or Connect
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Shootout: 114 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Xiaomi Mi Headphones added 04/21/2015)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Shootout: 114 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Xiaomi Mi Headphones added 04/21/2015) - Page 189

post #2821 of 4545
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by SerJ View Post


Okay, thanks. I think I might just wait and save up for a brand new pair of Sennheisers. Also, I'm still not sure how I feel about Dakmart. It seems like a lot of people have had some bad dealings with them, like on this thread.

 



I've seen that thread. Since I was buying using amazon marketplace, I figured I wouldn't need to deal with their CS anyway.

post #2822 of 4545

joker, excellent writeup on the headphones, massive kudos! 

 

i thoroughly enjoyed the comparison between the HD25s and the PS400s, i lawl'd as my reaction was similar as i have both.  i use the PS400s and am trying to sell the HD25s, the HD25s are awesome but the thicker sounding PS400s keep calling me.  I too was immensely disappointed with the pioneer se-mj71, i had bought the silver ones from the amazon sale earlier last year.  i gave them away, didn't have the heart to ask for money for them.  it just felt wrong, lol.  anyway, well done.

 

rosco

 

 

post #2823 of 4545
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by roscoofyore View Post

joker, excellent writeup on the headphones, massive kudos! 

 

i thoroughly enjoyed the comparison between the HD25s and the PS400s, i lawl'd as my reaction was similar as i have both.  i use the PS400s and am trying to sell the HD25s, the HD25s are awesome but the thicker sounding PS400s keep calling me.  I too was immensely disappointed with the pioneer se-mj71, i had bought the silver ones from the amazon sale earlier last year.  i gave them away, didn't have the heart to ask for money for them.  it just felt wrong, lol.  anyway, well done.

 

rosco

 

 



Thanks, glad you like the Phiatons. Hopefully this thread has stopped someone from buying an MJ71.

post #2824 of 4545

Hi joker,

 

After finding that the TF10's fit is just not for me (gave me a sore spot on the right ear), one of the options I'm considering is to move to a portable headphone. Since I'll be using it for daily commutes on rather noisy buses, etc., isolation is going to be important.

 

How would you rate the isolation of the best isolating portable HPs (HD25, DT-1350, etc.) against a typical IEM? If you were to give them ratings on isolation based on your scale for IEMs, what would they be?

 

Thanks!

post #2825 of 4545
Thread Starter 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by HK-47 View Post

Hi joker,

 

After finding that the TF10's fit is just not for me (gave me a sore spot on the right ear), one of the options I'm considering is to move to a portable headphone. Since I'll be using it for daily commutes on rather noisy buses, etc., isolation is going to be important.

 

How would you rate the isolation of the best isolating portable HPs (HD25, DT-1350, etc.) against a typical IEM? If you were to give them ratings on isolation based on your scale for IEMs, what would they be?

 

Thanks!



In the 3.5-4.0 range for the most isolating portable sets I've tried, probably closer to 3.5. I have no trouble commuting with the HD25, personally.

post #2826 of 4545

That's great to hear. I might end up giving the HD25 a shot. Thanks!

post #2827 of 4545
Mhm I don't know what to make of that.
I own a Superlux 668B and I think it's delivers a dull and cold sound, unworthy of any praise, not even for the low price. Yet the "review" has given them a "Sound (8.25/10)".
I also owned a pair of Grado/Alessandro MS-1i(tuned) which received some appraisal here, while to me, it was nothing but a high pitched ear-eater with no bass worth mentioning.

Now I'm eyeing the Sony MDR-ZX700 and the Creative Aurvana Live!.
Does anyone know if any of these has the liveliness and clarity of my recently diseased Philips SBC HP-1000 with just better/lower bass ?
post #2828 of 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by tailland View Post

Mhm I don't know what to make of that.
I own a Superlux 668B and I think it's delivers a dull and cold sound, unworthy of any praise, not even for the low price. Yet the "review" has given them a "Sound (8.25/10)".
I also owned a pair of Grado/Alessandro MS-1i(tuned) which received some appraisal here, while to me, it was nothing but a high pitched ear-eater with no bass worth mentioning.
Now I'm eyeing the Sony MDR-ZX700 and the Creative Aurvana Live!.
Does anyone know if any of these has the liveliness and clarity of my recently diseased Philips SBC HP-1000 with just better/lower bass ?


