Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 318 IEMs compared (NarMoo R1M added 07/03/14 p. 936)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 318 IEMs compared (NarMoo R1M added 07/03/14 p. 936) - Page 195

post #2911 of 14059

Joker, I've been wondering about this for some time - is there any reason you wait some time before you post new reviews? I keep seeing you reference the Etymotic HF3/5 but when I went back to look at the list of reviews, the HF5 wasn't on the list. I guess it turns out you've listened to them and just haven't posted the review yet. You always have some interesting equipment on your to-do list (currently, IE7, HF3, SE535, SF5Pro, and TF10) so it irks me when you have a review written but not added to the lineup tongue.gif thanks!

post #2912 of 14059
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanuka View Post




does this happen with every earphone?

will rockbox help on that?

not that i really mean to switch but it's good to know...

 

btw. what is "imaging"?

Well, the way stereo sound works is when you get slightly different sounds in each ear, which allows you to distinguish where sounds are coming from, kind of like how having 2 eyes lets you see in 3D... If you switch the channels by swapping sides, you hear the opposite arrangement of what was originally recorded, which can be annoying... This will happen on pretty much any equipment you use, unless it plays in mono...
 

 

post #2913 of 14059
Quote:
Originally Posted by 50an6xy06r6n View Post



Well, the way stereo sound works is when you get slightly different sounds in each ear, which allows you to distinguish where sounds are coming from, kind of like how having 2 eyes lets you see in 3D... If you switch the channels by swapping sides, you hear the opposite arrangement of what was originally recorded, which can be annoying... This will happen on pretty much any equipment you use, unless it plays in mono...
 

 



Yeah, that's pretty much it.  Just annoying when suddenly music sounds different from what you're used to.  It's no huge deal, really, but it's still annoying - it's especially a problem if you're gaming.

 

And not sure if rockbox would fix it, depends on whether or not the firmware lets you swap the channels.

post #2914 of 14059

Ahh scratch that, not important...


Edited by jarrett - 5/9/11 at 7:49pm
post #2915 of 14059

thanks , now its more clear!

post #2916 of 14059
Thread Starter 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aflac View Post

Joker, I've been wondering about this for some time - is there any reason you wait some time before you post new reviews? I keep seeing you reference the Etymotic HF3/5 but when I went back to look at the list of reviews, the HF5 wasn't on the list. I guess it turns out you've listened to them and just haven't posted the review yet. You always have some interesting equipment on your to-do list (currently, IE7, HF3, SE535, SF5Pro, and TF10) so it irks me when you have a review written but not added to the lineup tongue.gif thanks!



Actually there are several standard reasons but the HF3 happens to be a special case. I was waiting for my ACS custom tips which took around 10 weeks to get to me (after I wrote the initial review). 

post #2917 of 14059
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

Actually there are several standard reasons but the HF3 happens to be a special case. I was waiting for my ACS custom tips which took around 10 weeks to get to me (after I wrote the initial review). 


Care to provide those standard reasons? wink.gif

 

And I can understand waiting for the ACS tips to finish a complete review of the HF3, but the general population most likely won't be following in your footsteps. If you already have the review written up, why not post it?

 

EDIT: Please don't read these as accusatory in any way - I couldn't find a way to frame these sentences without sounding aggressive, sorry! I'm not pushing you to release reviews before you think they're fully complete or thorough - I'd just like to understand your thought process regarding the release "schedule" of new reviews. Again, I tend to rely very much on your reviews (on many occasions they've single-handedly pushed me to purchase a new IEM) so I really appreciate what you're doing. I'm not sure if you'll ever get sick of hearing this but I'll probably reiterate it once or twice a month. tongue.gif

 


Edited by Ikarios - 5/9/11 at 10:15pm
post #2918 of 14059
Thread Starter 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aflac View Post

