Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Authenticity concerns on the SE530PTH I just purchased from ebay
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Authenticity concerns on the SE530PTH I just purchased from ebay

post #1 of 18
Thread Starter 
I just bought these SHURE SE530PTH ISOLATING EARPHONES SE-530 SE530-PTH - eBay (item 270532561310 end time Mar-18-10 12:20:33 PDT) off of ebay and in my naivety I never thought about them not being authentic. Now that I have seen these threads about fake IEM I have concern. I paid 279.99 and the seller guarantees they are real. Should I have concern or do you think I’m ok? I have a pair of real E4c's for reference so I should be able tell if they are fake by listening to them but by then it might be too late!

Regards
Don
post #2 of 18
I've not heard of any reports of fake SE530's but maybe someone could correct me on this.
Looks legit to me.
post #3 of 18
I was always under the assumption that because the housing of the SE530 is not very common (i think it is only shure) that there are no fake. I may be wrong but I remember reading that somewhere here a while back.
post #4 of 18
He is a 100% rated seller, you have very little worry about. What else is there to say? There are no pictures to judge it by or anything like that. IF anything you paid a little bit more than you had to so there is no "too good to be true" factor. You did use the bing.com 8% off cashback right?
post #5 of 18
I saw some article about fake SE 530, but not so sure the source is reliable

There is also warning on the top:

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f103/s...oducts-346885/

I am sorry to tell you if it is authentic, as the ebayer is most likely not be authorized dealer, you would not be granted any repair in case something happens
post #6 of 18
hate to say this since I am chinese... but u ll prolly be fine if the seller aint from china/hk
post #7 of 18
SE530's are fake-able. Some people swapped driver units. Replaced the 3-driver with one dynamic. Same goes for TF.10.
post #8 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3602 View Post
SE530's are fake-able. Some people swapped driver units. Replaced the 3-driver with one dynamic. Same goes for TF.10.
I don't believe there is fake one yet; there were "leaked out" ones, but not fake. As to swap drivers, how did they do that? Do you have a link to it?
post #9 of 18
If you paid PayPal on eBay, you have some protection if they are in fact fake.
post #10 of 18
I have not seen any fake SE530 myself. Most of the problem with SE530 from eBay is warranty. Many of them are gray market product that are not sold by authorized dealers. If you bought one of them then you might have difficulty getting warranty claim when you need it later on.
post #11 of 18
Thread Starter 
Thanks for the reply's they have helped alleviate some of my concern. I should be able to tell if they are fake or not when I listen to them because of my experience with my E4c's.I should be able to tell the difference between a dynamic drive and a B/A. If they don't sound as good or worse out of the box they're fake!

Regards,
Don
post #12 of 18
Thread Starter 
Its also a PTH which I think that would be very hard to mimic...
post #13 of 18
off-topic, but for those that have it... the PTH device itself... is worth it for $40 from amazon? taking IEMs on/off have always been a hassle for me esp since i've always used comply foams (not sure if this will change with my customs)...
post #14 of 18
Thread Starter 
Concerns have been alleviated they sound better than my 3 year E4c's out of the box. But right when I open the shipping box I knew. The packaging is pretty amazing and the Aluminum box is going on my desk at work. I also had a concern about the bass response that a lot of people don't think the se530 has enough lowend and I feared disappointment but I really don't understand what the fuss is about. They have clean bass aplenty with my ZUNE on Electronic EQ listening to "Empty Streets Aurora mix"... Now for some Linkin Park KRAWLING...
post #15 of 18
Well I just bought a pair...hope mine re real as well. Also how long did they take to get to you?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Authenticity concerns on the SE530PTH I just purchased from ebay