Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 318 IEMs compared (NarMoo R1M added 07/03/14 p. 936)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 318 IEMs compared (NarMoo R1M added 07/03/14 p. 936) - Page 711

post #10651 of 14054
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by justblue View Post

 

Great wink.gif (I thought I could find something cheaper)


The Creative Aurvana In-Ear 3 reminded me of a cheaper, less capable SE530.   

post #10652 of 14054
cool joker - i'll check it out. gotta say that I thought the iq was a nice sounding phone but a pain to fit. didn't like the design at all. but it was easier on the ears than the hyper revealing fi ba ss.
Edited by up late - 6/16/13 at 7:24pm
post #10653 of 14054
Quote:
Originally Posted by AUDIOBREEDER View Post

They ain't discontinued as of June 15 2013.

Look here

http://store.sony.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10551&storeId=10151&langId=-1&productId=8198552921666414113

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorjazz View Post

Sony XBA-3iP was discontinued, could be found for under $100, probably still some around. I like these, do have bass presence requested. I have both the 161 and  the Phonak, really like them both but they aren't strong on bass (the Phonak has different filters that change the sound, gray is neutral, black is supposed to increase the bass, but I haven't tried the black filter). Fit/comfort on the Phonaks are better than any other iem I've tried, though. They disappear.

That's good, I like them...I had read they were being discontinued when the XBA-30 and the other times 10 Sony iem's were released, and it certainly looked that way with the discounted prices on the 3's and others in the line.If they're available at such good prices and NOT discouned, even sweeter.

post #10654 of 14054
Thread Starter 

LG Quadbeat and TDK MT300 reviews below. The post containing Tier 3A still cannot be modified due to a technical issue so the LG Quadbeat review is hosted off-site for now. It can be found here: http://theheadphonelist.com/headphone_review/lg-quadbeat-hss-f420/

 

 



(3A81) LG Quadbeat HSS-F420

Added Jun 2013


Details: Stock headset for several LG smartphones; also sold separately
Current Price: $32 from ebay.com (MSRP: est $35)
Specs: Driver: Dynamic | Imp: 24Ω | Sens: 98 dB | Freq: 20-20k Hz | Cable: 3.9' L-plug
Nozzle Size: 5.5mm | Preferred tips: Generic bi-flanges
Wear Style: Straight down or over-the-ear

Accessories (1/5) - Single-flange (2 sizes) and bi-flange silicone tips
Build Quality (3.5/5) – Much like the Sony MH1C, the Quadbeat utilizes aluminum housings and lightweight, tangle-resistant flat cables. There is a single-button mic and remote on the right-side cable
Isolation (3/5) – Good when well-sealing eartips are used
Microphonics (3.5/5) – Bothersome when worn cable-down but tolerable with over-the-ear wear
Comfort (3.5/5) – The shells of the Quadbeat are on the large side and the nozzles are extremely short. The stock tips are longer than average, designed to offset the issue with the housing shape, but are very soft and don’t provide a great seal for me. Those with small outer ears may have an issue finding a comfortable fit due to the housing shape 

Sound (7.9/10) – The sound of the Quadbeat takes on a slightly v-shaped character with present but not overbearing bass and crisp, bright highs. Overall, it strongly reminds me of the Sunrise Audio Xcited. The low end has good extension and slight mid-bass boost for a punchy, yet clean sound. The Quadbeat lacks the depth and thickness of the Sony MH1C, so it won’t be a good match for those who prefer a fuller, weightier low end. However, its bass competes well with more neutral VSonic VC02, which has slightly less bass quantity.

The midrange of the Quadbeat is clear and detailed, cleaner of bass bleed than the mids of the Philips SHE3580 and Astrotec AM-800, for example. Note thickness is similar to the VSonic VC02 and again lacking some of the fullness of sets like the Sony MH1C and VSonic VSD1.

The treble is energetic, giving the overall tone a slightly bright tilt. Though the VSonic VC02 and VSD1 are slightly more predisposed towards sibilance, the Quadbeat has more overall energy in the upper midrange and lower parts of the treble, which gives it a brighter, slightly splashy sound. Next to the silky-smooth MH1C, it sounds a bit harsh but on its own the treble quality is decent enough. The presentation of the Quadbeat is wide and uncongested, as tends to be the case with other earphones with similar signatures. It is more out-of-the-head than that of the Sony MH1C and even the VSonic VSD1 and retains good separation and imaging.

