Posts by GoldfishX

I was surprised how far down she has the Sophia rated. It's below some of the Woo stock tubes, but she didn't have much positive to say about those and she sounded fairly positive on the Sophia. I will probably end up experimenting with some other rectifiers just for the fun of it, once I get the driver tubes situated.   Coming from 68dj/6922 Land, this is foreign territory for me. :)
Thanks, but it's mostly the driver tubes I need help with. I have seen that thread before, it's really informative.
Hello,   New WA6SE owner here. I'm getting the amp in a few days with the Sophia Princess rectifier, but it will have the stock driver tubes and I am interested in swapping these out ASAP. I have had luck with tube rolling on my Lyr and I am a fan of the Voskhod rockets (a pair of 80's gray shields have been my reference for about a year now). I'm well versed in 6922-style tubes, but a complete newb to the driver tubes the WA6SE uses. I am primarily interested in getting...
Yes, I've finally given up on the headphone amp part of the unit. I did a side by side with my old Magni and the Magni opened everything up immensely.   The DAC part is still fantastic and has a ton of flexibility. I added the Audiophilleo 2/Pure Power to my computer as a source and that really helped clean everything up. I'm really liking my set-up now.   And yes, I can confirm the CCK compatibility, although I found the iPad/A8 (DAC) pairing a little too bright.
Tried a couple more sources (an iPad USB output, coax out with my DX50, optical out with a CD player) and there's really no comparison...Just running the USB out from the noisy desktop computer into the AP2/PP is the best, clearest and most musical source I have on me right now. I did switch to using both an iPod power brick and the computer to power the PP and I think it gives it that extra 5-10 percent refinement.   This thing just shows how important getting a good...