Posts by sugarkang

I've already addressed this several times.  Clearly, the performers matter.  Otherwise, I wouldn't have mentioned it.  You classical enthusiasts don't know what it's like for a beginner.  You go on and on about which car manufacturer (performer) is the best.  But the beginner doesn't even know the difference between compact, sedan and SUV (etudes, concertos and symphonies).  How many times to do I need to repeat myself.  This is for beginners. BEGINNERS.   EDIT: ...
Yes.  Beginners.  BEGINNERS.  Worry about details later.  Do you not understand I'm trying to make this easy for beginners?  Classical music is daunting for ordinary people to think about.  It's a chore.  It's a mountain.  It's a nagging wife.  Stop being those things.   Good call on the TED lecture.  Added to first post.
Okay, since it's been mentioned a bunch of times already, I'll respond to the point about performers.  It's going to matter eventually, but not for absolute beginners.  You can't honestly think that a person who is absolutely virgin to this kind of music will know the difference between Perahia and Ashkenazy on Beethoven.  Like I mentioned in my first post, it will matter eventually but not for absolute beginners.  A big potential draw for classical is the sonic "wow"...
Thanks for that link.  Listening now.  I actually just bought a one day pass to the Berlin Philharmonic "virtual concert hall." The acoustics in there are just amazing.   
Nowhere did I say that I have the "right" to tell you what to do.  I said that I would "appreciate" it.  You know, because that's been common courtesy on message boards to stay relevant to OP's topic since, oh, the beginning of the internet.    I'm trying to give beginners a way into classical.  Only 2-3% of the general population listens to it.  There's a reason.  The classial music scene is full of uninviting, arrogant douchebags that always feel the need to...