Value (10/10) – The LG Quadbeat provides a clean and detailed, yet minimally offensive sound with a slightly v-shaped signature. It’s also rather user-friendly, boasting flat cables that are less annoying than those on the Sony MH1C and a universal single-button remote. Not all is ideal - the wide, straight-barrel housings won’t work for all ear shapes and the stock tips may need replacing, but even with the cost of new tips factored in the Quadbeat offers great value for money. It also means that owners of certain LG phones will have to spend a good chunk of change to upgrade from their stock headsets. Whether this is a curse or a blessing, I’m not quite sure.

Pros: Great audio quality
Cons: Wide housings not ideal for small ears; flimsy stock tips


Big thanks to Fernito for the LG Quadbeat loan!

 


 

 

 

(3B39) TDK MT300

 

Added Jun 2013


Details: Entry-level earphone from TDK
Current Price: $24 from amazon.com (MSRP: $29.99)
Specs: Driver: Dynamic | Imp: 16Ω | Sens: 89 dB | Freq: 20-20k Hz | Cable: 3.9' L-plug
Nozzle Size: 4mm | Preferred tips: Sony hybrid
Wear Style: Straight down

Accessories (1/5) - Single-flange silicone tips (3 sizes)
Build Quality (3/5) – The metal housings of the MT300 are solid but the thin, plasticky cable is a reminder of the earphone’s low price
Isolation (3/5) – Good, but limited by the shallow insertion of the earphones
Microphonics (3.5/5) – Tolerable, but the MT300 is difficult to wear cable-up to eliminate cable noise entirely
Comfort (4.5/5) - The small, angled-nozzle housings are lightweight and very comfortable, though wearing the MT300 over-the-ear can be tough.

Sound (5.5/10) – The MT300 is an entry-level earphone with a bass-heavy, consumer-oriented sound. It impresses with the depth and power of its sub-bass response, though there is also mid-bass to match. The bass emphasis of the MT300 gives it a full-bodied, albeit boomy, sound. The Philips SHE3580, which is also rather bass-heavy, keeps its bloat to a minimum due to its thinner, quicker note presentation but the MT300 is not quite so capable, sounding thicker and more bloated.

The weighty low end of the MT300 dominates the sound, producing a veil over the midrange and treble. Comparing the MT300 to the aging MEElectronics M9 reveals a lack of mid-bass bloat - and veiling - with the MEElecs but at the same time shows that the MT300’s mid-bass gives it a warmer, fuller sound with thicker, more natural mids. The midrange of the MT300 is recessed compared to the bass, but not too much so. The mids of the Philips SHE3580, for example, appear more recessed, likely due to its thinner sound and slightly more v-shaped response.

The tone of the MT300 has a dark tilt due to a lack of treble energy. The benefit is a nicely non-fatiguing sound – although the treble is not entirely smooth, its features are masked at lower volumes. It is of better quality than the treble of the MEElec M9 but not nearly as refined as that of the pricier Sony MH1C.

While the MT300 is no MH1C when it comes to presentation, its soundstage is wide for an entry-level set. Size-wise, it is about on-par with the M9 and would probably be even more impressive were it not for the mild congestion resulting from the bass emphasis - something the MH1C manages to do a better job of avoiding. As for the extremely low sensitivity figure in the manufacturer specs of the TDKs, it does not seem to correspond very well to reality in this case – the MT300 reaches high volumes rather easily.

Value (7.5/10) – The TDK MT300 is a capable earphone, performing better than entry-level sets from such big audio brands as Sennheiser and Ultimate Ears. At $25, it is a solid but not entirely outstanding budget earphone that is nonetheless worthy of recommendation due to its pleasant sound, great comfort, and good overall usability. Interestingly, it seems to be pricier and more limited in availability in the US than in Canada, for example, so those outside of the States might find a better deal still in the MT300.

