Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Shootout: 113 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Alpha Design Labs ADL H118 added 07/15/14)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Shootout: 113 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Alpha Design Labs ADL H118 added 07/15/14) - Page 75

post #1111 of 4402

How does the Sony MDR-V6 compare to the ATH-ES7 or the Creative Aurvana Live? I'm going to be running it unamped from an iPhone most of the time. I listen to mostly R&B/Hip Hop and some rock, so I'd prefer some bass, but nothing too overwhelming. I'm sort of leaning towards the CAL but the ATH-ES7 looks so nice and shiny :D

post #1112 of 4402
Thread Starter 

Quote:

Originally Posted by tdockweiler View Post

Bought some Kicker HP541 headphones last week. Probably my least favorite $50 headphone I've ever had. Extremely muffled and distant sounding mids and massive bass. Out of the box my pads that had HUGE crease in the earpad and I couldn't fix it. What's cool about these headphones is that the replaceable headphone cable seems to be a standard 3.55mm cable! They're not very comfortable and I hate how they have logos everywhere on them. On the inside fabric and the outside.

 

ljokerl, I've found the KRK KNS-8400 would make a great portable headphone. It's full sized but quite small and extremely comfortable. They need lots of burn-in and the highs can be kind of fatiguing with specific music. They don't have a lot of bass at all though. Even less than the SRH-440. I've found them overall so good that I bought another pair of my favorite SRH-840 to compare them with. BTW you can't possibly review the M50 without also reviewing the SRH-840 and I know you didn't want to hear that regular_smile%20.gif I guess it's not even remotely portable, when the M50 is kind of, but barely.


Interesting... there's a lower-end KNS-6400 as well. Not a lot of bass and fatiguing highs actually sounds like my kind of headphone (Denon DN-HP700, ATH-CK10, etc...).

 


Quote:

Originally Posted by Olimoronio View Post

Meh... OK You Debbie downers got me to cancel my order. Haha Just kidding, it was more all the fuss I read about them on the forum. For one the Yamaha RH5MA I was looking for something a little less well known and for two one guy compared to the Sony MDR-V150's... Yuk. I own those and the 250's and the 300's and only the 300's are tolerable to my ears but still nothing to jump for joy over.

 

James, didn't you say that the Reloop's have a variety of colored pads? I hope so because all I see is the terrible red. I might just get the semi-open Creative's and some beater phone and call it a day. 


The RH5MA was pretty popular around here a while ago. It's one of the reasons I ended up getting the RH10MS blindly (didn't know they were Ultrasone rebrands at that point). I remember the RH5MA being compared to those old dual-driver Rolands (forgot name) that are supposed to sound pretty nice.

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by JamesMcProgger View Post

reloop in 4 colors here this was jokers found btw.

but apparently there are even more in the official web and the RHP-20 looks nice too, but if theye were up tp something good, someone would already discovered them, right?  (or no?)

 But creative might be a safer bet, and they do look better imo.

edit: amazon search "Reloop RPH10 professional Dj Headphones"

 

 

i dont have a full size open headphone btw ... i was thinkiong a while ago between ATH AD700 and Senn 555 or 595, but never made up my mind


The RHP-20 can't have been discovered yet since it's still only available on pre-order (and at $150). I seem to remember a connection between the Reloop RHP-10 and Equation Audio which is what turned me onto them in the first place. The two low-end Equations I've tried have been pretty good. 

BTW I didn't like the AD700 at all when I had it. It's headphone that for me is almost all mids. I've never heard the 555/595 but I'd blindly buy the Senns (555, no point in 595). 

 


Quote:

Originally Posted by Olimoronio View Post


Instead they sent me the iLuv tHP902 Tatz Scarz...

 

675048.jpg

 

 

 

For $12. What the heck???
 

Oh well, I'll take that if that's what they send me. They're $35 on B&H where I ordered them so...

 

Probably sound like crap but we shall see. 


Well at the very least they look pretty comfy as opposed to the other ones.

 


Quote:

Originally Posted by SoSpecial View Post

Ummm. . .

 

This is interesting. . .

 

I wonder who the OEM is for these and I wonder if those sound like my XB500's.