What kind of music are you listening to? It could be either that these headphones don't suit the music you listen to, or that you have bad music files that the headphones reveal.

post #2829 of 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by 50an6xy06r6n View Post

What kind of music are you listening to? It could be either that these headphones don't suit the music you listen to, or that you have bad music files that the headphones reveal.
I listen to various stuff .. from DnB over Guitar Rock to classical music, only mp3 192kbit+ or flac.
If the SBC HP-1000 didn't have such a weak low bass segment, I would describe it as the perfect headphone. The clear and almost enthusiastic sound amazed me, haven't heard anything like it before or after; the 668B however is nothing like that, it's rather thin, dull, flat, cold .. that's the way I would describe these; they're NOTHING like the sound described in the reviews.
Edited by TStarGermany - 1/23/12 at 3:45pm
post #2830 of 4545
Thread Starter 

 
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by tailland View Post

I own a Superlux 668B and I think it's delivers a dull and cold sound, unworthy of any praise, not even for the low price. Yet the "review" has given them a "Sound (8.25/10)".
I also owned a pair of Grado/Alessandro MS-1i(tuned) which received some appraisal here, while to me, it was nothing but a high pitched ear-eater with no bass worth mentioning.
Now I'm eyeing the Sony MDR-ZX700 and the Creative Aurvana Live!.
Does anyone know if any of these has the liveliness and clarity of my recently diseased Philips SBC HP-1000 with just better/lower bass ?

 


Quote:
Originally Posted by tailland View Post


I listen to various stuff .. from DnB over Guitar Rock to classical music, only mp3 192kbit+ or flac.
If the SBC HP-1000 didn't have such a weak low bass segment, I would describe it as the perfect headphone. The clear and almost enthusiastic sound amazed me, haven't heard anything like it before or after; the 668B however is nothing like that, it's rather thin, dull, flat, cold .. that's the way I would describe these; they're NOTHING like the sound described in the reviews.



It seems that you are looking for a warm, bassy sound and yet keep buying neutral/analytical headphones. I think you should figure out what you want and then actually take the time to read reviews instead of just glancing at the scores and assuming that the highest number will yield the most suitable sound for your personal tastes. 

 

 

Quote:
 
The drivers Superlux crammed into the 668B are very, very impressive and no sub-$80 headphone I’ve heard before sounds quite this good. The general signature is balanced, crisp, and neutral in tone. The bass not at all exaggerated, instead appearing tight, quick, and accurate. Technically, they extend quite low but bass notes really thin out below 50Hz and the typical bass ‘rumble’ present in many consumer-class headphones is just not there. Those in search of bass that is deep, warm, and/or full-bodied probably won’t be satisfied with the HD668B but if control is the order of the day, the Superluxes perform exceedingly well. Bass texture and detail are also quite good – the Senn HD25-II performs just a little better when it comes to portraying subtle nuances between low notes, but then it is nearly four times the price.

Expectedly, bass bleed is nonexistent and the mids are clear, crisp, and detailed. The clarity of the 668B puts nearly all of the similarly-priced headphones I’ve heard to shame. In terms of balance, the midrange is a touch laid-back compared to something like the HD25, but then the Superluxes are more spacious in general. Like the bass, the midrange is just a touch on the thin side of things and lacks the refinement of my higher-end AKG K601/K701 monitors. However, it is more of a compliment to the HD668B that its overall sound quality is good enough to warrant direct comparisons to the well-established and impossibly refined offerings from AKG. Again, those looking for warmth or lushness probably won’t like the HD668B but as a headphone that tells it like it is, the Superlux is difficult to fault.