Pros: Good bass response; smooth at reasonable volumes; very comfortable
Cons: Lacks a bit in the way of clarity and bass control


Huge thanks to inline79 for sending in the MT-300 and making this review happen!

post #10655 of 14054
Still churning out the reviews I see joker etysmile.gif I wrote like what, 6? And gave up trying to find new descriptions for the phones I heard D: You could apply for a Guinness World Record for most IEMs ever reviewed by one person I think basshead.gif

The SHE3580 is becoming one of the standards by which almost every budget IEM is measured? tongue.gif (can't say I've been reading all your reviews recently so can't be sure) If you gather every quote you wrote about them in reviews for other IEMs I would think you would quickly finish that review of them. Otherwise it could also be interesting for them to retain the enigma of the omnipresent, always referred to IEMs that no one can ever be sure about very_evil_smiley.gif
post #10656 of 14054
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrequencyBlue View Post

He did state that he is not interested in EQing so dont bother

Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

FrequencyBlue is correct - introducing the EQ as another variable would add more complexity to reviews than I wish to have at this time.

If you found that adding EQ makes it possible for most IEMs to sound like anything you want them to be, I can relate--even with just my ears "measuring" and tweaking the frequency response with Electri-Q I wrote myself into a corner within ten phones eek.gif

Given that you find sub $300 and $1000+ headphones so close at times as is I can imagine the grading nightmare adding EQ would introduce very_evil_smiley.gif
post #10657 of 14054

I'm having a hard time finding a lot of the IEMs in the sub $100 range available still. Is there any that stand out to anyone that are still available online? Many of the ones with 10/10 values I can't find anywhere, they seem to be discontinued :/

 

Thanks.

post #10658 of 14054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alientank View Post

I'm having a hard time finding a lot of the IEMs in the sub $100 range available still. Is there any that stand out to anyone that are still available online? Many of the ones with 10/10 values I can't find anywhere, they seem to be discontinued :/

 

Thanks.

 

RE-400's ?

post #10659 of 14054
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Bloggs View Post

Still churning out the reviews I see joker etysmile.gif I wrote like what, 6? And gave up trying to find new descriptions for the phones I heard D: You could apply for a Guinness World Record for most IEMs ever reviewed by one person I think basshead.gif

The SHE3580 is becoming one of the standards by which almost every budget IEM is measured? tongue.gif (can't say I've been reading all your reviews recently so can't be sure) If you gather every quote you wrote about them in reviews for other IEMs I would think you would quickly finish that review of them. Otherwise it could also be interesting for them to retain the enigma of the omnipresent, always referred to IEMs that no one can ever be sure about very_evil_smiley.gif

 

Pretty much, yes. The SHE3580 is a great pick-up-and-go IEM. I don’t think it sounds quite as good as the MH1C or Quadbeat but it’s close, cheaper, more readily available, and very comfortable. I was hoping to pick up a 3590 to verify that they are identical before posting the 3580 review but haven’t gotten around to it yet. 

 

Do Guinness records require a second trial for verification? tongue.gif

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alientank View Post

I'm having a hard time finding a lot of the IEMs in the sub $100 range available still. Is there any that stand out to anyone that are still available online? Many of the ones with 10/10 values I can't find anywhere, they seem to be discontinued :/

 

Thanks.

 

HiFiMan RE-400, MEElec A161P, Sony MH1C, VSonic VC02, HiSound Crystal. Also the Philips Fidelio S1 (not yet added to this thread). Other sets such as the Etymotic HF5 and FXT90 dip below $100 on occasion on ebay/amazon. The shortened buyer's guide only has sets that are currently available.

post #10660 of 14054

Hi, first of all, THANK YOU JOKER, for this thread and the full earphones shootout.

 

i am looking for budget iems mainly for traveling (bus and subway )

 

in my country all of these are more or less the same price, i cant deside between which one:

 

 

1) philips Shh 3580 ( i dont like the mic but cant finde she 3580 )



2) Philips She3570



3) Panasonic Rp-hje290 ( there is good review on 395, but there are a few good comments on 290/295 , no serius review)



4)Philips Sho 2200 O´neill ( excellent build quality, not that good sound )



5) Philips SHE3575



6) sennheiser Mx 400

 

i think the best two options are the sho2200 and shh3580 , i dont know if i should priorize sound or build quality, actually i coundt find opinion on the build quility over the 3580, if its at least 3.5/5 i think its a no brainer, if its less i dont know :S-

help :D

 

ps: i use sansa clip+ rockbox + 32gb ( i am noob so no eq for now, i plan to learn on the future)

i listen:

 

Punk rock ( bad religion, rise against, nofx, ramones, etc)
Rock (acdc, led zeppeli )
Reggea (bob)
Ska punk (ska-p)

post #10661 of 14054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mops123 View Post

Hi, first of all, THANK YOU JOKER, for this thread and the full earphones shootout.

