or Connect

Posts by reginalb

Regarding Rockbox, I had set it all to Q values of 1, and changed some of the centers. A couple of the Q values are lower. I changed them on accident. I didn't even know what they did until today, haha. The AK300 allows you to change Q-Values, but doing so does nothing, I think it might be broken. 
 centers are 30Hz, 45, 60, 90, 120, 180, 250, 380, 500, 750, 1,000, 1.5k, 2k, 3k, 4k, 6k, 8k, 12k, 14k, 18k I have no idea the bandwidths. I'll consult the manual, though I guess if I can change that somehow, that would resolve the issue. EDIT: That's it, there is a q-factor adjustment when you open the PEQ. Thanks!
Alright, so I'm pretty new to messing with equalizers. I don't really trust myself to do it well. But I figure, correcting a bad FR in a DAP to flat is a good start. My assumption was if I set a value at, say 100Hz to +1db, and 150Hz to +.5 dB, it should be at about -.75dB at 125Hz. If it's at +1dB at both 100Hz and at 150Hz, it's reasonable to expect it to also be at +1dB at 125 Hz.    I flattened my HM-602 a bit with no load, and got this:     This was a pretty...
HiFiMan HM-602   I'd expect it to be not great loaded, but how bad can it be?     This was once marketed as the pinnacle of audiophile sound. 
 Haha, well an LOD cable and an iPod classic would give you a lineout with plenty of capacity. But not a USB out. Might be able to get an old iPod touch, so long as it runs iOS 7 (I don't know if the oldest ones do) according to this: http://blog.jdslabs.com/?p=838, but you need that little adapter that they show. I think that would be a 4th gen iPod touch minimum. Don't quote me on that. The 64GB version of that runs $179 refurb direct from Apple. 
 Not if you're using a decent line-out. When you say cheap, how cheap are you thinking?