Head-Fi.org › Forums › Misc.-Category Forums › Members' Lounge (General Discussion) › Too much coincidence to be true...
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Too much coincidence to be true... - Page 18

post #256 of 298
post #257 of 298
Yeah, better stay clear of this scumbag!
post #258 of 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiofiler View Post
Oh, wow.

I was doing Google image searches for a headphone that I got around Christmas and this came up in my search (it is now a Google cache so I hope you can still see): Grado hp2 headphone with latest standard cable - eBay (item 320327310250 end time Jan-23-09 04:08:39 PST)

I was having trouble identifying my headphones so I bookmarked that ebay ad for the pics and since then, it has changed 3 times (same ebay item#, but 3 different items). I thought it was weird because originally, the auction was for an HP-2. Then, I went back to the link and it became a $600 amplifier or something. Now as Audiofiler pointed out, it's a GS-1000.
post #259 of 298
Weird. He's been known to cancel auctions before they end, but I haven't seen him be able to re-use an eBay auction #320327310250 - it sure looks like that happened somehow.
post #260 of 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by christine View Post
Oh, wow.

I was doing Google image searches for a headphone that I got around Christmas and this came up in my search (it is now a Google cache so I hope you can still see): Grado hp2 headphone with latest standard cable - eBay (item 320327310250 end time Jan-23-09 04:08:39 PST)

I was having trouble identifying my headphones so I bookmarked that ebay ad for the pics and since then, it has changed 3 times (same ebay item#, but 3 different items). I thought it was weird because originally, the auction was for an HP-2. Then, I went back to the link and it became a $600 amplifier or something. Now as Audiofiler pointed out, it's a GS-1000.
I thought it weird too when I checked his HP2 auction and instead it linked to another item altogether. It was changed to a DAC/Amp and the listing days was 19 remaining or similar.

I would not buy anything from this guy, watch out.

Also, it is curious because the prices he sets and audience he is targeting specifically is audiophiles and with most items probably HeadFier's. And he has been ousted by this forum for numerous prior offenses and no one wants to deal with him anymore.
post #261 of 298
Watch out, he is at it again.
HP-2 Link
post #262 of 298
post #263 of 298
That Qualia looks very familiar.
post #264 of 298
Pretty sure it's from this link here, since it has the balanced cable, the medium headband and the same extra 2 sets of blue earpads.

The seller should disclose who bought it from him so we know what nick he is using now.
Damn, just looking at his sales pitches in broken English annoys me.

"No custom fee or tax for worldwide shipment"

So he works for the government or something now and can guarantee that?
I bet that if the buyer gets stuck with some sort of customs fee on that $5000, he would never hear from the seller again after getting the cash safe in his hands.

Wouldn't be surprised if he got a deal on it and is now flipping them for 500-1000 USD extra after a few weeks.
post #265 of 298
.
post #266 of 298
$5000 for Qualia's!? This guy is a piece of sh..work.
post #267 of 298
Wow that's horrible. I thought there was something off about those hp2's. Was actually thinking about purchasing them or the ps1's on auction earlier today.
post #268 of 298
OK GUYS...HE'S BACK IN OUR COMMUNITY! His current username is FFT. His real name is TAI and he lives in Berkeley and also southern California. If you have an individual by this name contacting you please do not do business with him.

I discovered today his current listing on Audiogon for a pair of HP-1000's: http://www.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls....hone-with-juhb

He purchased these here for $1500 just last week from a very kind and generous head-fier. I'm really sick and tired of seeing him take advantage of nice people like this: http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f10/sa...r-sold-401789/

Now he's doing his usual "add a couple of hundred dollars" on the top and sell within a week routine.

I'll be sending a PM to mbriant in the next few minutes and will have this new ID added to his prolific ban list.

I will also be creating a separate thread devoted to exposing his real name in hopes that it gets stickied at the top of the for sale forums. We need this plague virus flipper permanently out of our community.

I hope you will all help me in this matter. Thank you very much.
post #269 of 298
The headphone sounds excellently.
post #270 of 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by troymadison View Post
The headphone sounds excellently.
Don't you love how he just makes stuff up in every one of his listings?

From his audiogon listing:

there are around 500 hp-2 made. However, most of them had the letters worn. Right now I guess only around 50 HP-2 still has all the letters

First off there were 1000 HP-1000's made and the majority were HP2's. That information is clearly available to anyone that reads Zanth's awesome "Interview with John Grado" thread. Then he makes the absurd "guess" that only around 50 out of the 1000 still have all the red lettering.

This guy is such a no ethics and morals having liar, and that type really gets under my skin. As you'll may have already noticed.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Misc.-Category Forums › Members' Lounge (General Discussion) › Too much coincidence to be true...