Posts by sunmonkey

Is everyone still here? It looks like it!   Just got back from Malaysia for good last week (I've been working in Kuala Lumpur for the past four years). After a quick peck on the cheek for my wife (priorities!), I ran downstairs and set-up SilentOne's WA6SE and plunked in the Sylvania 6SN7WGTAs. My ears are very happy! And yes, it will always be SilentOne's Woo Audio 6 Special Edition in black.   Anyhoos, hope you all are doing well. Good to see so many of the familiar...
  Thanks a lot for the WA7 notes, Headphone Addict (as well as your entire write-up on the Audiofest!) Very intriguing! 
  Thanks for the comment, longbowbbs.   I'm comparing the WA7 against the ALO PanAm, which is tube amp and DAC in one box for $600. Since I already own a WA6SE, spending another $800 on a second rig of questionable portability is a tough choice. I'd probably save the money and get a dedicated DAC. That also keeps my upgrade paths independent and a wee bit easier to manage.    I guess I am looking at the WA7 as a secondary system (office, bedroom) and I'm having a hard...
  The starting price of the WA7 at $777 (cute, Woo, very cute) has me a bit worried.  I would have seriously considered it at $500, but at almost $800 I think I'd tap out. The ALO was already pushing the limit at $600, and that unit has some additional pluses - a smaller size relative to the WA7, and the external power and battery options.   People in the announcement thread seemed to dig the design, while here it seems split. The black version looks pretty good,...
  Duh on me. I just saw this, and I should just +1 it rather than writing a rant.