Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › ATH-ES7 Buyer's Guide or How (and Where) to Avoid Fakes.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

ATH-ES7 Buyer's Guide or How (and Where) to Avoid Fakes. - Page 10

post #136 of 141

I bought mine from this shop:

 

http://www.best-heaphones-shop.com

 

Website looked authentic to me and I thought they were located in France so I bought it there (€109). Well turned out they were fake, so put this one on the black list.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by ka-boom View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakydrew View Post
my off specific topic question is, is there any headphone/amp gear on ebay that is legit?
No. Absolutely not. Every piece of headphone/amp gear on ebay is fake.

*rolls eyes*

Come on now, do you have to ask something like that? There are probably hundreds of thousands of audio gear vendors on ebay. Some good, some bad. You can't possibly think ALL of them are bad, do you?

Look at the price of the item, look at the seller's feedback, look at the pictures closely, etc. Use some common sense. If something is "too good to be true" than it probably is.

If you are so worried about fake stuff on ebay, why even bother with Ebay when I (and others above me) have listed legitimate distributor sites to buy from?


Seller is located in Hong Kong, don't bet on it being real.

Gear mentioned in this thread:

post #137 of 141

http://www.accessoryjack.com/-strse-152/Audio-dsh-Technica-ATH-dsh-ES7-ES7-Portable/Detail.bok

 

Do you people reckon these are legitimate? Pictures and pricing seems good.

 

Later edit: d'oh, didn't search; thread here says they're legit: http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/515360/accessory-jack-com


Edited by tvararu - 8/3/11 at 2:51pm
post #138 of 141

Hi all,

          First time i have posted on here,sorry to drag this subject up again but just a quick bit of advice needed. Looking to buy some ath-es7's and have found them on tribaluk.com for 130 quid. I haven't used this site before and was wondering if anyone could offer any info on this. Also found some on Amazon the seller turns out to be tribaluk again, while i appreciate that you can't be 100% safe from fakes does anyone know if this site is legitimate? i'm quite tempted to play it safe and go for some ath-es55's which i can get at my local richier sounds. Would there be a huge difference in sound between the two models?

Thanks

Sismily_headphones1.gif

 

post #139 of 141

20120312_145513-1800547724.jpg

 

The best way to tell a fake is to look at the drivers,

 

because you want to be sure your real versions havent been swapped on inside with the fake drivers.

 

I have three es7 and all real.

 

Look on inside. You should see four RECESSED screws and a single white tape around.

 

Also you will see that on each of my 3 real headphones,

 

The LEFT driver has a small taped number applied...

 

Then you know you have the real deal, AND to BE SHURE, you can open further (dont have to) by unscrewing four screws.

 

Inside you should ONLY find a round yellowish fibeglass looking material, cut in a flat circle.

 

You should NOT see any other material like 3m tape or anything else...

 

Remember only the real drivers have a numbered sticker on the left side.

 

 

Edit: The plastic edge with the number is actually where driver sits and fake ones have different plastic setting and without the fiberglass in back of the driver.

 

Also from what I have seen the fakes are not black grilled and do not have green color in voice coil area.

 

 

 

Also new es7 will sound slightly different than a used one.

 

The mids  slightly constricted & highs slightly sizzly but not harsh, untill broken in a few days.

 

 


Edited by Maxx134 - 3/12/12 at 12:26pm
post #140 of 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by foo-fighter View Post
... i'm quite tempted to play it safe and go for some ath-es55's which i can get at my local richier sounds. Would there be a huge difference in sound between the two models?

Thanks

Sismily_headphones1.gif

 


Sorry but from what I have read elsewhere, the es55 are not in the es7 & es9 league.

Its a step down, not that it's bad, as they are smaller and lighter so more portable.

 I have posted some more conclusions about the es7 sound here

post #141 of 141

I bought mine from ebay for $71 AUD and luckily they are real by comparing to the pics on the first page


Edited by Dusky - 4/23/12 at 4:57am
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Gear mentioned in this thread:

Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › ATH-ES7 Buyer's Guide or How (and Where) to Avoid Fakes.