or Connect
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Shootout: 114 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Xiaomi Mi Headphones added 04/21/2015)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Shootout: 114 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Xiaomi Mi Headphones added 04/21/2015) - Page 45

post #661 of 4545

 



Well the M30 is pretty shallow-fitting so your ears may touch the grilles. If you find that sort of thing painful I'd stay away. 

 

I know I haven't posted the review yet since I've got to sell them but you may want to consider the Ultrasone HFI-450. It's a deep-cup closed can. B&H has it for $69.99. Quite comfortable if you can live with the moderately strong clamping force. Sound is very decent - not ATH-M50 level but better than the M30. Very slightly rolled off on either end and sibilant out of the box but they settle in nicely.

 

I really can't live with the clamping force :( I tried the Sennheiser HD205s once and the clamping force was enough to put me off those. So the ultrasone's are probably out of question if they have any sort of clamping force. My hunt continues for a comfortable full sized can which is around the ear for less than $70-80.

 

Btw- you've made my buy the Brainwavz M1 after the PL30s. I finally ordered them

 

I would've really bought the aurvana live if they were available for the $60 price.
 

post #662 of 4545
Thread Starter 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jozurr View Post

 

 

I really can't live with the clamping force :( I tried the Sennheiser HD205s once and the clamping force was enough to put me off those. So the ultrasone's are probably out of question if they have any sort of clamping force. My hunt continues for a comfortable full sized can which is around the ear for less than $70-80.

 

Btw- you've made my buy the Brainwavz M1 after the PL30s. I finally ordered them

 

I would've really bought the aurvana live if they were available for the $60 price.
 


Yeah, the CAL! would be a good choice but the prices seem to have gone up. Need to change the price in the thread.

 

Congrats on the M1s. I'm sure you'll like them 

post #663 of 4545
Thread Starter 

Added Maxell DHP-II. Thanks to Olimoronio for pointing these out. Very fun set 

post #664 of 4545

I was leaning towards the CAL!, or the D1001, but if these are really as smooth in the treble as you say, I think they'd be a better fit for me. If they're as smooth as my HD212PRO's (if you've heard them), or Philips SHP895 (open-back hd6xx wannabe's), I'm going to pull the trigger.

post #665 of 4545

I took the Maxell's into my local Listen Up audio salon and compared them with various phones. They were all running off the same source and amp and I did my best to level match them. They wiped the floor with the following...

 

Sennheiser HD-515

 

Denon D1001

 

Denon D2000

 

B&W P5

 

 

Not until I got to the Grado's did they start to get some real competition. The Grado's were better but, boy, talk about your diminishing returns! The Maxell's certainly weren't embarrassed by them.  

 

 

Oh and thanks, ljokerl, great review.


Edited by Olimoronio - 8/30/10 at 9:05pm
post #666 of 4545
Thread Starter 

Quote:

Originally Posted by cam94z28 View Post

I was leaning towards the CAL!, or the D1001, but if these are really as smooth in the treble as you say, I think they'd be a better fit for me. If they're as smooth as my HD212PRO's (if you've heard them), or Philips SHP895 (open-back hd6xx wannabe's), I'm going to pull the trigger.


They aren't perfectly flat but the treble manages to be completely inoffensive. I've never heard the HD212Pro or SHP895 so I can't be of much help there. I do still think that the CAL! is the better phone but the DHP-II is easily the better deal, especially now that the CAL! is back to full price.

post #667 of 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

I do still think that the CAL! is the better phone but the DHP-II is easily the better deal, especially now that the CAL! is back to full price.


That's exactly what I was thinking. Unless I can convince myself to try my luck at Dakmart, best bang-for-buck is what I'm looking for.

post #668 of 4545

I got my DHP-II over a year ago from woot for around $25 shipped.  I had a hard time looking for any reviews on them then.

Personally, they don't wow me much.  I prefer IEMs' isolation and a darker sound signature.  Definitely not enough for basshead.

post #669 of 4545

I'll tell you what - I really don't expect anyone to believe me but I heard what I heard and listening to the DHP's and the Denon D1001 and others side by side was something of a revelation.

 

By comparison the Denon's sound dirty over all spectrums and the bass was more sluggish. This was not a subtle difference either.

 

The Sennheiser's sounded muddy like they had a wet blanket over them with a similar sluggish bass.

 

The B&W's just sounded altogether wrong... almost broken which is too bad because they look really nice and are built like a brick s*** house.


Edited by Olimoronio - 8/31/10 at 2:18pm
post #670 of 4545


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olimoronio View Post

I'll tell you what - I really don't expect anyone to believe me but I heard what I heard and listening to the DHP's and the Denon D1001 and others side by side was something of a revelation.

