or Connect

Posts by wordfool

Four years of R&D for a pair of dynamic-driver headphones??! I find that very hard to believe for a company with decades of experience designing and selling audio equipment. And unless you've seen Focal balance sheets for the past decade I highly doubt the math quite that simple for a company with five major product lines, over 300 employees, and annual revenues in excess of 60 million euro (if you include Naim).  However, Focal now being owned by a private equity company...
 I'm not a sound engineer, but I suspect much of the tuning is done to a specific FR curve without input of human ears, creating a handful of prototypes with subtle variations. Then the human ears (probably involving engineers and focus groups) have final say over which one, or combination of several, sounds best.  I'd actually love to hear from anyone at a headphone manufacturer about how a new set of cans is created from beginning to end. No doubt it's a very complicated...
The Slappa Hardbody case supposedly fits Denon D2000... can anyone confirm it fits the Fostex/EM-U versions? Seems to be the most compact of the options. 
More time and effort than it used to, but with the right gear and a couple good engineers I suspect we're talking months at most, not years. Everything seems to be modeled using computers these days, which has sped up development of all sorts of gear, from electronics to camera lenses. Gone are the days of manually tweaking something, testing, repeating. 
 Thanks for the insight. I had read suggestions that the magnet's in the EM-U were possibly more powerful than the TH-X00 (but not up to TH900 levels), which would go someway to explaining why the EM-U has a higher quoted sensitivity compared to the TH-X00. Then again, higher sensitivity could also be due to a few other things. I was wondering if EM-U had done any driver tuning at all. Sounds like they haven't.