On the whole, the Superluxes have a bit of an analytical edge to them. The treble is moderately sparkly and tends to sound a touch cold. There is a very small amount of treble unevenness and a touch of grain that becomes quite apparent next to my AKG K701 or Ultrasone PRO650 but isn’t very noticeable in comparisons with most budget-class sets. Still, the HD668B is not for the treble-sensitive as it does tend to be quite shimmery. Cymbal crashes are energetic and authoritative, which in itself probably won’t be to everyone’s liking. If I had to pick another monitoring phone that renders high notes this way, it would be the Denon DN-HP700, which I like very much. The presentation of the HD668B, on the other hand, is quite straightforward. It is wide-sounding and airy. Depth is lacking in comparison to the width but instrumental separation is quite good and the headphones tend to be fairly transparent. The HD668B doesn’t sound as wide-open as my AKG K601 and K701 do, partly because the dynamic range of the drivers isn’t as great, but again the fact that such comparisons are even possible speaks volumes for the overall sound quality of the Superlux. Expectedly, the 56 Ω impedance does mean that the Superlux likes a bit of power and is slightly less efficient on the whole than Sennheiser’s HD25-1, but it does still play reasonably well out of more powerful portables. The slightly cool tonality of the headphones also causes them to synergize well with warmer sources for a thicker sound that is more ‘audiophile’ than ‘studio monitor’.

 

 

post #2831 of 4545

Personally I don't think headphones should be judged on quality at all using MP3s unless they are 320kbps or close to it. My Phiaton MS400 make everything sound great, but when I hear Youtube, or even 192kbps Pendulum tracks on my Klipsch X10, I feel like throwing them in the trash. Then I put on Amanda Palmer in FLAC and they bring tears to my eyes.
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by tailland View Post


I listen to various stuff .. from DnB over Guitar Rock to classical music, only mp3 192kbit+ or flac.


 

 

post #2832 of 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

 
It seems that you are looking for a warm, bassy sound and yet keep buying neutral/analytical headphones. I think you should figure out what you want and then actually take the time to read reviews instead of just glancing at the scores and assuming that the highest number will yield the most suitable sound for your personal tastes. 
2 things to that.
- While it's true that I appreciate a headphone's ability to produce a lower bass, it's just 1 aspect and I'm not looking for a "bath tub" output. The Philips SBC HP 1000 lacked almost any noteworthy low bass and still the clarity and detail I found to be outstanding throughout the bandwidth it was able to deliver. These made me do some dancing in my armchair.

- I did read the reviews on many of those phones and there's 1 thing I can't quite cope with, how to describe it : Unwanted understatement. There are hints of flaws in the review of the 668B (which I btw bought before I read anything on this website) but there are also always adjectives like "slightly" or "tiny" "abit" that make the flaws look like they're not really worthy mentioning, while in reality they couldn't be stressed enough.

And it begs the question why -when the flaws are recognised by the reviewer- the cans get such a good score. Yes sure, it's all subjective but I really wonder how they score 8.25/10 for someone, while I would give them a 5/10 - at best.

And it's not the only product which I would rate differently, the Alessandro MS1i (even updated as Ms1000) also scored very high, while I would give it a rather mediocre score.

That's a problem for me. It tells me that either my ears/hearing and/or "taste" is completely different from the guy(s) who do the reviewing. It leaves with no option but to randomly try out phones, since the scores have no validity for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilly87 View Post

Personally I don't think headphones should be judged on quality at all using MP3s unless they are 320kbps or close to it. My Phiaton MS400 make everything sound great, but when I hear Youtube, or even 192kbps Pendulum tracks on my Klipsch X10, I feel like throwing them in the trash. Then I put on Amanda Palmer in FLAC and they bring tears to my eyes.
I have a set of "test songs" which I usually play first to get a first glimpse at the capabilities of a headphone and they're all FLACs so that shouldn't be a huge problem. Needless to say the 668 (also) failed them pretty badly.

