Head-Fi.org › Forums › Misc.-Category Forums › Members' Lounge (General Discussion) › Never, ever, EVER buy ANYTHING from 'ebuyhd.com'
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Never, ever, EVER buy ANYTHING from 'ebuyhd.com'

post #1 of 5
Thread Starter 
Why not? They're just a monoprice reseller.

They sell precisely the monoprice product line for the exact same cost. Some of it even comes bearing the monoprice logo.

The difference? Monoprice has a customer service department and a phone number.

I don't know how i got mixed up with these chuckleheads but they've been stringing me along for weeks with a simple return of a defective item. At this point they've given me an RMA number but somehow forgot to tell me where to ship it, and then ignored me the first three times i asked where to ship it and now on the fourth say they need more information on what's wrong with the item.
post #2 of 5
Good to know
post #3 of 5
Thread Starter 
I think i ended up buying my dvi+spdif-to-hdmi converter from these guys because somehow i didn't find it on monoprice.com and somehow they have a higher google page rank than monoprice for some products.

Converter box is brightly emblazoned with the Monoprice logo.

The order confirmation had a phone number in it, which is answered by monoprice, and they can't do anything for me. I think monoprice ought to reconsider whether they should have a reseller system at all.

It's not their fault (or monoprice's fault) that i got a bad unit, but i've been trying to get the stupid thing returned since xmas eve.
post #4 of 5
geez their site even looks like monoprice... just with a different logo/colors and without the bulk discounts
post #5 of 5
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by necropimp View Post
geez their site even looks like monoprice... just with a different logo/colors and without the bulk discounts
It probably *is* monoprice, with a different database login and different CSS. Just another way for monoprice to find customers to buy products - the 'owner' of the website gets a cut of sales, and in return has to handle their own customer service - or just ignore their customers, as it turns out.

My presumption is that it's operated much the same way as Quality Bicycle Products. You'll notice that almost all bike parts web stores (except for nashbar) look almost exactly the same because they're all back-ended on the QBP database.

But you can't order directly from QBP. Closest you can get is ordering from aebike.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Misc.-Category Forums › Members' Lounge (General Discussion) › Never, ever, EVER buy ANYTHING from 'ebuyhd.com'