56 View Post

Hello, I need recommendation for my first IEM!

 

Who am I?

Final year engineering student. I am aiming for a first class in my degree, and i need music to study efficiently. So, a geek like me need to consider an IEM as below:

 

What is your budget?

$50-$100

 

Are you OK with open ones?

No, I really don't want to disturb the person next to me in the library.. 

 

What equipment will be powering these IEM?

Macbook & My Samsung Omnia 7 (yes, it's a windows phone!) beyersmile.png

 

What format of your music and other sounds will you be putting into these cans?

I listen to anything BUT orchestra, jazz and classics. I enjoy most of the top ten songs in billboard hot 100.

 

Do you plan to use them outside of your home?

Yes! Everywhere i go: grocery shopping, on the way to lecture, in town

 

Describe the sound signature that you are seeking?

I have Sennheiser hd212 Pro and Beats Solo and Studio. I am quite tired of a bassy and muddy headphones. I really want a headphone which can give me good clarity, but with a recognizable bass (but not too much bass like in Beats Studio)

 

To be honest, my favorite one so far is B&W P%, but its too outrageously expensive. frown.gif

 

Other Specifications:

1. Comfortable

2. Good Isolation

 

 

Please help me for my IEM search, and need to ensure that this hard earned cash of mine is well spent. Thanks! :) 

 

Need suggestion on IEM based on my specifications. Would love to get FiiO e5 amp too. thanks :)

 

     you need a ue600 , mc5 , xba-1 ( has a down point of its own , asymmetrical cable ) , but ue 600 its not the best out going phone . get the gr06 , if you can do with the treble . your needs are screaming for a BA phone but BAs rarely comes with strong cable in this price range . hf 5 from ety can be a option if you can up the price a bit . if you dont want bass at all , get the a151 . i think with some care a ue 600 will do what you need . good precise bass , nice clarity , comfort is personal , and has good isolation too .

post #8204 of 14586
Quote:
Originally Posted by zul56 View Post

Hello, I need recommendation for my first IEM!

 

 

rock it sounds R-50

post #8205 of 14586

+1 Rockit R-50

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 321 IEMs compared (NarMoo S1 added 09/04/14 p. 966)