Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 314 IEMs compared (Olasonic Flat-4 Nami added 04/13/14 p. 894)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Multi-IEM Review - 314 IEMs compared (Olasonic Flat-4 Nami added 04/13/14 p. 894) - Page 695

post #10411 of 13415
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kobetastic View Post

Hey joker,

 

What would you say is a good dac to purchase around $300 that would work well with the GR07 or Westone W2's. Do you think using a dac with these iem's would make a difference in sound quality?

 

Thanks.

 

It depends on your source. A good-quality portable player isn't far behind a good DAC in sound quality and probably not worth upgrading. A (non-Apple) smartphone or sub-par computer sound card, on the other hand, can definitely be worth switching from. I've only tried one new DAC in recent history - the Sunrise Audio Ray. My thoughts can be found here: http://www.head-fi.org/t/660291/short-review-sunrise-audio-ray-excellent-portable-dac-amp

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zelda View Post

sound like a better sounding and better deal than the MC's series?

 

Yeah, I thought so, I wanted to do a full write-up but haven't had the time.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by justblue View Post


Thanks. I can spend up to 170$. M2 are a little bit too bassy compared to more balanced ProAlpha (I like bass, it should be strong but not too much and overwhelming like in SoundMAGIC E10). I would prefer smooth treble and sweet sounding. Recently I've tried Yamaha EPH-100 (I couldn't stand quite harsh high frequency drums like tambourine and its horrible microphonics - except that, they are great). After your last reviews I bought Vsonic R02 Silver in hope they deliver better sound, I'll see. Of course I'm open to your suggestions.

 

Hmm... I didn't get any harshness from the EPH-100 either. It wasn't a smooth as the Tandem (for example) but it wasn't really harsh. I think you should try the R02 Silver and see what you think, then go from there. Might not have enough subbass if the Tandem didn't. I haven't heard the ProAlpha in a while (though I still have my M1 and M2) so the R02 Silver might be a better starting point for an upgrade.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrud View Post

Hi ljoker, Seems that your ear canals a bit tighter than mine...I have enormous ones atsmile.gif!  Resolved this with Meelec big short double flanges - enhanced with some 3M foams. Prefer short  tips , better soundstage IMO.

BTW great reviews! Thanks

 

Wow, that makes them look positively tiny...

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by prakalejas View Post

You are right! I've tested all seals and with only 1 set the sound turn from bad/awful to wonderful and just right for me :-) Never had in-ear headphones and didn't realise, that seals makes most of the sound properties.

THANK YOU for good recommendation and a professional advice.

 


Great, glad they're sounding better beerchug.gif

post #10412 of 13415

Thanks for the informative thread.

 

Just something I wanted to clarify, with the ratings given to each IEM within their respective price sections;

 

are the values standard and linear across the price platforms?

 

For example in the $0-$15, we have (3C21) Monoprice 8320 (MEP-933) rated with a Sound rating of 7.5/10.

 

Would this 7.5 rating be directly comparable to something from the $30-$60 section, for example (3A5) Soundmagic PL50 rated 6.9/10 in terms of sound?

 

Would this mean that The monoprice 8320 has a better sound than the soundmagic PL50?

 

Or are the ratings confined within their own price range?

 

Thanks for the clarification.

post #10413 of 13415
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MastermindJapan View Post

Thanks for the informative thread.

 

Just something I wanted to clarify, with the ratings given to each IEM within their respective price sections;

 

are the values standard and linear across the price platforms?


Yep, it's all the same scale. No discrimination based on price, which is why things like the MEP-933 are such good value (for sound at least, not so much everything else).

post #10414 of 13415

Thanks for the clarification, really helpful!

post #10415 of 13415

I'm a purist at heart; I want to hear what the sound mixer intended for me to hear.  Which type of IEM am I looking for?


Edited by Grayson73 - 5/24/13 at 9:37am
post #10416 of 13415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayson73 View Post

I'm a purist at heart; I want to hear what the sound mixer intended for me to hear.  According to the first page categorizations, which type of IEM am I looking for?

Anything your mixer(s) use, because every headphones/IEMs sounds different from each other, you will never reach the so called "hearing what music musicians intended" unless you use the same equipment as they do- oh wait you even need same ear shape, same brain and maybe even same skull shape because people have different hearing too eh?

