Posts by Philou

Here in France, only the silver is shown on the website, but both version are available in the actual stores
I saw this survey, and did it, but coud not wait for the results ! If I were to be the winner, there would be an Amperior to sale at a special Head Fi price ;-)   Unfortunately, I won't be able to compare the Amperior with the HD-25 that I never heard !   The isolation is good (certainly not a dealbreaker as far as I'm concerned), just a bit less than the Westone 2 IEMs, something that I expected indeed I guess it is similar to HD-25 with velours pad, so...
Now that both of you have finished your dispute and are having a beer together, back to the amperior   I went to the apple store and bought a pair of silver amperiors !   It is a bit early for an in depth review (and I'm afraid I'm not experienced enough for that)   But after only a few hours my first impressions :   Direct from my IPod Nano 6G, compared to my Westone 2, sound quality is better, bass more present, isolation a bit worse, sound level a bit...
Different drivers : different impedance, said to be better fitted to portable sources, unknown difference in sound quality Different cups : aluminium made, different damping cavities, said to enhance sound quality Different cable : apple device remote and unknown SQ difference (the HD-25 don't seem to be acclaimed for this, as far as one might believe in cable SQ) Different pads : seems to be close to the velours ones of the HD-25 (or maybe the same ?) So what...
Breaking News : Sennheiser is reducing the price gap between the HD-25 and the Amperior   Unfortunately not the right way :-(((   The HD-25 prices has just been raised by approx. 20€ at several french & european resellers I could check   The basic edition goes from around 150/160€ to 177€ And the classic editions from around 170/180€ to 198€