Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Headphones (full-size) › "Non-Authorized Dealers?"
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

"Non-Authorized Dealers?"

post #1 of 13
Thread Starter 
Sorry if this has been covered but what is the risk in buying from one?

I know many of the Amazon dealers are typically not authorized dealers but if you are buying "new"....does it even matter? The prices are incredible. And if something went wrong with the product the manufacturer will fix it anyway, right? Heck they don't even ask where you bought them from.

A friend of mine is buying some ER-4P's. Earphone Solutions use to sell for $180 but it seems they don't carry them anymore. Headroom wants $250 but some Amazon dealers are selling them for $160??
post #2 of 13
Etymotic will honor the warranty no matter where you buy it from. I have asked this question to them repeatedly. In fact, they do not even ask where you purchased your headphone.
post #3 of 13
Thread Starter 
Looks like J & R also sells them for $179.

They seem to have a good reputation around here.
post #4 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyro View Post
Looks like J & R also sells them for $179.

They seem to have a good reputation around here.
Speacially with the empty boxes of HD650's.....
post #5 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sovkiller View Post
Speacially with the empty boxes of HD650's.....
??????

I bought my HD650 from J&R. I paid $300 for them shipped. And I also bought my HD580 from them for $85 shipped. Everything was fresh and new. J&R is one of the best stores I have dealt with. Their salesmen are sleazy car salesmen...that's the only negative.
post #6 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJGeorgeT View Post
??????

I bought my HD650 from J&R. I paid $300 for them shipped. And I also bought my HD580 from them for $85 shipped. Everything was fresh and new. J&R is one of the best stores I have dealt with. Their salesmen are sleazy car salesmen...that's the only negative.
I have purchased from them a few times with no problems, but it is true also that a few headfiers complained that they purchased a few HD650's and the boxes came empty, they were investigating the case and it seems that it was an internal problem, but that happen a few times, that was why my sarcasm...but they are indeed a very reputable online store...
post #7 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sovkiller View Post
I have purchased from them a few times with no problems, but it is true also that a few headfiers complained that they purchased a few HD650's and the boxes came empty, they were investigating the case and it seems that it was an internal problem, but that happen a few times, that was why my sarcasm...but they are indeed a very reputable online store...
I can see why that would be a problem for Santa
post #8 of 13
usually it means they are selling non-us merchandise.

i think this is what goes on with senn 280s...all authorized sell at like 90...non authorized at 70.

i got a non authorized and im guessing its gray market as everything is basically in german, with english secondary.

w/e i got it new for the price i wanted...im happy!
post #9 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaseD13 View Post
usually it means they are selling non-us merchandise.

i think this is what goes on with senn 280s...all authorized sell at like 90...non authorized at 70.

i got a non authorized and im guessing its gray market as everything is basically in german, with english secondary.

w/e i got it new for the price i wanted...im happy!
I have been buying at J&R for 15 years and there has never been a bad experience.
post #10 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJGeorgeT View Post
I have been buying at J&R for 15 years and there has never been a bad experience.

I think that he was talking about the OP question of the non authorized dealers, and not from JandR
post #11 of 13
Thread Starter 
Jeez.....

http://www2.buydig.com/shop/product....R4P&sku=ERER4P

$159....Brand New...USA Warranty....Free Shipping!

Is Buydig.com okay?

Makes you wonder what the true mark-up is? I work literally 6 blocks from Ety headquarters and inquired about buying direct and they quoted me $299.

A follow-up email went unanswered when I questioned why they would charge that much when the average DISTRIBUTER price seemed around $180.

Pretty strange...
post #12 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyro View Post
Makes you wonder what the true mark-up is? I work literally 6 blocks from Ety headquarters and inquired about buying direct and they quoted me $299.

A follow-up email went unanswered when I questioned why they would charge that much when the average DISTRIBUTER price seemed around $180.

Pretty strange...
They probably charge that much because they don't want to maintain the staff to provide direct sales of any significant volume. Grado doesn't. Senn doesn't. So I don't think it's so much that Ety is trying to rip you off, only encourage you to use one of their vendors. They link you directly to alternate places to purchase their IEM's right on their website.
post #13 of 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyro View Post
Jeez.....

http://www2.buydig.com/shop/product....R4P&sku=ERER4P

$159....Brand New...USA Warranty....Free Shipping!

Is Buydig.com okay?

Makes you wonder what the true mark-up is? I work literally 6 blocks from Ety headquarters and inquired about buying direct and they quoted me $299.

A follow-up email went unanswered when I questioned why they would charge that much when the average DISTRIBUTER price seemed around $180.

Pretty strange...
Their distributors would be pretty pissed if they had to compete with the Mothership.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Headphones (full-size)
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Headphones (full-size) › "Non-Authorized Dealers?"