Care to provide those standard reasons? wink.gif


Sure - the most common is that I start a review and get sidetracked before I finish it. I have a good dozen reviews in various states of completion, anywhere from 30-90%. As you probably know, I always give priority to loaner sets and product samples, which usually interrupts ongoing reviews of my own gear. A second reason is selling the headphones - I try not to post reviews of anything I intend to sell prior to selling it. If a sale thread moves slowly, it is likely to delay my ongoing review or even the next one. I also try to do my reviews in waves so that I don't have to adjust too much between consecutive headphones - wave of budget gear, wave of mid-range gear, wave of high-end gear, and so on. If something doesn't fit in with the rest of what I'm reviewing, it will probably be put off. There are probably other reasons I've put something of that I can't think of at the moment but those should be the main ones. 

post #2919 of 14059
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aflac View Post

Care to provide those standard reasons? wink.gif


Sure - the most common is that I start a review and get sidetracked before I finish it. I have a good dozen reviews in various states of completion, anywhere from 30-90%. As you probably know, I always give priority to loaner sets and product samples, which usually interrupts ongoing reviews of my own gear. A second reason is selling the headphones - I try not to post reviews of anything I intend to sell prior to selling it. If a sale thread moves slowly, it is likely to delay my ongoing review or even the next one. I also try to do my reviews in waves so that I don't have to adjust too much between consecutive headphones - wave of budget gear, wave of mid-range gear, wave of high-end gear, and so on. If something doesn't fit in with the rest of what I'm reviewing, it will probably be put off. There are probably other reasons I've put something of that I can't think of at the moment but those should be the main ones. 


I dunno, how about your customs stealing eartime from the other phones?  That's been a big one for me.

 

post #2920 of 14059
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanuka View Post

thanks , now its more clear!



Haha I was actually wondering why the HF5 weren't listed as they are a few years old. I remember how the MC5 were quite deep insertion so they probably don't interest me now.

post #2921 of 14059

There are plenty of other places where you can find reviews of Ety's HF2/HF3/HF5. A good comparison to the ER4P/S was done by Chris Martens a while back in Playback's Earphone Buyers Guide, that is still linked on the front page.

 

quote:

 

hf2 vs. ER-4P
• Etymotic’s hf2 and ER-4P designs are
similarly voiced, though side-by-side
comparisons reveal an upper midrange
region where the ER-4P sounds a little
more prominent than the hf2 does. This
difference underscores the fact that the
ER-4P can resolve low-level sonic details
more effectively than the hf2, but also tends
to make the ER-4P sound a bit bright and/
or bass-shy in comparison to its less costly
sibling. Bass is well controlled in both
earphones, but is a bit more prominent in the
hf2—a difference that I think many listeners
will welcome.


• The ER-4P comes with an even more
extensive range of accessories (especially
eartips) than the hf2 does, but the hf2 offers
the compelling benefit of having headset
functionality, while the ER-4P does not.


• The hf2 does a good job with low-level
details and is one of the clearest sounding
offerings in its price class, but the ER-4P
gives an even more focused and explicit
rendering of subtle musical details (the ER-
4P is quite exceptional in this respect).

 

BOTTOM LINE


The hf2 is a welcome addition to the
Etymotic product range, offering—exactly as
advertized—many of the sonic benefits of the
flagship ER-4P model, but at a lower price
and with the added convenience of headset
functionality. What I think many listeners will
appreciate are the subtle shifts in tonal balance
in the hf2 relative to the ER-4P; namely, the
hf2’s slightly less prominent upper midrange
frequencies and slightly more prominent
bass. These shifts are subtle, not huge, but
together they add up to a sound that conveys
the natural warmth of music in a rich and
welcoming way.

 

 

 

ljokerl's scorecard will probably look something like this:

 

Accessories (4.5/5) - same as er4
Build Quality (4/5) -  slightly lower than er4
Isolation (5/5)  - same as er4
Microphonics (4/5)  - slightly better than er4
Comfort (4.5/5)  - slightly better than er 4 because can be worn up, cable is less bothersome
Sound (9.1/10)  - slightly less detailed then er4, bit warmer overall.
Value (9/10)  - at the amazon ~$100 price, preferable to analytical competitors in the price range for those who want maximum isolation, better build quality, headset functionality, 2 year warranty.

