or Connect
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Shootout: 114 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Xiaomi Mi Headphones added 04/21/2015)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Shootout: 114 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Xiaomi Mi Headphones added 04/21/2015) - Page 77

post #1141 of 4545

Just want to throw in two quick things, both to faideelah (although joker, you may want to throw this in to your review).  The K81DJ have been replaced by the K518LE.  It's questionable whether the drivers have been changed; I for one don't believe they have been between the models (I don't think that AKG has developed a new driver in many years now, not that that's a bad thing).  So, that means that the only two changes for the K518 are colored earcups, and more importantly, a shorter cord.  I think that they're a little too short, but it will allow you to listen to your headphones with an ipod in your pocket.  So, if you're looking to buy old-stock K81 then get the cord shortened to your liking by someone that knows their way around a soldering iron, but if you just want a short cord, get the K518.  They periodically go down in price.  Amazon had them as cheap as $50, less than 2 months ago.

 

As far as DJ headphones, in general they suggest thumping bass to be able to identify/control your tracks during a set, swiveling cups to be able to quickly hold the headphones up to your ear or pull one ear out to ambient sound, solid isolation (oftentimes through hard clamping), a long enough cord for a DJ to be able to move around the equipment, etc.  With Ultrasone for example, the HFI-580 and DJ1 are identical except for the color and cord length.  So, as was mentioned above, you have to take the "DJ" label with a grain of salt.  The AKG don't have a DJ label anymore, even though besides the cord they're functionally the same.  As a word of warning, they're pretty uncomfortable for long periods, but oh man is the sound worth it.  I actually have them plugged in right now.

post #1142 of 4545

Thanks for the nice detailed post biggrin.gif I am definitely going to buy them as soon as I give up looking for an ATH-ES7 or when the price drops a little bit. The red one looks really nice!
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by shnitz View Post

Just want to throw in two quick things, both to faideelah (although joker, you may want to throw this in to your review).  The K81DJ have been replaced by the K518LE.  It's questionable whether the drivers have been changed; I for one don't believe they have been between the models (I don't think that AKG has developed a new driver in many years now, not that that's a bad thing).  So, that means that the only two changes for the K518 are colored earcups, and more importantly, a shorter cord.  I think that they're a little too short, but it will allow you to listen to your headphones with an ipod in your pocket.  So, if you're looking to buy old-stock K81 then get the cord shortened to your liking by someone that knows their way around a soldering iron, but if you just want a short cord, get the K518.  They periodically go down in price.  Amazon had them as cheap as $50, less than 2 months ago.

 

As far as DJ headphones, in general they suggest thumping bass to be able to identify/control your tracks during a set, swiveling cups to be able to quickly hold the headphones up to your ear or pull one ear out to ambient sound, solid isolation (oftentimes through hard clamping), a long enough cord for a DJ to be able to move around the equipment, etc.  With Ultrasone for example, the HFI-580 and DJ1 are identical except for the color and cord length.  So, as was mentioned above, you have to take the "DJ" label with a grain of salt.  The AKG don't have a DJ label anymore, even though besides the cord they're functionally the same.  As a word of warning, they're pretty uncomfortable for long periods, but oh man is the sound worth it.  I actually have them plugged in right now.

post #1143 of 4545

After reading the part about the Denon DN-HP700 it seems like a very interesting headphone. You mention it needing an amp. What kind of amps do you recommend? Would the iBasso T4 be ok? It is a warmish amp, the HP700 is a coldish headphone if I read your text correct. I got the iBasso for my RE0, so another good question might be, is the HP700 a bass heavier, funner version of the RE0 as a portable DJ headphone, if one could make that comparison?


Edited by s0lar - 12/10/10 at 6:29am
post #1144 of 4545

My DJ friend heard the Denon DN-HP700's and he's absolutely in love. I'll try and find his exact words but it was funny just how enamored with them he was.

post #1145 of 4545

hey i love my HP700's too redface.gif. i just would love them even more with more comfy earpads.

post #1146 of 4545

So that leaves Audio Technica M50 as best overall portable headphone.

post #1147 of 4545

How does Beyerdynamic T50p fit in the picture ? Is Audio Technica really as high end as it gets in the category up to $500 price range ?

post #1148 of 4545
Thread Starter 

Quote:

View Post

Joker, would it be OK with you if i post your photos of the RP15 in amazon? i wrote a small review there because they had only 3 ( 4, 2 and 1 stars...) i felt bad because i really like them. if not, its OK, i would take my own :D, and if yes, thank you.

edit: i did , let me know if take them down, i think i'm taking mines soon anyway


Don't worry about it - my photography isn't good enough for me to care when others use it.

 


Quote:

Originally Posted by Inks View Post

Which of these portables [Studiophile Q40/EP3070/PHX Pro] has the most clearance between the ears and the pad? And would like to know if there's much of a difference between in this regard in these. James uses the JBL reference wireless headphones over the FX700s and was thinking of doing the same with one of these. thanks in advance. 


The PHX Pro but that's partly because it doesn't fit completely around the ear. Also I think you missed a word.