 

By comparison the Denon's sound dirty over all spectrums and the bass was more sluggish. This was not a subtle difference either.

 

The Sennheiser's sounded muddy like they had a wet blanket over them with a similar sluggish bass.

 

The B&W's just sounded altogether wrong... almost broken which is too bad because they look really nice and are built like a brick s*** house.


No argument there.  Things do sound pretty crisp with DHP-II.

I was just saying DHP-II is not really my cup of tea.

post #671 of 4545

I'm just wondering - is the JVC HA-RX700 your cup of tea? I'll say it now that I pretty much can't stand them but I'm just trying to get a feel of where you are coming from.

 

I just picked up an old pair of JVC of HA-G101's and they are far better than the HA-RX700's as are my HA-D350's, HA-D700's and my HA-D990's. Really not hard to find an old pair of JVC's on the cheap that is better IMO. I'll never understand what all the fuss is about.

post #672 of 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olimoronio View Post

I'm just wondering - is the JVC HA-RX700 your cup of tea? I'll say it now that I pretty much can't stand them but I'm just trying to get a feel of where you are coming from.


I am a IEM guy.  Fischer Audio Eterna is my favorite - fun, dark/warm, bassy.

For headphones, I enjoy XB700 - but that sometimes is a little too bassy even for me.

Taste in sound is such a subjective thing....


Edited by jjmai - 8/31/10 at 5:36pm
post #673 of 4545

A very interesting ranking/review, thanks for this as I just discovered it! I wonder how the ATH-ESW9A would fare against the overall top three; it's street price has been around $200 for quite a while now so it would "fit right in". I have the little sister of the second-ranked headphone, the MS300, and I would say that I like it better that the AT but did not get the chance to compare them directly. It's less fatiguing, but less defined as well. The MS 300 has kind of a laid-back, well-balanced sound, more of a lower-mid prominence that the upper-mid forwardness that the ESW9 exhibits. It really sounds a lot like the MS 400, according to ljokersl' apt description on page 1 of this thread. Anyways my wallet is in hiding because I want to hear the HD25-1 II even more now.


Edited by grokit - 9/1/10 at 4:11am
post #674 of 4545
Thread Starter 

Quote:

Originally Posted by grokit View Post

A very interesting ranking/review, thanks for this as I just discovered it! I wonder how the ATH-ESW9A would fare against the overall top three; it's street price has been around $200 for quite a while now so it would "fit right in". I have the little sister of the second-ranked headphone, the MS300, and I would say that I like it better that the AT but did not get the chance to compare them directly. It's less fatiguing, but less defined as well. The MS 300 has kind of a laid-back, well-balanced sound, more of a lower-mid prominence that the upper-mid forwardness that the ESW9 exhibits. It really sounds a lot like the MS 400, according to ljokersl' apt description on page 1 of this thread. Anyways my wallet is in hiding because I want to hear the HD25-1 II even more now.


From how you describe the ATH-ESW9A, I would say the HD25 is more similar to that than it is to the MS300. I remember reading on Phiaton's sponsor forum that the MS400 is slightly bassier and more refined overall than the MS300. In that case, the HD25 is definitely more forward, aggressive, and fatiguing than the MS300 (though you may have guessed from this ranking or my IEM one that I'm willing to be fatigued quite a bit if it means a step up in detail and clarity).

post #675 of 4545

Man, that's a ballsy comment to say that the Maxell's wiped the floor with the AH D2000.  Nice!

 

Not that I disagree with your statement because it's based on your likes and opinion.  I really love my D2000's But more for movies and games than music.  And I certainly don't think it's impossible to say that a 40 dollar headphone could sound better than a 340 dollar headphone.  Take the P5.  I actually prefer my PortaPro's to the P5 any day of the week.  While the PortaPro may not be technically better than the P5, for my tastes I much prefer the sound of the PortaPro.

 

I'll tell you what though, with the good review here and your comment about the Maxell cleaning house on the Denon's I might just take a shot at them to see what the fuss is all about! 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olimoronio View Post

I took the Maxell's into my local Listen Up audio salon and compared them with various phones. They were all running off the same source and amp and I did my best to level match them. They wiped the floor with the following...

 

Sennheiser HD-515

 

Denon D1001

 

Denon D2000

 

B&W P5

 

 

Not until I got to the Grado's did they start to get some real competition. The Grado's were better but, boy, talk about your diminishing returns! The Maxell's certainly weren't embarrassed by them.  

 

 

Oh and thanks, ljokerl, great review.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Shootout: 114 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Xiaomi Mi Headphones added 04/21/2015)