 

Yeesh, reading this thread, some of you need to stop stalking the guy... seriously.

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aflac View Post




Care to provide those standard reasons? wink.gif

 

And I can understand waiting for the ACS tips to finish a complete review of the HF3, but the general population most likely won't be following in your footsteps. If you already have the review written up, why not post it?

 


 

 

post #2922 of 14059


Quote:

Originally Posted by crazedfai View Post

I'm currently using the Denon C551, which I am currently very happy with, and may fit in with your criteria.

The Denon C560 is this year's generation version of that.

 


Thanks for the suggestion :) Checked the reviews and they say its pretty stressful at the high end.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kunlun View Post

Hi, looking at your preference for sound, the new Future Sonics Atrio is perfect (|joker| only had the first version in his review, we are on the third version now with a new driver too so it would have a much higher score). You can get one for $179 and, for you, I would recommend it over the monster turbine pro copper (which also excellently fits your sound preferrence) because the copper has had a few issues with reliability. The copper and atrio both have excellent warranty policies (the copper is the best in the industry), but you don't want to have to ship something back to the U.S., so go with the Atrio. It has the bass and sub-bass, the warm mids and the treble you want. Soundstage with any iem is partly due to recording, fit, etc., and people on head-fi tend not to recognize that. I would say they have about the same soundstage. Comfort and fit should be good either way.

 

Enoy.


I saw the review. These seemed like more analytical than musical. I am looking at more musical earphones, sorry i did not mention that in my first post. I will add these as well in the consideration list.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazuline View Post

Quote:

 

I'm going to give a +1 for the MTPC @ $220 from Amazon. It pretty much hits all your requirements. I got these, and decided to stop looking for my version of "fun" IEMS after living with them for a few weeks. I bought mine refurbished for $100, but if they break out of warranty, I think I'll be getting a new pair. I'm sure I could find something more optimal if I spent more time looking and expand my budget, but I'm starting to get tired of playing the head-fi game. Head-fi is Pokemon. Gotta Catch Em All.

 

1) I'm a bass hater (especially too much midbass)but I occasionally listen to rap/hiphop (i.e. dead prez)... so these are about the maximum amount of bass I can tolerate. I really like subass > midbass on these.

 

2) I wouldn't call it wide, but nothing is particularly forward to my ears (possibly the bass? I mean you can't ignore it), so it's not fatiguing. Then again I'm not particularly treble sensitive so YMMV. They're warmer then my Etys in the mids (which is exactly what I wanted) but give 90% the detail retreival and maybe 93% If I strain to hear it. The detail is there, it's just the smooth nature of the sound kind of hides it a bit.

 

3) I find these remarkably comfortable cable down with small sized Sony Hybrid tips. 4) Build quality should be excellent if you're buying new, they've made a few design improvements. Cable down with the shirt clip I don't get microphonics, but I only use these at home, seated. Isolation is on par with most dynamic IEM. Not enough for public transit (that's Ety territory) but good enough for a Starbucks.


As kunlun says and by the amazon reviews, I see a high failure rate on the turbine series in general(number of reviews to failure ratio). Thats why I put it at the second place in my first post. Waiting for some suggestions on the UM2 as well. :) Iam tired of searching tooo. I never read this much for my engineering exams or interviews :P


Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

Diminishing returns is a well-established concept when it comes to higher-end audio gear and to many people the difference between a decent $250 in-ear and a very good $100 one will be quite small. Is the difference worth $100+? That's up to you. There are also a few high performers in the $150 range you skipped - namely the VSonic GR07 and Radius DDM. With the ones you've selected you seem to be leaning towards the 'bass monster' side of things. The VB has huge subbass and is also fairly hard to find at the moment. The Eterna and NE-700X are two of the most bass-heavy in-ears in that price range. On paper, that doesn't quite seem like what you want. The Silver Bullet and Xcape IE fall more in the realm of 'enhanced bass'. Both are solid earphones for the money. The Copper (and Gold) has maybe a touch more bass but still not as much as an Eterna. The UM2 - I have no idea. It's quite old but a dual BA can sometimes crank out a lot of bass (see Earsonics SM2).
 

