Posts by Uncle00Jesse

Between last night and today, I've put in about 6 hours of listening with the HOT and without. To my ears there is no discernible difference in the sound whatsoever. I'm not getting the out of head experience that sold me on it, smoother highs or more holographic sound. I ran it through the whole gambit. Rock, live Rock, Jazz, well recorded Bill Evans Trio albums, crazy stuff like Sufjan Stevens etc. Maybe my ears are failing me as I'm getting old and your mileage may...
I appreciate your bravery. Did you guys listen to it first before you tore it apart? I hope you didn't jump the gun like that, just for kicks at least. Well I'm no electrical engineer so those tear-downs don't do much for me, although at first glace it looked a little, um, sparse? Anyways I hope you're wrong. I can confirm it works, there is sound coming out of my headphones! That's a solid sign, right? Just breaking her in right now. We'll see how it goes when I fire up...
This thread is clearly tainted now, but for the non-conspiracy theorists out there here are a few pictures. I just got it today. If anyone without malicious intent wants to hear some impressions I can do that. I haven't posted on head-fi in a while, I've just been peacefully listening to my setup behind the scenes. Pleasure to be back. One thing that really pisses me off is snake oil and I'd be the first one in line to point it out when I see it.   
I remember being so surprised last February when I got my LCD-3s when I found out how bright they were. All I kept hearing about was how dark and sultry they were, but I don't hear them that way at all. I honestly don't find them any less bright than a pair of SA5000s, just a lot more meat on the bones and a night and day difference in bass. I'm also using a gung/mojo combo which contributes to the forward sound.