There's no price on the site but I'm guessing it'll cost more than the Sonys and at best sound as good as the XB500 does, which is already not good since the XB500 is not particularly well-suited for gaming.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JamesMcProgger View Post

i just notice the Philips O'Neill Headphones on amazon have this logo:

 

wtf do they do? put them on in doggies to see if they like it and howl to sing along?

 

btw joker you dont mind me (us) talking about stuff in your shootout dont you? biggrin.gif;

 


Guessing it's an attempt at humour. I have the flagship O'Neill "Stretch" (forgot model number) and they are pretty decent headphones. Maybe not the best sonic bang/buck but they have a lot going for them in terms of comfort and durability.

 

And no, I don't mind. If one good find comes out of it I'll be happy.

 

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by faideelah View Post

How does the Sony MDR-V6 compare to the ATH-ES7 or the Creative Aurvana Live? I'm going to be running it unamped from an iPhone most of the time. I listen to mostly R&B/Hip Hop and some rock, so I'd prefer some bass, but nothing too overwhelming. I'm sort of leaning towards the CAL but the ATH-ES7 looks so nice and shiny :D


It's been a very long time since I've heard the MDR-V6 so I can't really comment on it fairly. If you can handle the size of the CAL! I really can't think of a reason to go for the ES7 other than that it looks better. The CAL! is just so much more pleasant in sound and fit (for me at least). Often cheaper, too. Either  works fine with hip/hop but I didn't like the coloration of the ES7 for rock all that much. It's perfectly fine for a portable phone for the money but the CAL! can compete with some full-size cans (since it  pretty much is one).

post #1113 of 4402

^ I just saw that the CAL! does not fold. That pretty much killed it for me. frown.gif I can't find a reputable seller for the ES-7, but that's okay. I'm just going to keep looking for now since I won't have funds for a new set of cans for at least a month.

 

Are there two versions of the ATH-ES7s? Some are shiny while some are not.

41jJKAsbfuL.jpg

 

An example would be that


Edited by faideelah - 12/7/10 at 1:38pm
post #1114 of 4402

Hey joker please help me out here.

 

I was considering buying the creative aurvana live.. but they're at GBP70 in the UK. That's ALOT more than what they cost in the US. An alternate I was considering to those are the JVC HA-RX700 at GBP36. Half the price. How would you compare the two? How much would you rank the HA-RX700 on SQ an comfort (I know you've not done a full review but a tentative number would do too)... Are there any other options I can consider? or are the aurvanas actually double as good as the HA-RX700?

 

Also.. are the RX700 fully circumaural?

 

oh and I find the treble on the KSC-75 a little hot.. and I think I could use some more bass.

 

Thanks alot for such quality reviews.

post #1115 of 4402
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jozurr View Post

Hey joker please help me out here.

 

I was considering buying the creative aurvana live.. but they're at GBP70 in the UK. That's ALOT more than what they cost in the US. An alternate I was considering to those are the JVC HA-RX700 at GBP36. Half the price. How would you compare the two? How much would you rank the HA-RX700 on SQ an comfort (I know you've not done a full review but a tentative number would do too)... Are there any other options I can consider? or are the aurvanas actually double as good as the HA-RX700?

 

Also.. are the RX700 fully circumaural?

 

oh and I find the treble on the KSC-75 a little hot.. and I think I could use some more bass.

 

Thanks alot for such quality reviews.


The RX700 is unquestionably a full-size headphone which is why I never added it to this thread. The RX700 is a little more neutral then the CAL!, with less bass impact and less warmth. It's  not quite as impressive in terms of detail and texture but at half the price I'd be tempted to go for it. I never really thought about but if I had to guess I'd say it ranks about a 7-7.5 on the chart.

 

And yes, it is fully circumaural. It is very, very big but the pads have an oblong cutout rather than a circular one, not that that should be a problem except for those with really large ears. The RX700 is heavier than the CAL! so it's a little less comfortable for long-term listening but not a huge difference. Both get pretty hot after a while.

post #1116 of 4402
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

Quote:

Originally Posted by JamesMcProgger View Post

i just notice the Philips O'Neill Headphones on amazon have this logo:

 

wtf do they do? put them on in doggies to see if they like it and howl to sing along?