 

Joker, thanks for adding the Gr07 to the review list. Only making it more confusing for me to buy :( The reason I had removed the DDM from my reason is that they scored less on the other divisions like comfort/microphonics etc.
 

========================================================================================

 

After 2 more days of Reading :

 

Ok, here let me refine it so that you guys can suggest me better and accurately. Here is what I am looking at:

 

1) Bass of the CX 55 (Review here - http://realdeepsnow.com/?p=430 Please read this review, just 1st 2 paras.) I own this and I expect this much bass. Please assume the bass LEVEL based on that review. They are not very punchy, but bass is loud and undistorted, rumbles fine at low Hz w/o distortion. Its thicker than finer and does not decay very very fast and I like it that way. Am I a basshead?

 

2) Add wide sound stage and details to this CX55 mids which it slightly lacks. Mids should be slightly warm and details sud be there. Sounds should not merge at higher volume.

3) Make the highs clear and extended on the CX55 but not straining.

4) Remove the bad microphonics and thin cables from CX55.

5) I have a small ear canal and still the small sized earbuds of the cx55 were a lil tight fit. So big IEMs are a no no. I think I need to get used to this :)

6) They should be more musical(60%) than analytical(40%) and fun to hear and not boring. (For the sake of getting bored I have ordered the HD595 ;) )

 

So here is the tuned list, based on suggestions from you guys and reviews from joker and amazon. 

 

1)Sub 100

 

a) XCape IE - Has good enough bass as cx55?

b) Silver Bullet - Has good enough bass as cx55?

c) Eterna

d) Ne 700X

 

 

2)100 to 200

a) GR07 - The Review is wonderful! Are these a little fun to listen. Is the bass strong enough?

b) Future sonic atrios -More analytical?

 

 

3) 200+

a) SM2 - IS this still available? I see the V2 is out.

b) Turbine copper - Afraid of high failure rate of turbines :(

c) UM2 - Any suggestions here?

 

 

I have described my preference to the BEST! Now which one do I buy :) Please help me out here. Going to a shop and testing out/sending back is not an option for me.

 

Thanks a ton.

 


Edited by vinay2070 - 5/10/11 at 12:34pm
post #2923 of 14059

Joker, you need to review the CX55 from deal extreme - http://www.dealextreme.com/p/genuine-sennheiser-cx55-in-ear-stereo-earphone-with-carrying-bag-3-5mm-jack-120cm-cable-34760

 

I got the so called genuine version and they ROCK. Still at 30 hours of break in and the mids getting better, they sounded better than my friends old HD 201. For the 11.xx $ shipped price, they simply ROCK. They may actually land at a good "value" position on your list. My only complain is that the left ear piece is slightly(15%) louder than the right ones. I had ordered one more considering the price ;) Hope that ones fine and genuine too.

 

post #2924 of 14059

Thanks for this thread joker, I've been using my Westone 2's for something like half a year now and I'm still happy every time I put them in my ears.  This thread has helped me a ton in finding what I wanted, and I've also pointed countless friends here when they asked me for recommendations.  I might get something new at some point (the westone's are amazing but there is a little something missing in the treble), but right now I just want to reiterate how awesome this thread is and thank you for everything you do here.


Edited by NimbleRabit - 5/10/11 at 4:44pm
post #2925 of 14059

I am currently trying to decide between the RE262 and the q-Jays : its the word 'Preorder' on the Head-Direct site that has me leaning toward the latter. I notice that the asking price for the RE262 seems to have come down drastically since Joker published his review - thats a good thing, but who knows what kind of backlog they have ? q-Jays are increasingly crying out 'Buy me, buy me !'  ;)

 

http://www.wickeddigital.com.au/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=joomlaplates.tpl&product_id=791&category_id=58&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=53

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 318 IEMs compared (NarMoo R1M added 07/03/14 p. 936)