Posts by Asr

I already wrote over at DIYAH that I found the Polaris to sound slow relative to the HeadAmp Gilmore Lite, an amp that's been available since 2005 (although it was discontinued in 2010) and shouldn't be too hard to acquire now second-hand. And as a musician, I'm well aware of timbre is, and isn't. It would be impossible for me to confuse it for speed/impulse response. I'm well aware of what the measurements might indicate and only reported my subjective perceptions for...
 Speaking to your point #1 for myself, I'm not usually motivated to write a review in the first place unless (or until) my opinion runs counter to popular opinion. It's why the vast majority of my reviews tend to be negative, either partially or mostly. Unlike most reviewers on the Internet, I fully believe in "tearing something down" if I think it deserves it, regardless of who makes it, from small businesses to large companies. And given the way that I acquire most gear...
 I'm pretty sure that he was banned (from Head-Fi) for attempting to do exactly that. Jude (the admin of Head-Fi) didn't allow the idea of crowdsourced funding for review samples, Lachlan complained about it, and was then banned. That's not ethical IMO either—where do these reviewers get off on trying to collect money from their reading audience to acquire items? If they can't afford to use their own money, they shouldn't be asking other people for money.  I'm pretty sure...
 Awesome, thanks! I missed most of the tracks, and I was able to download the whole set (2.3 GB for the 24/96) in about 25 minutes over airport wi-fi. Didn't think airport wi-fi could be that fast but I was just proven wrong.