 

btw joker you dont mind me (us) talking about stuff in your shootout dont you? biggrin.gif;

 


Guessing it's an attempt at humour. I have the flagship O'Neill "Stretch" (forgot model number) and they are pretty decent headphones. Maybe not the best sonic bang/buck but they have a lot going for them in terms of comfort and durability.

 

And no, I don't mind. If one good find comes out of it I'll be happy.

 

 

Well, that's good to know - I was beginning to wonder this myself. I was thinking about starting a thread titled "Random Thoughts" or something like that but as long as ljokerl doesn't mid I guess I'll stick to this thread. This is my favoritest thread!

 

 

 

 

BTW Looks like I'm getting the little iLuv phones after all. I guess they're all called Tats Scars. Should have entered the model number. Oh well...


Edited by Olimoronio - 12/7/10 at 3:39pm
post #1117 of 4402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jozurr View Post

Hey joker please help me out here.

 

I was considering buying the creative aurvana live.. but they're at GBP70 in the UK. That's ALOT more than what they cost in the US. An alternate I was considering to those are the JVC HA-RX700 at GBP36. Half the price. How would you compare the two? How much would you rank the HA-RX700 on SQ an comfort (I know you've not done a full review but a tentative number would do too)... Are there any other options I can consider? or are the aurvanas actually double as good as the HA-RX700?

 

Also.. are the RX700 fully circumaural?

 

oh and I find the treble on the KSC-75 a little hot.. and I think I could use some more bass.

 

Thanks alot for such qualityv reviews.

 

If you do get the RX700's and find the bass too boomy put velour pads on them... Trust me - I did all of the recommended mods and none of them helped the crappy bass much at all. The velour pads cleaned up the bass very nicely. I could actually listen to them without wincing after doing this mod.

post #1118 of 4402

Hello everyone.

Help me out here, Equation RP21 or 22x? since Im liking the RP15 so much look/sound (which i got thanks to joker and this thread, thanks!) i though of getting on of its bigger brothers. if they sound alike and have bigger/deeper  cups, i'd be happy. some soundstage would be appreciated too. And the price difference is only 10$.

 

 

Hello Olimoronio, where can i buy such velour pads you speak of? and how can i make sure they will fit in a specific phone. ie denon HP700?

 


Edited by JamesMcProgger - 12/7/10 at 6:31pm
post #1119 of 4402
Thread Starter 


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesMcProgger View Post

Hello everyone.

Help me out here, Equation RP21 or 22x? since Im liking the RP15 so much look/sound (which i got thanks to joker and this thread, thanks!) i though of getting on of its bigger brothers. if they sound alike and have bigger/deeper  cups, i'd be happy. some soundstage would be appreciated too. And the price difference is only 10$.

 


There was a review somewhere of all three Equation models - might be of some help. I've only heard the RP15 and the EP3070. 

 

Stumbled on these yesterday - budget portables from Cresyn (Phiaton's parent company) - the Cresyn CS-HP500:

 

hp500red.jpg

 

They seem very similar to the Denon P372s in construction - same folding mechanism, etc. They retail for around $40 but the red ones don't seem to be available in the US. There's an open-box white one on ebay though. Potentially a good buy. There's also an open-box K99. Must resist...

post #1120 of 4402
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljokerl View Post

There was a review somewhere of all three Equation models - might be of some help. I've only heard the RP15 and the EP3070. 

 

Stumbled on these yesterday - budget portables from Cresyn (Phiaton's parent company) - the Cresyn CS-HP500:

 

They seem very similar to the Denon P372s in construction - same folding mechanism, etc. They retail for around $40 but the red ones don't seem to be available in the US. There's an open-box white one on ebay though. Potentially a good buy. There's also an open-box K99. Must resist...


Found it, thanks!

20$ for the Cresyn

34$ for the k99 (i was considering one of this not so long ago ...)  must fight temptation

 

 

why do you do this to me? biggrin.gif

 

post #1121 of 4402
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesMcProgger View Post

Hello everyone.

