Posts by bada bing

Actually, this is a bit confusing. The O2 has very unusual clipping behavior and clips *only* based on the level of the input. The O2's volume control has no effect at all on clipping behavior. The 7v / the output voltage level of the source is a useful rule of thumb, but brings up a consequence of the clipping behavior - the maximum power output is produced without clipping at only one input level. You can not adjust the O2 to maximum power output below clipping by...
Very nice review, but it may cause some unintended spending on my part. Thanks very much for taking the time to post it up, it's useful. I currently use a x-sabre > GS-XmkII > HD800 as my dynamic set up. I'd be curious on the opinions of the three amps driving HD650 and using classical material. I've been enjoying the GS-X for several months now, but I think it does it's most impressive work with the HD650 and with naturally miked material. I have heard the same treble...
Class A means the output transistors are biased "on" with a set bias current whenever the amp is on, even when there is no input signal. The GS-X will use about the same power and generate the same heat regardless of load *until* it is pushed hard enough to fall out of Class A. Falling out of Class A means when the current demands of the headphone load exceed the steady state bias. I don't know if the HE6 is inefficient enough to take enough power at sane listening levels...
 That power supply is AC input, 16V DC output. According to the online specs:Input: 120V AC 60Hz 17W Output: 16V DC 750mAThat won't work at all for the O2. It requires an AC output to the O2. ~16VAC give or take.