Posts by Unfie

Still not sure if it's placebo or not, but I find that the Fiio X5 EQ mentioned earlier in this thread sounds better to me than the default sound using the silver cable. With the default cable, I preferred no EQ. Using the EQ, I can definitely see how the "veil" went away.
I got my silver cable back from Ted today in the mail. It is oxidized since I had it a while back with my Westone 4R. I would like to believe there is some extension, but that could just be placebo. Either way, I am fine with it as I mostly need a stronger cable for security. I do stupid things like take my UM Pro 50 to the gym.
It's interesting to read the comments about silver cables. I actually have a cable that I used for the Westone 4R, but I recently decided to have Ted switch out the connects so I could use it with my UM Pro 50. Hopefully it should be coming in the mail soon. It will take a while since I am currently studying abroad in South Korea...
It would be hilarious if the X5 improved engine sound quality too.
 Apparently the X5 just wanted to take a nap for a while. It's working again! Yay!
 I held the power button for at least 20 seconds and that didn't seem to do anything. So I did the same thing with the reset button and then hit the power button on afterward. It surprisingly worked. Now that I think of it, I might have had this issue with the X3 before. I'm not sure why it happened. I am using the default UI. I was using the X5 in DAC mode the entire day. I couldn't have done anything with the firmware because it wasn't doing anything with a regular...
I have had to use my X3 since my X5 is apparently bricked. I already miss the X5's sound signature. The X3 is just. ..missing something.