Help me out here, Equation RP21 or 22x? since Im liking the RP15 so much look/sound (which i got thanks to joker and this thread, thanks!) i though of getting on of its bigger brothers. if they sound alike and have bigger/deeper  cups, i'd be happy. some soundstage would be appreciated too. And the price difference is only 10$.

 

 

Hello Olimoronio, where can i buy such velour pads you speak of? and how can i make sure they will fit in a specific phone. ie denon HP700?

 


Why? Are they boomy?

 

 

 

BTW J&R cancelled my order for the Cortex's... freaking fraking J&R!!! Grrr...

 

Anyways, I reordered them at DJDeals.com for $1 more.

 

 

 

Oh, and I ordered these badboys...

 

Creative_HQ_1600_and_HQ_1450_headphones.jpg

 

 

They were just too purdy for me to resist.

 

One thing that put me off on these - if you Google them there's like a thousand press releases about them yet not one mention on Head-Fi. Why? Are Creative's generally thought of as crap except for the CAL!'s?
 

post #1122 of 4402

hey joker, I recommend you change the title to include the word 'reviewed' e.g. 'Shootout: 59 Portable Headphones Compared and Reviewed' as well as it'll garner more search engine hits = only a good thing. I'd rather have you high on the search list than damn CNET reviews. Also, I may send you some Audio Technica EQ330's to review post-Xmas..things are a bit crazy as you know mailing wise this time of year.


Edited by chinesekiwi - 12/8/10 at 4:47am
post #1123 of 4402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olimoronio View Post

 

Why? Are they boomy?

The leather is hard and my ears might be too big to fit in as circumaural, so the edges of the pad presses my ears,and its the only con, cant complain about the sound.

 

and there isnt any review about those creative because ... you are the one destined to discover those monster killers! and let us all know how awesome they are! cool.gif


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by chinesekiwi View Post

hey joker, I recommend you change the title to include the word 'reviewed' e.g. 'Shootout: 59 Portable Headphones Compared and Reviewed' as well as it'll garner more search engine hits = only a good thing. I'd rather have you high on the search list than damn CNET reviews. Also, I may send you some Audio Technica EQ330's to review post-Xmas..things are a bit crazy as you know mailing wise this time of year.


I recommend to put the word SEX in it, it'll gather way more search engine hits eek.gif

biggrin.gif

post #1124 of 4402
Thread Starter 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Olimoronio View Post

 

One thing that put me off on these - if you Google them there's like a thousand press releases about them yet not one mention on Head-Fi. Why? Are Creative's generally thought of as crap except for the CAL!'s?


Well they haven't been around very long and pre-release hype is very rare for entry-level products around here.

 

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by chinesekiwi View Post

hey joker, I recommend you change the title to include the word 'reviewed' e.g. 'Shootout: 59 Portable Headphones Compared and Reviewed' as well as it'll garner more search engine hits = only a good thing. I'd rather have you high on the search list than damn CNET reviews. Also, I may send you some Audio Technica EQ330's to review post-Xmas..things are a bit crazy as you know mailing wise this time of year.


Ha, that's a good idea, thanks - shows my lack of foresight back when I started this thread. It was never meant to have more than 6 headphones! 

 

Has anyone else completely given up on even trying to keep track of all of Audio-Technica's model lines or is it just me? 

 


Quote:

Originally Posted by JamesMcProgger View Post

I recommend to put the word SEX in it, it'll gather way more search engine hits eek.gif

biggrin.gif



Then this thread will have a lot of angry, disappointed people teenagers stumbling on it via google all the time biggrin.gif

post #1125 of 4402

How long do headphones last compared to IEMs? Every pair of IEMs i owned(<$40) has broken on me within 9 months. I'm trying to get a decent pair of phones without it crapping out on me. Also, how do the AKG K81DJs compare to the ATH-ES7 in terms of portability/sound/price? The one downside I already see for the K81DJs are the long cord, although everything else seems like its a step better than the ES7 according to your review


Edited by faideelah - 12/8/10 at 11:32pm
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Shootout: 113 Portable Headphones Reviewed (Alpha Design Labs ADL H118 added 07/15/14)