 

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by shnitz View Post

Just want to throw in two quick things, both to faideelah (although joker, you may want to throw this in to your review).  The K81DJ have been replaced by the K518LE.  It's questionable whether the drivers have been changed; I for one don't believe they have been between the models (I don't think that AKG has developed a new driver in many years now, not that that's a bad thing).  So, that means that the only two changes for the K518 are colored earcups, and more importantly, a shorter cord.  I think that they're a little too short, but it will allow you to listen to your headphones with an ipod in your pocket.  So, if you're looking to buy old-stock K81 then get the cord shortened to your liking by someone that knows their way around a soldering iron, but if you just want a short cord, get the K518.  They periodically go down in price.  Amazon had them as cheap as $50, less than 2 months ago.


What about the K518DJ? It was the first of the K518 series that AKG released and the colorful 'LE' models came afterward. I don't think they were trying to move away from the 'DJ' moniker - just differentiating the units by color.

 

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by s0lar View Post

After reading the part about the Denon DN-HP700 it seems like a very interesting headphone. You mention it needing an amp. What kind of amps do you recommend? Would the iBasso T4 be ok? It is a warmish amp, the HP700 is a coldish headphone if I read your text correct. I got the iBasso for my RE0, so another good question might be, is the HP700 a bass heavier, funner version of the RE0 as a portable DJ headphone, if one could make that comparison?

 

The T4 is pretty weak as far as portable amps go but it has the right sound signature. You will probably hear an improvement but not as much as you'd hear with a more powerful amp. The HP700 is a lot more impactful than the RE0 by virtue of having much larger drivers and being able to move more air but it isn't a bass-heavy headphone compared to almost all other DJ sets.

 

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilia7777 View Post

How does Beyerdynamic T50p fit in the picture ? Is Audio Technica really as high end as it gets in the category up to $500 price range ?

 

Not a clue. There are definitely pricier portables than the ESW9 - T50P, B&W P5, even Dre studio Beats - but I haven't tried them.

post #1149 of 4545

Quote:

Originally Posted by ilia7777 View Post

So that leaves Audio Technica M50 as best overall portable headphone.


How do you figure that statement?  First off, there is no "best" when it comes to products, or there wouldn't be so much variety.  The OP, ljokerl, even states that the HD25-1 are his go-to headphone, meaning that he prefers them over the M50, meaning that they must be "better." Everyone has to choose their blend of looks, price, comfort, size, etc. that is right for them.  For example, I would never go with something so big as the M50 for a portable headphone.  In addition to them being too unwieldy to deal with outside of the home, they are $200 at local stores near me, and I don't want to risk damaging something that expensive.  Even online right now, all of the sellers that had these cans for less than $150 are out of stock, like Amazon, B&H, etc.  Plus, wearing these while walking around makes you look like a total goon.  They may be styled nicely, but their size makes you look like a goon.  Plus, even if I didn't mind the size, I would consider headphones that joker has not had a chance to, or has no desire to review, like the Shure 750DJ or Ultrasone HFI-580, so in that respect these two are "better" than the ATH-M50.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

What about the K518DJ? It was the first of the K518 series that AKG released and the colorful 'LE' models came afterward. I don't think they were trying to move away from the 'DJ' moniker - just differentiating the units by color.


I don't mean to argue with you that they aren't DJ headphones.  Rather, I meant to agree that the term is subjective.  When I mentioned you in my post, I meant in relation to the cable statement.  You say that their biggest gripe is the cable length, but anyone buying the headphone today will get the new 1.1m cord (that is actually a bit too short, grrr).

post #1150 of 4545

Shnitz,

 

Ultrasone HFI 580 is as big as AT and as heavy as AT, in fact they have same weight. I wouldn't call my HFI 780 portable. To make things worse they require an amp. Regarding Shure 750 DJ I doubt it sounds better than SRH 840 which I personally didn't like compared to DENON AH-D5000. AH-D5000 is in a different league though, but I just couldn't buy Shures cause Denon sounded so much better.

post #1151 of 4545

Just a note regarding Philips SHP 5401 they are super comfortable, you probably reviewed old version of 5400. 5401 virtually have no grip and no weight, you don't feel them at all on your head. I would rate them 10 out 10 in terms of comfort.

post #1152 of 4545
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilia7777 View Post

Just a note regarding Philips SHP 5401 they are super comfortable, you probably reviewed old version of 5400. 5401 virtually have no grip and no weight, you don't feel them at all on your head. I would rate them 10 out 10 in terms of comfort.



I guess the size/shape of your noggin, amount of wear on the headphones, and the relative comfort benchmark would factor in as well. I didn't think the 5400 was uncomfortable but it doesn't quite disappear the way the PX100 does for me, either.

post #1153 of 4545

Joker you've spoiled us. are you adding more reviews any time soon? I would like to see some openback's perhaps...


Edited by JamesMcProgger - 12/10/10 at 6:25pm
post #1154 of 4545
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesMcProgger View Post

Joker you've spoiled us. are you adding more reviews any time soon? I would like to see some openback's perhaps...



More reviews - yes - but the only open portable I have is the HFI-15G. I haven't finished burning it in yet so it's not even on the agenda at this point. Love the fit of the thing though - it's like the PX100's big brother.

post #1155 of 4545

Joker, I should send you the V-Jays to review. I have a pair and they are not my cup of tea. Maybe I'll send them to you to review and then throw them up on the FS forum afterwards. Let me know if your interested and we will work something out for January.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Shootout: 114 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Xiaomi Mi Headphones added 04/21/2015)