 

Anyway, sounds like you are up to some thing with neutral sound signature.


Edited by FrequencyBlue - 5/24/13 at 9:17am
post #10417 of 13415

Is MC5 hard to drive?I would like to use IP5 or IPC+HP-P1 to drive it. 

post #10418 of 13415

The Etymotic MC5 runs great on my Sansa Clip+, I tried using it with an amp but I haven't noticed any improvements in sound when amping it.
 

post #10419 of 13415
Hey Joker, which of the Ety Kids models did you like, the 3 or the 5?

My friend is looking for a model with good clarity and decent soundstage for about $35. The Ety Kids 5 is there which is why I ask. Is there anything you can recommend that is easy to purchase in the US pretty quickly?

Thanks
post #10420 of 13415

What would be the best IEMs for isolation and  comfort under $50? I have never had a pair of IEMs not cause very strong pain from the build up of pressure (both in air pressure to the ear drums and pressure to the outer walls), and they never isolate as much as I want. Sounds actually secondary to all that, but I don't want a painful sound quality if I can... so neutral or laid-back, something to relax to.


Edited by daleb - 5/24/13 at 4:05pm
post #10421 of 13415
Does anyone know if these http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B005EM9KRI/ref=pd_aw_sbs_cps_1?pi=SL500_SS115 are the same as the vsonic gr02 silver that were recently added to this thread? If not what are they?!
post #10422 of 13415
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grayson73 View Post

I'm a purist at heart; I want to hear what the sound mixer intended for me to hear.  Which type of IEM am I looking for?

 

 

Probably something balanced to introduce the least coloration. Etymotic would be a good start.

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by NIVEBL View Post

Is MC5 hard to drive?I would like to use IP5 or IPC+HP-P1 to drive it. 

 

 

No, not really. A portable device should be okay without an amp.  

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by vwinter View Post

Hey Joker, which of the Ety Kids models did you like, the 3 or the 5?

My friend is looking for a model with good clarity and decent soundstage for about $35. The Ety Kids 5 is there which is why I ask. Is there anything you can recommend that is easy to purchase in the US pretty quickly?

Thanks

 

I’m pretty sure the 3 and 5 are the same except for the mic/remote, same as with the HF3/HF5. I can’t say much about the soundstage since I don’t have a pair here but the clarity is great for the price.

I think the VSonic VC02 is available on amazon now as well so that would be another option.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by daleb View Post

What would be the best IEMs for isolation and  comfort under $50? I have never had a pair of IEMs not cause very strong pain from the build up of pressure (both in air pressure to the ear drums and pressure to the outer walls), and they never isolate as much as I want. Sounds actually secondary to all that, but I don't want a painful sound quality if I can... so neutral or laid-back, something to relax to.

 

Comfort is quite subjective but I would go for something sealed with foam tips. If you can’t tolerate a deep insertion, maybe something like a UE500 - it's been hovering at $30 or so on amazon and already comes with some Complys.

 

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by InRainbows View Post

Does anyone know if these http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B005EM9KRI/ref=pd_aw_sbs_cps_1?pi=SL500_SS115 are the same as the vsonic gr02 silver that were recently added to this thread? If not what are they?!

 

 

No. The Silver is a different color and has a different diameter nozzle.

post #10423 of 13415

i just wanted to give you another thank you post for all of your hard work for this thread.  because of you, i've bought a hifiman re262 and an meelec 6.  with your combined review with DavidMahler's flagship reviews i also got a pair of westone 4's.  no questions here, just wanted to say thank you

post #10424 of 13415
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

 

I’m pretty sure the 3 and 5 are the same except for the mic/remote, same as with the HF3/HF5. I can’t say much about the soundstage since I don’t have a pair here but the clarity is great for the price.

I think the VSonic VC02 is available on amazon now as well so that would be another option.

 

 

The VC02 were my "on the other hand" thought but she is unfortunately firm with the $35 lol. I just need to get her past the cute box that says Kids on it when we go to the store. Thanks!

post #10425 of 13415

Is MC5 made in U.S.A?

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Multi-IEM Review - 314 IEMs compared (Olasonic Flat-4 Nami added 04/13/14 p. 894)