or Connect

Posts by gibosi

Yes, the adapters can be rotated up to 45 degrees and the tubes themselves are fairly narrow, extending just a smidge beyond the edges of the adapter when installed.  
 Yes, you would need two adapters, one for each 6SN7 socket. However, since a 67 is equivalent to 1/2 of a 6SN7, you will need two tubes per adapter, for a total of four 76's.. I learned of the 67 in the 6SN7 thread from a posting by jamato8. I asked him which brand he preferred, and his was reply was the RCA. I have no experience with any other brand.
 My adapter, from eBay vendor xulingmrs, allows the assembly to be rotated 45 degrees. This should provide enough wriggle room to orient two adapters in adjacent sockets. Haven't been able to spend any quality time with the 76's. I have had them in the amp only for about an hour to ensure they were not defective, and felt that they sounded great. However, have been rolling through regulators here recently and life outside of head-fi has also been busy...
 The 76 is a single triode, equivalent to 1/2 of a 6SN7, a double triode. So you need two tubes, one for each channel, to equal one 6SN7. And of course, they would work in the Elise. However, since the Elise uses two drivers, you will need to 2 adapters, one for each 6SN7 socket.
The adapter for using a pair of single 76 triodes in a single 6SN7 socket finally arrived from China. These RCA 76 sound terrific! :)    
 Google "vacuum tube theory" or "vacuum tube works" or similar.... These might be good articles to start with: http://www.vacuumtubes.net/How_Vacuum_Tubes_Work.htm https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vacuum_tube