i am looking for budget iems mainly for traveling (bus and subway )

in my country all of these are more or less the same price, i cant deside between which one:


1) philips Shh 3580 ( i dont like the mic but cant finde she 3580 )




2) Philips She3570




3) Panasonic Rp-hje290 ( there is good review on 395, but there are a few good comments on 290/295 , no serius review)




4)Philips Sho 2200 O´neill ( excellent build quality, not that good sound )




5) Philips SHE3575




6) sennheiser Mx 400

i think the best two options are the sho2200 and shh3580 , i dont know if i should priorize sound or build quality, actually i coundt find opinion on the build quility over the 3580, if its at least 3.5/5 i think its a no brainer, if its less i dont know :S-
help biggrin.gif

ps: i use sansa clip+ rockbox + 32gb ( i am noob so no eq for now, i plan to learn on the future)
i listen:

Punk rock ( bad religion, rise against, nofx, ramones, etc)

Rock (acdc, led zeppeli )

Reggea (bob)

Ska punk (ska-p)

If you're looking for the SHE3580 you can substitute with the SHE3590 or SHE3500. 99% sure that the 3590 is the same thing (even the mic'd 3595 that I own sound exactly the same). Less sure about the 3500, but it looks more well-built than the 3590.

The SHH3580 that I own have less bass than the SHE3580. That can be a good or bad thing depending on how much bass you like. They're the only pair I know of in the SHE3xx00 series that sounds significantly different from the SHE3580 and still I'd say the difference is not big.
post #10662 of 14054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Bloggs View Post


If you're looking for the SHE3580 you can substitute with the SHE3590 or SHE3500. 99% sure that the 3590 is the same thing (even the mic'd 3595 that I own sound exactly the same). Less sure about the 3500, but it looks more well-built than the 3590.

The SHH3580 that I own have less bass than the SHE3580. That can be a good or bad thing depending on how much bass you like. They're the only pair I know of in the SHE3xx00 series that sounds significantly different from the SHE3580 and still I'd say the difference is not big.

i dont have those models in argentina, jsut the ones i posted

i read somewhere that the 3570 was the same as 3580, but i dont know.,

post #10663 of 14054

It would be interesting to see the reviews of the Zero Audio Tenore/Basso and the Vsonic VSD1 on the Buyers list. beerchug.gif

 

Trying my best to wait patiently...

post #10664 of 14054
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mops123 View Post

Hi, first of all, THANK YOU JOKER, for this thread and the full earphones shootout.

 

i am looking for budget iems mainly for traveling (bus and subway )

 

in my country all of these are more or less the same price, i cant deside between which one:

 

 

1) philips Shh 3580 ( i dont like the mic but cant finde she 3580 )



2) Philips She3570



3) Panasonic Rp-hje290 ( there is good review on 395, but there are a few good comments on 290/295 , no serius review)



4)Philips Sho 2200 O´neill ( excellent build quality, not that good sound )



5) Philips SHE3575



6) sennheiser Mx 400

 

i think the best two options are the sho2200 and shh3580 , i dont know if i should priorize sound or build quality, actually i coundt find opinion on the build quility over the 3580, if its at least 3.5/5 i think its a no brainer, if its less i dont know :S-

help :D

 

ps: i use sansa clip+ rockbox + 32gb ( i am noob so no eq for now, i plan to learn on the future)

i listen:

 

Punk rock ( bad religion, rise against, nofx, ramones, etc)
Rock (acdc, led zeppeli )
Reggea (bob)
Ska punk (ska-p)


It look like the SHE3570 is the same thing as the 3580. I'd go for that - I thought the 3580 sounded significantly better than the 2200 no matter the genre. I can live with its construction. For a $15-20 earphone it's fine - it's all plastic and the cables are a little thin but again it's $15. 

 

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by MastermindJapan View Post

It would be interesting to see the reviews of the Zero Audio Tenore/Basso and the Vsonic VSD1 on the Buyers list. beerchug.gif

 

Trying my best to wait patiently...

 

The VSD1 is definitely coming. 

post #10665 of 14054
How does the transparency of the gr07 compare to the similarly priced dual balanced armatures like dba-02 mkii or rockit sounds re-50? I'm considering a replacement just in case my dba-02 (original) breaks down from severe channel imbalance (it's already showing signs of this problem)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 318 IEMs compared (NarMoo R1M added 07/03/14 p. 936)