The most painful test song for the 668B would be "esther ofarim - la vezina catina", my test song for female vocal (along with wind & string instruments).

While the voice somehow passes as "somewhat ok", the instruments and stage are -ruined-. If I hadn't known the instruments playing beforehand, I couldn't recognise them by listening to them with the 668B. It's not possible. The review says "instrumental separation is quite good and the headphones tend to be fairly transparent" - I say the complete opposite : It's an unbearable sauce. I start to wonder if I somehow got a "bad" pair of those ?
Edited by TStarGermany - 1/23/12 at 9:19pm
post #2833 of 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by tailland View Post


2 things to that.
- While it's true that I appreciate a headphone's ability to produce a lower bass, it's just 1 aspect and I'm not looking for a "bath tub" output. The Philips SBC HP 1000 lacked almost any noteworthy low bass and still the clarity and detail I found to be outstanding throughout the bandwidth it was able to deliver. These made me do some dancing in my armchair.
- I did read the reviews on many of those phones and there's 1 thing I can't quite cope with, how to describe it : Unwanted understatement. There are hints of flaws in the review of the 668B (which I btw bought before I read anything on this website) but there are also always adjectives like "slightly" or "tiny" "abit" that make the flaws look like they're not really worthy mentioning, while in reality they couldn't be stressed enough.
And it begs the question why -when the flaws are recognised by the reviewer- the cans get such a good score. Yes sure, it's all subjective but I really wonder how they score 8.25/10 for someone, while I would give them a 5/10 - at best.
And it's not the only product which I would rate differently, the Alessandro MS1i (even updated as Ms1000) also scored very high, while I would give it a rather mediocre score.
That's a problem for me. It tells me that either my ears/hearing and/or "taste" is completely different from the guy(s) who do the reviewing. It leaves with no option but to randomly try out phones, since the scores have no validity for me.
I have a set of "test songs" which I usually play first to get a first glimpse at the capabilities of a headphone and they're all FLACs so that shouldn't be a huge problem. Needless to say the 668 (also) failed them pretty badly.
The most painful test song for the 668B would be "esther ofarim - la vezina catina", my test song for female vocal (along with wind & string instruments).
While the voice somehow passes as "somewhat ok", the instruments and stage are -ruined-. If I hadn't known the instruments playing beforehand, I couldn't recognise them by listening to them with the 668B. It's not possible. It's an unbearable sauce.


After reading more on this site, you will learn that with anyone's review,  it is only one person's opinion. All of this is subjective and what's one person's golden headphone will surely be another person's set of ash trays. :)  This even applies to ultra high end $1000+ gear. And you nailed it on the head - people do have different ears, tastes, perception, hearing, you name it. (eg. what's bassy for you maybe bass-light for others while others might find a headphone thin-sounding when others feel it's just right). I agree that it's good to try different headphones for yourself to figure out what you like. Take reviews with a grain of salt but also, keep a lookout for reviews from people who have similar tastes as you - this will help.

 

Now that you know this, there is no point in arguing about point systems and someone's review. Joker takes out a lot of time and effort to review these headphones to help others. As a reader, you can simply take it or leave it.

 


Edited by roma101 - 1/23/12 at 9:47pm
post #2834 of 4545
Quote:
Originally Posted by roma101 View Post

Now that you know this, there is no point in arguing about point systems and someone's review. Joker takes out a lot of time and effort to review these headphones to help others. As a reader, you can simply take it or leave it.
It wasn't my intention to devalue anything, it was just some sort of eye opener for me that I'm probably incompatible with these reviews so far. I HOPE to be able to read them better in the future or just find someone who hears AND writes like I do, so I can connect to it more easily.
post #2835 of 4545

hey joker ... would you mind putting up the shure srh 440/840 ?? or atleast mention how it stands against the audio technica ath m50 in sound quality and isolation?

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Shootout: 114 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Xiaomi Mi Headphones added 04/21/2015)